Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New England, Old Magic
Charles Ward is a bright young man who has dropped out of his medical studies to pursue the biography of one of his family's ancestors, the alleged wizard and alchemist Joseph Curwen. But as he delves deeper into the strange life of Curwen, Ward becomes increasingly withdrawn from his parents, spending all of his time in his rooms performing experiments. Odd sounds are...
Published on 7 Jun. 2012 by Sam Quixote

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, average, bland artwork
I'll keep it short & simple, Charles Dexter Ward is, alongside The Haunter of the Dark, my favourite Lovecraft story.

So I was hoping this graphic adaptation would capture the furtive, brooding, arcane menace of the original story. In some ways it does, as the story is loyal to the original.

On the downside the artwork is very bland, average and not...
Published on 8 Jun. 2012 by D. R. Silvester


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New England, Old Magic, 7 Jun. 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Charles Ward is a bright young man who has dropped out of his medical studies to pursue the biography of one of his family's ancestors, the alleged wizard and alchemist Joseph Curwen. But as he delves deeper into the strange life of Curwen, Ward becomes increasingly withdrawn from his parents, spending all of his time in his rooms performing experiments. Odd sounds are heard, weird smells emanate down the stairs, and strange men appear in the middle of the night. And then Charles Dexter Ward disappears. When he is tracked down by his doctor, Marinus Willett, he appears completely changed. As if he were a different person...

Following the success of last year's "At the Mountains of Madness", Ian Culbard returns with another graphic novel retelling of a HP Lovecraft story, this time the novella "The Case of Charles Dexter Ward".

"Ward" is a story of Lovecraft's I've not read before but found Culbard's retelling of it compelling and containing plenty of the elements that makes Lovecraft such a great writer to read. From the psychiatric wards that open and close the story to the tales of ancient wizardry and necromancy, the characters and their dark activities, the abandoned old houses, and finally of course the magic, monsters and celestial horrors that go into most of Lovecraft's best work, there's plenty here for horror fans and fans of Lovecraft to enjoy.

Even though the plot twists are fairly easy to spot and you can guess where it's all headed early on, it's still good fun to read and the art is very attractive as well. For fans of literary adaptations and horror, "The Case of Charles Dexter Ward" is an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent version of a classic tale, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Case of Charles Dexter Ward (Kindle Edition)
Great artwork even better story telling for a graphic gets right into the spirit of the Lovecraftian world. This is the 2nd graphic novel I have got in this series. Even better than The Mountains Of Madness. I would recommend these to any fan of Lovecraft. Can't wait to read the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant supernatural mystery comic, 18 Jun. 2014
This review is from: The Case of Charles Dexter Ward (Kindle Edition)
A cracking read. Whilst this a good interesting read I would say it's a very tame story, with a lot of the interesting parts only referenced too. I've read adaptations of H.P. Lovecraft's works before and enjoyed them thoroughly but whilst this is not the best one, it is beautifully crafted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trully wonderfull piece of art, 30 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A graphic novel by Culbard and based on a Lovecraft story that would get you gripped to the book until the end. The case of Charles Dexter Ward is probably one of the best stories written by HP Lovecraft, and the adaptation to this graphic novel is no less on the part of Culbard. If you have read the story before as I had, you will enjoy the book nevertheless; and if you have not read it, much the better. Recommended buy of this book, and I hope that we will be seeing Culbard again on another Lovecraft story (How about The Shadow Out of Time).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and thrilling, 30 Jan. 2015
By 
Adackbar1972 (Surface, Sol 3) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Case of Charles Dexter Ward (Kindle Edition)
This is my first time reading a H.P Lovecraft book so I didn't expect it to be good but boy was I wrong. I would recommend to any darren shan fan or any other horror book fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charles Dexter Ward, you Scamp, 16 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mr Culbard once again acquits himself and HPL beyond well. A truthful and elegant adaptation that will server dedicated Lovecraftians and new comers both
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well recommended. Great item and breand new. Great addition to anyones collection. A must for any avid fans. Worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another quality adaptation by INJ Culbard, 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading Culbard's adaptation of Lovecraft's 'At The Mountains Of Madness', 'Charles Dexter Ward' has a similar feel to it. The same superb artwork and narrative that kept me gripped throughout, not having read the original story before.

If you like reading graphic novels and like the works of HP Lovecraft, then you could do no wrong by picking this up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, average, bland artwork, 8 Jun. 2012
By 
D. R. Silvester "Clandestine Knowledge Seeker" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'll keep it short & simple, Charles Dexter Ward is, alongside The Haunter of the Dark, my favourite Lovecraft story.

So I was hoping this graphic adaptation would capture the furtive, brooding, arcane menace of the original story. In some ways it does, as the story is loyal to the original.

On the downside the artwork is very bland, average and not vivid or standout in the least. In fact I would go as far as to say compared to the graphic novels one could conceive of as being within the higher echelons, the artwork of CDW is somewhat dour and banal.

Can't help but feel disappointed with this volume, especially as Charles Dexter Ward to my knowledge has never been given a graphic adaptation before or professionally recorded as an audiobook.

A real missed opportunity here unfortunately, even for an ardent Lovecraft fan like myself. Average, no better than.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Case of Charles Dexter Ward
£2.26
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews