Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nick Grows Up
This is the second in the 'Magids' novels, focusing on Nick, who was an important character in the previous book but not the central character. If you've read the first book and are expecting to meet the two central characters from that story again, forget it - this time, we are firmly moving on, in that bracing way Diana Wynne Jones has.

Like the previous...
Published 20 months ago by Ms Louise Wilford

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a shame
Enjoyed the companion book but this story had too many threads that you could tell would end in a shambles and that's what happened with a poorly foreshadowed deus ex machina thrown in. Shame.
Published 2 months ago by Ashfaq Ahmed


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nick Grows Up, 4 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Merlin Conspiracy (Kindle Edition)
This is the second in the 'Magids' novels, focusing on Nick, who was an important character in the previous book but not the central character. If you've read the first book and are expecting to meet the two central characters from that story again, forget it - this time, we are firmly moving on, in that bracing way Diana Wynne Jones has.

Like the previous book, this story is told from two different viewpoints: in one, Nick (who is actually from the Koryfonic Empire but lives in our world) finds himself sucked into the political problems of another world, Blest. The other narrator, Arianrhod, is from Blest and is the granddaughter of a magid (not to mention her other granddad, who is rather more scary) who lives in Blest but is also a successful writer of fantasy novels on earth. This is essentially how their two narratives come together.

For a while, their two stories seem to be quite separate, and actually I found this a little irritating. I enjoyed the bits with Nick more than the bits with 'Roddy', though the Roddy and Gundo story became increasingly interesting as the story progressed. Nick's path crosses with the mysterious Romanov, an independent and highly powerful magic-user, which forms a central element in the complex plot. And, believe me, I found this plot VERY complex (but that might just be me!).

The previous Magid story was aimed at adults and I enjoyed it very much as a kind of children's story for grown-ups - this one felt more like a tale aimed at teenagers, but it was still very gripping, particularly as it got going. There were the usual moments of Diana Wynne Jones humour, and the characters learned about themselves and each other in a non-didactic and plausible way. There are some shocking moments too, and the story twists and turns with characteristic Jonesian slipperiness.

If you like her novels, you'll like this one. As always, though there are some familiar elements, the story is novel, original, full of surprises and a page-turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 4 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Merlin Conspiracy (Kindle Edition)
The book was well paced and was interesting throughout. It follows two characters but switches between them throughout the book but makes it clear whose part of the story you are reading so its easy to follow. Both the characters are magical like in many of the Diana Wynne Jones books but you see them develop their skills in different ways which is very interesting and there is an element of suspense as you know the characters will address the main problem that threatens the lands. Overall I really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mysterious and fantastic, 5 Oct. 2013
By 
Cathy (Yorks, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Merlin Conspiracy (Kindle Edition)
Another Diana Wynne-Jones 'masterpiece'. I loved reading this book to my children when they were younger (8 and 10) but just downloaded it to Kindle and enjoyed it all over again - on my own. Diana's books are for everyone - not just for children. She is my favourite author of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a shame, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Merlin Conspiracy (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed the companion book but this story had too many threads that you could tell would end in a shambles and that's what happened with a poorly foreshadowed deus ex machina thrown in. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading, 5 Dec. 2014
By 
B. Douglas (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Merlin Conspiracy (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely Brilliant. I re- read this every so often, just for the pleasure of the well-drawn characters and the intricate plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Merlin Conspiracy (Kindle Edition)
diana never let you down an excellent yarn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Merlin Conspiracy
The Merlin Conspiracy by Diana Wynne Jones
£4.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews