Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars close you eyes...
i think tobe hooper's chainsaw massacre is overrated. i think his recent output has been awful at best. this little gem from 1981 took me by surprise, not just for its minimum bloodletting but because i'd never heard of it. its good - its better than good. it has a genuine sense of dread and a fear and paradoxically, an understanding of human vulnerability and...
Published on 7 July 2004 by Rory

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hooper House Of Horror
Hooper's over rated variation on Texas Chainsaw, which was a variation on The Old Dark House, is not much fun at all for the first hour...slow, indifferently acted & scripted. Foolishly, it squanders the opportunity to exploit the potential of the excellent & authentic carnival setting in favour of concentrating on one character, a distasteful ( basing itself as it does...
Published 20 months ago by Nonny


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars close you eyes..., 7 July 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i think tobe hooper's chainsaw massacre is overrated. i think his recent output has been awful at best. this little gem from 1981 took me by surprise, not just for its minimum bloodletting but because i'd never heard of it. its good - its better than good. it has a genuine sense of dread and a fear and paradoxically, an understanding of human vulnerability and mutation.
like chainsaw massacre, this challenges our perception of physical appearance and those who live outside the perceived 'norm'.
this also manages to be terrific excercise in suspense and homage (referencing among other things, todd brown's freaks and hitchcocks psycho). it works as a straight ahead horror and also as social commentary in a way that the best horror movies do.
why have you never heard of it? you tell me...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Tobe Hooper Classic, 20 July 2011
By 
S. C. Rocha (Aracaju,SE Brasil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Funhouse [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Tobe Hooper made this film after the success of The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (1974). After an aborted project (Eaten Alive, 1977) and a telefilm (Salem's Lot, 1981). The film shows a sure directorial skill that would fade little by little after his Lifeforce (1985). The film revolves around a group of teenagers who decides to spend the night inside a dark ride (The Funhouse) and witness a murder between two members of the circus. After this they are hunted by the by the deformed killer and his father and... well, the rest is the usual nerve wrecking scenes. This film had a huge mark on me when I watched it in television in my infancy, I remembered it for long time and unfortunately it was rare to show on TV and since I didn't had a VCR I couldn't watch it anywhere, when I got older I imported it on DVD, which is the copy I own. After a gap of some 15 years, the film still has the sinister mood of my recollection. It is sad that Hooper career followed a downward spiral, none of his films has the force of TTCM, though he came close in Funhouse and with Poltergeist (1982).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic movie, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Funhouse [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
wanted this for a long time well worth the wait,bought this on dvd years ago,had it on video in the 90's and yes saw this on the cinema as a double bill[remember them]with '' my bloody valentine '' in 1981. on bluray the quality is so good it looks like a new movie. this is one of tobe hoopers finest works,everything from the creepy music,the story and forgetting the creature in it looks even more scary than it did. kevin conaway plays several related characters in the carnival that he sticks in your head long after seeing the movie. if you not seen this movie do not expect gore on top of gore,it is just great fun to see how they used to make these movies in the late seventies and eary eighties. this came out around the time friday the 13th,the howling, an american werewolf in london,the fog,the shining,halloween,happy birthday to me and visiting hours all of these movies classics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SLASHER., 19 July 2013
This review is from: The Funhouse [DVD] (DVD)
Very good slasher from Tobe Hooper.
Liked the camerawork the setting and the suspenseful final denouement.
A great film for lovers of pre-CGI horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A stylish slasher. One of the bests from the 80's., 26 May 2013
The Funhouse is a great, suspense-filled horror film that's far more intelligent than most of its type, especially compared to most of the "splatter" films of the era, and although the film does take a while to get going, the storyline is a gripping one which builds tremendous tension right up to its claustrophobic climax. Hooper gives us an atmosphere of dread, much like he did with the original Texas Chainsaw'. The carnival becomes an underworld of fear and darkness in the skilled hands of Hooper with some colorful set pieces. Not to mention the music score which is wonderfully moody and dramatic.

The cast is great as well. The beautiful Elizabeth Berridge makes a great screen debut. Cooper Huckabee is also good as Berridge's date. Kevin Conway however is the best of the cast, in his sinister performance as he plays a trio of carnival barkers. Kudos also go to makeup artist Rick Baker for one memorable creation! The story moves around a group of teenagers who decide to break into a carnival funhouse and spend the night there for a bit of fun. Soon they're stalked by a ghastly freak from the carnival. The Funhouse is no Texas Chain Saw Massacre (1974) or even Poltergeist, but Tobe Hooper really creates some thrills and a good deal of suspense.

Thankfully, Shout Factory's edition of The Funhouse is a bit more satisfying on the supplemental front than their simultaneous Terror Train release, with a commentary track with director Tobe Hooper as `moderated' by director Tim Sullivan. It's a pretty good discussion that covers a lot of material in a light-hearted and engaging way. Then we get a couple of featurettes: a chat with Kevin Conway, who reflects on the shooting experience. Then there's a talk with executive producer Mark L. Lester who contributes his own memories. Theres also a chat with John Beal the film's composer, that covers his approach to scoring The Funhouse. Lastly, an audio conversation with the late William Finley on his contribution to the film. There are couple of deleted scenes and there's also a bunch of promotional materials, a trailer, along with some TV and radio spots for good measure. Funhouse is a good low-budget slasher movie and is definitely worth checking out, I highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Print - Fascinating Film, 10 May 2012
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Funhouse [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This movie is better than people give it credit for. The atmospheric build-up is fascinating. The shots of the carnival really capture a weird and incestuous world which only becomes totally apparent on a second viewing. Hooper really knows his stuff and the ideas contained in this piece are quite remarkable as is the notion of multiple casting of some of the characters. Watch it once - and its interesting - watch it twice and you can see the real skill of the film maker.
The blu ray transfer is excellent and the sound quality fine too. Perhaps a little tame for modern audiences - although there is one shockingly distasteful sequence - still Funhouse is a movie you won't easily forget. I love the reason it was banned for so many years is that the "censor" confused it with another film with a similar word in the strap-line. Such was the imbicility of the BBFC in days gone by! Now of course they pass everything with ludicrously low age ratings. Well I suppose you can't have everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun movie presented superbly, 26 Oct 2012
By 
M. Crossman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Funhouse [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The movie itself is a pretty good representation of early 80's horror. Standard fair with a little more flair than some of it's counterparts of this time.
Tobe Hooper's first film with a major studio and the restrictions are fairly obvious. However it is a fun horror movie.
Arrow's presentation is superb. It looks like they have used the same HD print that Shout have in the US but this disc from Arrow has far more extras.
As usual Arrow have also provided us with 4 reversible sleeves for the cover, a slip case, a small booklet written by Kim Newman and a double sided poster which is ideal for framing and putting on the wall of your crypt or tomb.
I got this from Amazon for 6 which is, to me, a huge bargain.
At this price it is to be highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "..80'S CLASSIC HORROR..", 30 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Funhouse [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a pretty good horror from the 80s from the director of the original Texas chainsaw massacre! Funhouse has a fun story of a bunch of students who go to a carnival and end up sneaking into the funhouse after closing time to make out but get more than they bargain for!! Theres not much in the way of blood and gore like some 80s horror but it does deliver in the scares and shocks department especially with the great ending, worth picking up if your a big horror fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Something is alive in the Funhouse....', 13 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Funhouse [DVD] (DVD)
A creepy and enjoyable film, The Funhouse shared a double bill in 1981 with My Bloody Valentine.
No gore to be found here, and what once was an 'X' film now comes in for a 15cert.
Excellent sinister soundtrack score accompanies the animatronic horrors of the Funhouse.
Picture is 2:35.1 widescreen (Good clean picture)
Sound 2.0 stereo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Release!!, 6 Aug 2011
By 
Eugene Evans "Fasteddie" (Baltimore,MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Funhouse [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Wow,talk about a good time movie!! I have never been let down yet by Arrow and this is no exception!!..First of all,the transfer looks amazing and the sound is up to par..Its chock full of extras and I loved the "Carnage at the Carnival" with Tobe Hooper himself,that was a real treat! All of the extras and bonus footage was awesome and played flawlessly on my blu ray player.
The film itself is a great tale of terror from my youth.I think its Hoopers great directing once again that ties the whole film together.Great cinematography,lighting,and scenery make this one wild ride of horror.The soundtrack is great and does what its supposed to in keeping you on the edge of your seat.The ending of this film is true Hooper style, in having the anxiety build and build for a good ten minutes before the climax.
Oh,I think I also heard something about Eli Roth??!!..Check it out for yourself,I dont want to ruin the surprise!!..Overall I give this release 5 out of 5 stars!!..Its a must own for any horror lover!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Funhouse [Blu-ray] [1981]
The Funhouse [Blu-ray] [1981] by Tobe Hooper (Blu-ray - 2012)
12.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews