Customer Reviews


151 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Humour at everyone's expense
The Dictator is a 2012 comedy featuring Sacha Baron Cohen as an Arab tyrant brought low after being kidnapped while attending the UN General Assembly. The thin plot sees Cohen's Admiral General Aladeen blunder his way through various culture clashes as he learns about the world through employment at a vegan, feminist, non-profit cooperative. The plot is largely about...
Published 16 days ago by MLA

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sacha is good, the plot isnt
the disc is in good condition and zoverstocks always sell their products at a great price. on the other hand, the film was fairly boring in many parts, I almost considered turning it off. the only reason I didn't is because the odd moment made me laugh. basically, the plot is terrible and doesn't grip you at all, infact it can be very confusing, but sacha does well...
Published 4 months ago by NatalieE


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars stupid but funny, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brought this for my brother who loves all Sacha's movies its not one of his best but still ok for a laugh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny stuff, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a bit close to the bone but i love it, i love the real life awkwardness!! very clever, one of SBC's best IMO
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ideal gift, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
an ideal gift for my son who had this dvd on his xmas list he really enjoyed it. thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Borat, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
but a very funny film, he runs near the edge, but that's what I love about Sacha, he doesn't care who he offends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just as i like it, takes the piss out of the AMERICANS, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dictator (DVD)
A lot of people think Baron Cohen is just a pain in the arse, others think he's a comic genius, i'm in the latter. He plays parts for stupidity, but his comedy is very well hidden within the part. I wont give away the plot, but watch the ending talk he gives, to show the American people just what their government is doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crazy but has meaning, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not disappointed. Some scenes from the TV advertisements have not been included. Modern criticism of wider society and not only dictators.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great price for the a triple play DVD! Got it for my sister's birthday and everyone seemed to like it :) Not really my sort of film but everyone else enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Dictator, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dictator [DVD] (DVD)
The Dictator - Sacha Baron Cohen is not only hilarious but so handsome too. Looking forward to his next film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Soo funny!, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great movie, I thoroughly enjoy watching every minute of it. I could watch it over and over and it never gets old. It appeals to a certain sense of humour but...not for the easily offended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as expected, 4 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as a gift, it is a very short film but it is funny if you like sacha baron cohen you will enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dictator [DVD]
The Dictator [DVD] by Larry Charles (DVD - 2012)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews