Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive Reading
When I first downloaded this novelette, I wasn't quite sure about it - but then I have thoroughly enjoyed Kay's other books (and would reccommend them to anyone interested in reading about how it really is in China from a "western" point of view, from some-one who's lived there). To my delight, I found it as well-written and insight-ful as her other books.

The...
Published 18 months ago by Mrs. Heather Knowles

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only short story
Started off as an interesting read but then finished suddenly. Possibly disappointing because I hadn't realised it was a short story.
Published 4 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only short story, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train to Nowhere (Kindle Edition)
Started off as an interesting read but then finished suddenly. Possibly disappointing because I hadn't realised it was a short story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive Reading, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train to Nowhere (Kindle Edition)
When I first downloaded this novelette, I wasn't quite sure about it - but then I have thoroughly enjoyed Kay's other books (and would reccommend them to anyone interested in reading about how it really is in China from a "western" point of view, from some-one who's lived there). To my delight, I found it as well-written and insight-ful as her other books.

The heroine of the book is "sent away" by her educated parents, disguised as a Red Guard, to ensure her safety during the Cultural Revolution. She has false papers to ensure her appearance as a Red Guard is as authentic as possible, but she risks detection and punishment by not being able to let go of her old life completely. On the train she makes one good friend, but is appalled by the loutish and bullying behaviour of the senior Red Guards, which makes her ashamed to be associating with them. When her past life is discovered, her new friend "carries the can".

A very well-written book, realistic and enveloping. I couldn't put it down and read it all in a "oner".Train to Nowhere
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 21 May 2014
By 
CathG (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Train to Nowhere (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading this book and will definitely read others as i find the way of life in China fascinating. There was good description which enabled the reader to easily imagine what was going on and the surroundings. Quite a short book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another great read from Kay Bratt, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train to Nowhere (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book enjoyed it. She is dealing with many issues in China and the play out of different viewpoints there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars yet another K Bratt in my library.I, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train to Nowhere (Kindle Edition)
like her way with words. I enjoy visualising her characters, whoo come to life in her storieI have to blame the Scavengers daughters, which set me off in her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars train to Nowhere, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train to Nowhere (Kindle Edition)
Really good story, keeps you gripped to the end, thoughtful, would recommend to anyone to read, loved it really good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars learning English, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Train to Nowhere (Kindle Edition)
Easy to read and understand. Story is interesting enough to keep you reading. Novel reveals how young adults ponder about life values and what it takes to be who they really are. I suggest this book for those who are learning English and looking for something not too difficult but interesting enough to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Train to Nowhere
Train to Nowhere by Kay Bratt
1.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews