Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smashing
If you are a fan of Matt's blogs on Gizmodo then you'll be a fan of his book. Some of his stories are repeated but they have been rewritten and are just as smashing the second time round. If you are looking for an insightful humorous book about the police force then this is well worth reading.
Published 15 months ago by James Wright

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There is too much to refer to in referencing text.
Yes I have had a giggle but given up finding out what all the police codes refer too. Although you can use your imagination. Not finished it yet after three sessions with it. This speeks for itself as if I get a good book I dont want to put it down until I get too the end.
Published 5 months ago by J. E. Foster


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smashing, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are a fan of Matt's blogs on Gizmodo then you'll be a fan of his book. Some of his stories are repeated but they have been rewritten and are just as smashing the second time round. If you are looking for an insightful humorous book about the police force then this is well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read., 11 May 2013
By 
I've been following Matt Delito's blogs for a while before this book came out, and I've long enjoyed his accounts of day to day policing.

This book does recycle a notable amount of material from these blogs (at least a couple of the stories were instantly recognisable), but otherwise this book simply brings more of what I already liked about Matt Delito's work.

Because of the 'recycling' I can't give it a full 5 stars, but if you're thinking of buying this book, please don't let that put you off. This is well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 13 May 2013
By 
G. Harvey "TIK Products" (Maidstone, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions of a Police Constable (The Confessions Series) (Kindle Edition)
A proper insight to being on the job. None of the Hollywood crap - this is about real life, the good, the bad, the ugly, the funny and the damn right sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book., 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions of a Police Constable (The Confessions Series) (Kindle Edition)
I have read many books from the police sector and have to say I found this one the most gripping. His stories were very well told and the underlying love he has for his job and fellow officers is very clear. It was nice to read a book that didn't delight in rubbing your nose in the grime of crime. I laughed out loud many times and found it so touching in the next chapter.

I also liked the fact that the book wasn't used as a preaching platform to bemoan the politics and policies that have made the service a paperwork producing nightmare. His wry and witty comments get the message across in a subtle manner.

His patience with some of the criminals in these stories is astonishing, and I am sure if I were in his shoes I know I wouldn't be as tolerant. The level of abuse they have to take at times is staggering.

I enjoyed many parts of this book and read some chapters over again after finishing them!

I would read any other books that he wrote as his writing really suited the theme of the book and if I wasn't already happy in my job with the NHS then I might think of a career change!! Well apart from the fact that I might end up in a spot of bother for my treatment of some of the shady characters in this book!

A follow up book would be great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling descriptions of policing in London, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions of a Police Constable (The Confessions Series) (Kindle Edition)
Well written stories of events in the life of a London bobby. There's some interesting background on Police procedures as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 13 May 2013
By 
Robert Dennehy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read most of these stories on Gizmodo UK and they are very good. Interesting to read the kind of incidents that police officers face on a regular basis. Not the kind of thing I usually read but was impressed enough to buy this book after reading most if it's contents already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions of a Police Constable (The Confessions Series) (Kindle Edition)
This was a really great read with a good combination of action humour and reality. I have read this authors articles on which the book is based as well. Nice to pick up for a bit of a perk up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant read, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions of a Police Constable (The Confessions Series) (Kindle Edition)
An absolutely brilliant read, if you've been a fan of Delito's blogs over at Gizmodo you'll love this book. A perfect mix of both old and new stories with more detail than ever, wholeheartedly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions of a Police Constable (The Confessions Series) (Kindle Edition)
I followed Matt Delito on Gizmodo UK. This is very similar to what appeared there. It gives an intelligent insight into the day to day working life of a policeman; dealing with all levels of society; the procedures they use, and why; an extensive working knowledge of the law and applying the law. The stories vary from heartbreakingly tragic to the comic. His patience and respect for his fellow citizens is far greater then mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The day to day tasks., 28 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions of a Police Constable (The Confessions Series) (Kindle Edition)
A very frank and readable account of life in the Met. As each chapter is effectively a separate story the book is ideal for holiday reading. It can be put down and picked up quite easily with no complex plot lines to worry about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews