Customer Reviews


216 Reviews
5 star:
 (139)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stayed up all night reading it, and still thinking about it now.
This is a beautifully written book. Madeleine Reiss has somehow managed to create a novel that, whilst haunting you at times with the nature of the writing, is thrilling, sexy, incredibly moving and often funny too. I couldn't put it down. It felt like the perfect read, I relished the experience. I lost myself in the world of the novel, and when I came back to reality...
Published 14 months ago by julian jones

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Neither one thing nor the other
This book starts off really well. Carrie, Damian and their son Charlie are enjoying a day at the beach when the unthinkable happens. It's every parent's worst nightmare and this opening scene is shockingly well portrayed. The book then jumps forward a bit and we rejoin Carrie coming to terms with the aftermath of that day and at the same time there's the story of Molly, a...
Published 11 months ago by Love Books


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stayed up all night reading it, and still thinking about it now., 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a beautifully written book. Madeleine Reiss has somehow managed to create a novel that, whilst haunting you at times with the nature of the writing, is thrilling, sexy, incredibly moving and often funny too. I couldn't put it down. It felt like the perfect read, I relished the experience. I lost myself in the world of the novel, and when I came back to reality again I thought of my friends, my children, the way life turns up the unexpected, sometimes the unbearable, but so much hope and joy too. It is vivid in its colours and textures. You feel the weather, the sand on the beach, the soft skin of a child. I defy you not to be moved by this novel, and if you like a thriller with a smattering of gorgeous men thrown in for good measure, it has got all that too. The best read I've had in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Neither one thing nor the other, 31 Aug 2013
By 
Love Books "Jessie" (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book starts off really well. Carrie, Damian and their son Charlie are enjoying a day at the beach when the unthinkable happens. It's every parent's worst nightmare and this opening scene is shockingly well portrayed. The book then jumps forward a bit and we rejoin Carrie coming to terms with the aftermath of that day and at the same time there's the story of Molly, a single mother bringing up her little son, Max, who was the same child Charlie played with on the beach.

So far so good. But this book just can't make up its mind what it wants to be. Is it a thriller? Is it a ghost story? Is it a romance? Is it chick lit? I honestly don't know although with the endless descriptions of what people are wearing and constant jumping to back stories, it veers strongly towards the latter. The drawn out details of Carrie's shop and every thing in it sit very uncomfortably along side touching portrayals of her inner feelings. And Molly, who I enjoyed reading about at first, behaves in the most unrealistic way possible when things come to a head in her life. At this point I'm afraid I stopped enjoying the book.

I think Madeleine Reiss is a good writer and I look forward to reading more of her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Summer Read - terrific., 20 Jun 2013
By 
Liz Wilkins "Lizzy11268" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Well. Where to start. Maybe with a huge thanks to the girls at Harper Collins who sent me an advanced copy of this book. Lets say this. You want this book for when you are sitting on the beach. I said it would be the read of the Summer and I don't think I am wrong. You want this book if you need to curl up under a blanket indoors because as often happens, British Summertime never arrives. You want this book even if you are not having a holiday, just because I'm telling you - you want this book.

Carrie falls asleep on the beach, very briefly, and when she wakes up her 5 year old son Charlie is gone. We've all done it - taken our eyes off them for a brief moment in time, usually without consequence - but the consequences for Carrie are severe, and here starts her story. Living with the guilt sometime later, she has moved on as much as is possible under these circumstances, and life is continuing. A series of events sets in motion a possibility of closure..but what exactly will Carrie have to face to achieve this? In the meantime, on Charlie's last day on the beach, he met and played with another little boy - Max. Max's mother Molly is facing her own personal issues and tragedies, and interspersed with Carrie's story we also have Molly's. What will happen when the worlds of these two women collide? You will have to read to find the answers - and trust me, you want to do that.

I both laughed and cried while I was reading this book. It will take you in unexpected directions. It will tug at your heartstrings and make you consider the people in your life and what they mean to you. It is also a great mystery story - the two sides of this novel if you like come together perfectly - and by the end I was a bit of an emotional wreck in the best "reading" way possible. I wish I could start again. In fact I'm sure one day I will. The characters are real people facing real situations and it speaks to the feelings of grief and horror and that "how can this happen to me" feeling that everyone gets at some point in their life. The fact that I am going through something myself at the moment - nothing at all as heartbreaking as the loss of a child, but still heartbreaking in its own way - means that this book was extremely meaningful for me at a time I needed an outlet for that kind of emotion. This is why books speak to us isnt it?

So, to sum up. Great story. Great characters. Emotive and brilliantly written - you will love it. Don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fluffy, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Someone to Watch Over Me (Kindle Edition)
Carrie goes through a parents worse nightmare when her small son Charlie disappears on a crowded beach one summers day. We catch up with her three years later as she's trying to get her life back together and has opened a small shop. Molly, the victim of an abusive husband was also on the beach that day and her son Max made friends with Charlie, but years later Max still seems to have a connection with the lost boy.

I like psychological thrillers and thought that this had all the ingredients to be a good one. It started off well with lots of pace but sadly soon rolled into a fluffy chic lit ball thanks to the never ending descriptions of the main character Carrie. The problem here is that the author works so hard to convince us of Carries fabulousness - her wonderful dress sense (daily reports of her outfits, from hairclips to boots), her impeccable taste (lots of descriptions of the vogue like displays in her trendy shop of nick nacks) and of course that she is entirely irresistible to men. Concentrating so much on these traits made it hard to empathise with her true feelings and to be honest made the book feel very inconsistent and slow. I prefer to read about raw emotions rather than what hair slides someone is wearing - really not my cup of tea at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great read although far-fetched, 28 Oct 2013
By 
K. Wright - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Two families briefly met on a Norfolk beach three years ago on the tragic day when Carrie's son Charlie disappeared. Molly tried to forget all about the terrible event although her son Max has constant reminders of what happened to his young friend. Their paths have not crossed since but as the two separate stories of women trying to move on in their lives begin to intertwine and then collide, the story races to a eventful climax.

Madeline Reiss has crafted an intriguing novel which will appeal to fans of other similar popular fiction such as The Husband's Secret, The Missing Half and The Sea Sisters. The only aspect of this book that I didn't like was the medium. Whilst I understand that this is a necessary part of the story it just didn't convince me, although it didn't detract too much from an enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional, very moving and gripping - I was BLOWN AWAY by this book xxx, 2 July 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Someone To Watch Over Me focuses on two different mothers and their lives with their families, and more importantly, their sons. The two women, Carrie and Molly don't know each other, the only link they have is that they both spent a day on the same Norfolk beach, where Carrie's son disappeared. Both women are facing their darkest fears...Carrie spends her time desperately trying to find out what happened, whilst Molly is desperate to protect her son Max from his father, who is both violent and unstable. Now Carrie and Molly's lives are about to collide...

Words cannot describe how incredibly blown away I was by this book. When I first started the novel I had no idea just how gripped I would be, I was drawn in from the first chapter and I didn't want to be parted from the pages. I finished reading a few days ago and I have not been able to think of anything else since.

Someone To Watch Over Me is such a powerful book, it genuinely moved me so much. I became very emotionally involved in everything about this novel, I poured myself into the book as I read, and I desperately wanted to read on to find out what would happen.

The characters were perfectly written, I cannot fault a single thing about them. I loved that Carrie and Molly are strong women. Although they are going through their own struggles and are both having a terrible time in their lives, I loved how they were brave, for themselves and for their children too. They were courageous and determined and I truly got behind both of them, and I was willing them on throughout the story as they both faced their fears.

Someone To Watch Over Me is a very emotional rollercoaster of a book that will have you hooked. This novel covers a variety of serious and sometimes heart-breaking subjects, including loss, fear and abuse. But there are also many positives to take from this book, such as family, hope, spirits and the importance of love and friendship. this is a book that will stay with me and I can not wait for Madeleine's next release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put it down, 23 Jun 2013
Made me laugh and cry in equal measure. Made me take time to tell my children I loved them , made me remember everyone I have ever lost and at the same time made me look forward to life's possibilities. feel much more alive for having read it. Really did not put it down from start to finish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book as a holiday read, but I'm not the most patient of characters. I read three quarters of it on the plane, and the last few chapters in my holiday apartment, before I'd even unpacked.

This is a wonderful book. It will swallow you up into its world and take you far into the depths of your imagination. You'll laugh out loud and be terrified beyond your wits, but I can guarantee, you won't be bored ...

It's a perfect beach read - if you get that far. It's more of a 'crash into people on the pavement on the way out of the bookshop' read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easily Makes My Top 3 Freebies This Year, 13 Aug 2014
By 
Lynda Kelly "Lynda" (Shipton Bellinger, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Someone to Watch Over Me (Kindle Edition)
This one goes into my top three best freebies this year. I loved it. I laughed and cried and mumbled under my breath but I was totally swept up into the story, I must say.
Very impressed it's the author's first book as well !! Blimey....
There were some VERY funny lines in it throughout. The story itself relates a tale of woe but even tales of woe need some light relief and it certainly had that. Carrie's mother's advice about strangers on tube trains I found hysterical !!
Now I'm no lover of children but couldn't fail to feel for both Max and Charlie, the boys in the story. They were both sweet kids. It takes a good author to make me appreciate two-footed beasties!!
One passage she wrote will stay with me and when I can quote it without sobbing down the phone I'll share it with my mum who will totally "get it"...."It was not simply the loss of someone you loved that stayed with you for the rest of your life,it was the loss of the person that you would have been if you had been allowed to have them forever"....
The only mistakes I spotted were one set of dropped speechmarks and one missed fullstop !! I tell you, I'm reading a Lynda La Plante now and she could learn a thing or two about getting e-books properly edited !!
A cracking debut and a beautiful cover as well. I'll be hoping for a new one by her soon I'll happily pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding debut novel, 11 Aug 2013
By 
Nicola "nicola_in_southyorks" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a fantastic read, well-written and quite something for a debut novel. It tells the story of two women, Carrie and Molly. Carrie's five year old son, Charlie, had disappeared on a trip to the seaside three years earlier and nobody knew what had happened to him. Getting on with her life, she opens up a gift shop. Molly also has a young son, Max, and is in a very abusive relationship. Carrie's and Molly's stories are told in almost alternating chapters.

We know fairly early on how the two women are linked but for much of the story I was wondering how their stories would be brought together. When they were it was done so in spectacular fashion which made my heart race and my hand go over my mouth. Not long after that I had tears in my eyes from another part of the story. This is a book that has the power to cause different reactions in a reader.

I found both women's stories addictive reading and this is truly a page-turning novel. The author's ability to write about feelings is excellent and I found myself completely drawn into the story.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Someone to Watch Over Me
Someone to Watch Over Me by Madeleine Reiss
3.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews