Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
27
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2013
This is the second edition of a seminal psychology text book. It describes how the ancient Buddhist meditative practice of Mindfulness was integrated in the clinical treatment of chronic depression. In the process it illuminates how depression can become chronic and how specific aspects of mindfulness can contribute to its resolution.
The book is also a very detailed guide on how to set up and run a group for the mindfulness based cognitive treatment of chronic depression and it provides a wealth of great resources including handouts and audio recordings.
It is written in a crystal clear style and manages to convey complex ideas and research findings in a concise and understandable manner.
I credit these authors with spreading the word for Mindulness meditation within NHS mental health services to a level that would have been unimaginable a few years ago and for starting a veritable revolution, not just in the treatment of depression, but of every other mental health problem known to man. For this I salute them!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
This book has provided friendly, but academically rigorous, guidance on delivering the NICE recommended Mindfulness Based Cognitive Therapy course. Teaching points for each week are clearly explained with examples of how these may arise in the course of the group reflections during the sessions. There is extra guidance in this edition on the skill of Enquiry, and on the All-Day Session during the course, so it is well worth buying as an update to the first edition. Rich in depth and detail.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2015
This book is aimed at health professionals and it describes an 8 session mindfulness based cognitive therapy group. I am a clinical psychologist and bought this book because I had to run such a group in my NHS service. This is a detailed yet written in a down-to-earth and accessible manner. Each session has a full chapter devoted to it along with an agenda for the the session and summary handouts. The biggest flaw of this book is that session 1 does NOT include 'doing and being mode' in the agenda - a major omission given that the aim of mindfulness is to step out of doing mode and pratice being mode. Therefore I adapted the first session slightly to include this topic.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
Reading the first edition of this book was like having your eyes opened to a fresh world of human potential. The authors blazed a trail, bringing up to the minute science and an insight into the operation of psychological mechanisms to bear on the ancient arts of mindfulness and meditation. Now it's even better. The new chapter on the inquiry process is especially helpful, casting clear light on what might otherwise be arcane. It's good to have audio at last and to have the science reprised to see where things have got to after ten years. And it's great to have opened up the discussion around compassion. It's all altogether really welcome.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
Although I am just dipping into it at the moment I can see the development from the first edition and I am very glad of it's support for teaching MBCT. Having only taught MBSR up to this point I have already found it a very useful adjunct and am now embarking on my first MBCT programme. The notes for the particpants are excellent too, thorough and very down to earth. Thank you.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
I would agree with the positive reviews on this page. As a counsellor I use this book all the time to help clients, who find its wisdom enormously helpful. The MBCT approach is inspiring and really can change lives;this book makes it accessible in a very generous way.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
Lots of additional information and helpful updates. Downloadable materials excellent. Helpful examples and casestudies included. I recommend the book to you
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
This is the cornerstone of our studies in Mindfulness here in Oxford and for me it's still unsurpassed as the best book on the real nuts and bolts of Mindfulness and why it works the way it does. Zindel, Mark and John: Thank you for the gift of this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
A first rate insight into making sense of your thoughts. Practical guide and theoretical handbook. A fascinating account of the development of a new psychological treatment. Modern science meets ancient wisdom and together they walk hand in hand.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
Brilliant. Easy to read and understand. Clear, precise, helpful and a great resource. Anyone interested in Mindfulness Based CT for depression should read this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)