Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice triggers, reliable, inexpensive, surprisingly versatile.
I've bought quite a few of these. They're not perfect (see later) but they're highly useful and an awful lot cheaper than "leading brand" alternatives.

Each unit is a transceiver, that is, it can be a transmitter, a receiver, or in fact both at once. The one you fit to the camera hot-shoe "knows" to be a trigger, and will also work as a remote...
Published 5 months ago by CarlOz

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Simply did not work
Item didn't work at all and it cost me almost 9.00 to send it back (to Hong Long) Don't think I'll ever receive that money back.
Fortunately, Amazon got my purchase price back, but be aware: any complaint to this company, simply results in a request to return it.
Did this and was so disgusted at lack of communication, I wrote a (not very nice) complaint to...
Published 6 months ago by Harry


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice triggers, reliable, inexpensive, surprisingly versatile., 5 Feb 2014
This review is from: DB Power Yongnuo RF-603 N3 Wireless Flash Trigger for Nikon D7000 D90 D3100 D5100 D5000 (Electronics)
I've bought quite a few of these. They're not perfect (see later) but they're highly useful and an awful lot cheaper than "leading brand" alternatives.

Each unit is a transceiver, that is, it can be a transmitter, a receiver, or in fact both at once. The one you fit to the camera hot-shoe "knows" to be a trigger, and will also work as a remote shutter release receiver using the supplied shutter cable (while still being a flash trigger transmitter) - this can be highly useful, but it's not always ideal, see below.

First, the niggles and things they won't do, things that you might find problematic enough to encourage you to spend more (in which case I'd personally look at Yongnuo's more recent TTL triggers, before going down the fashionable-brand route).

(1) This is the main one for me: you can't use one hand-held and stand-alone as a flash trigger, not without some messing around.

(2) Though the units have a PC flash cord socket, this is a trigger *output* only, meant for connecting to studio strobes - you can't hook one to your flash meter via a PC lead and then use the button on the flash meter to trigger your flashes.

(3) The button on the unit is mainly there for use in its camera-trigger mode. The unit on the camera does fire the flashes when you press the button (when the meter is on and the unit's off standby), but units used stand-alone or attached to flashes use the button only for remote shutter release.

(4) Not really unexpected, just a specification point - these are manual-flash triggers, they do NOT pass TTL metering information to and from the camera to remote flashes.

(5) There is a difference, beyond the remote shutter adapter, between the Canon and Nikon versions - at least one unit needs to match your camera or else you can't get it to work as a trigger. The Canon and Nikon versions are readily interchangeable at the receiving end though. If you have, or might at some point want to use, a mix of Canon and Nikon gear, get at least one of each type and mark them with tape so you can pick the correct transmitter for the camera. The Nikon version, in my experience, works on Pentax bodies too, even though its "wake-up" connection protocol is different.

(6) They won't readily function as triggers on cameras with a simple manual-only hotshoe, nor with a PC lead connection to the camera via a typical PC-to-hotshoe adapter. So they're not much use for most film-based medium or large format cameras, at least not without some effort (see below).

(7) They are slower than some other triggers, Pocket Wizards in particular. Pocket Wizards are often cited as class-leading in the speed department.

On that last point, by slow, I mean they introduce a delay, of the order of milliseconds, between the camera trigger signal and the eventual firing of the remote flash. All radio slave triggers do this. And it's true that Pocket Wizards are lots faster, around twice as fast in fact - I've measured the delay using an oscilloscope to confirm this. This means you need to reduce flash sync speed below 1/250 sec to avoid getting a partial exposure, typically to 1/200. However, this is in my view of no practical consequence - the shorter delay of the quicker units is *still enough* that you have to reduce shutter speed below 1/250, and this means 1/200 on most cameras. In other words, these are slower, but they have no real need to be any faster in order to provide the same functionality.

Everything else is good, so long as you're not expecting full radio-TTL control at this price.

Some of the niggles and peculiarities can be worked around with some ingenuity. The inability to use one stand-alone or from a PC cord as a flash trigger transmitter, for example. The way the unit "knows" to be a transmitter is to pick up the flash wake-up signal from the camera's hotshoe. This is why the Canon and Nikon units differ, and why they won't work stand-alone or on "dumb" hot-shoes (or manual-only extensions).

It's possible to provide for stand-alone triggering, and add a PC "in" socket, either by making a special hot-shoe adapter that supplies the requisite signal on the "wake-up" pin, or by modifying the unit itself, as various people have done - you can find instructions online on how to modify the units to have a manual transmit mode switch that also switches the built in PC socket from output to input, a modification the manufacturer could arguably embrace in an updated version (albeit with more attention to the possibility that a high-voltage studio flash might then end up connected to the socket in "input mode" and fry the unit).

Things I especially like:

(1) Range is good, reliability is good. I've not had these flake out on me.

(2) Cheap, standard batteries - these use two AAA cells each. They work fine with rechargeables, though I guess power/range is likely to be better with fresh alkalines.

(3) The remote shutter release is nifty - hook up the shutter release cable on the camera-mounted unit and you can trigger the camera, and all your flashes, from any of the slave units via its pushbutton.

(4) They're cheap enough that I can have plenty. That means spares, that means enough to go around a number of flashes, and that means no qualms about leaving them around in public venues, unlike units costing over a hundred pounds each.

(5) They're small, light and neat.

(6) The hot-shoe trigger pass-through means you can stack a few together on the same flash and have several different cameras able to trigger it using different frequencies, opening up the possibility of multi camera setups with some camera-specific and some common flashes - e.g. for lighting from both sides of a stage.

Unless any of the niggles are a show-stopper for you, I think these are a smart choice over rather costlier, more fashionably-branded alternatives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy!!, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DB Power Yongnuo RF-603 N3 Wireless Flash Trigger for Nikon D7000 D90 D3100 D5100 D5000 (Electronics)
Delivered on time and in perfect condition.

This is a very inexpensive way to add remote shutter release to a Nikon D3100 (which does not have this option built in). Works perfectly, I was so impressed I bought another set to control my extra off camera speed lights, so I now have total wireless control over shutter release and flash. Very happy indeed!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful bit of kit, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DB Power Yongnuo RF-603 N3 Wireless Flash Trigger for Nikon D7000 D90 D3100 D5100 D5000 (Electronics)
Great assett when using a pod... prevents any vibration caused by pressing the shutter, helps to get the light off the body and into the right area light the subject properly.
Recomended to all who are serious about their photography. Inexpencive, convenient and easy to carry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you want, if you don't need wireless TTL/i-TTL, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DB Power Yongnuo RF-603 N3 Wireless Flash Trigger for Nikon D7000 D90 D3100 D5100 D5000 (Electronics)
Very good product, was not too sure if I should buy it as there were some negative reviews about it but I have found this a very good investment. Works fine in conjunction with D3100 and YN560-III Speedlight. I don't use the RF-603 receiver for this, as it works fine on the build in wireless with this transmitter. The remote shutter function works great with a two-step button, letting you focus before you take the shot. Also works fine together, so one as a flash-transmitter while also being a remote shutter receiver, the speedlight on its own wireless function and the second as a wireless shutter transmitter.

Build quality is very good, very good design which allows it to be more secure then other screw connections sometimes are.

Only thing it doesn't provide is TTL or i-TTL (intelligent Through The Lens metering), but I didn't need that at this moment. Very good value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yongnuo RF-603 N3 wireless Radio Flash Trigger forNikon, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DB Power Yongnuo RF-603 N3 Wireless Flash Trigger for Nikon D7000 D90 D3100 D5100 D5000 (Electronics)
I already had a pair of these triggers and decided to get more. They are excellent value and work brilliantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DB Power Yongnuo RF-603 N3 Wireless Flash Trigger for Nikon D7000 D90 D3100 D5100 D5000 (Electronics)
These are well made little units that never miss a beat. I have two minor gripes but these are not worth losing stars for considering the price:

They will not lock into a hotshoe mount so may slide backwards and take a fall if your camera body is pointed upwards steeply, especially with the weight of another flash unit mounted on top.
The power switch is all but inaccessible when a flash unit is mounted on top. The body of the flash unit will overhang just enough to make it very difficult to apply enough forward pressure to switch the unit on. I either use a pen to reach in, or simply remove the flash for a moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good piece of equipment, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DB Power Yongnuo RF-603 N3 Wireless Flash Trigger for Nikon D7000 D90 D3100 D5100 D5000 (Electronics)
I had no idea how to get my flash of camera. My mate suggested I get a set of these. I was reluctant at first as they seemed quite cheap however I was proved wrong. These are are excellent wireless triggers! They have never failed me yet and are as good as any of the more expensive systems out there. Highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent value, 21 Dec 2013
This review is from: DB Power Yongnuo RF-603 N3 Wireless Flash Trigger for Nikon D7000 D90 D3100 D5100 D5000 (Electronics)
These never failed to trigger flash guns on 500 triggers. Also work as remote shutter release for camera using extra cable from trigger to camera (3.99p). I tested at 100 metres away from camera and they work great every time. I bought two pairs and pleased I did. We need more manufactures like Yongnuo who do not rip off customers with high prices-- maybe one day they will produce a high quality camera for a lower price than Nikon or Cannon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheaper and cheerful, 14 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. L. Harley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DB Power Yongnuo RF-603 N3 Wireless Flash Trigger for Nikon D7000 D90 D3100 D5100 D5000 (Electronics)
These items have been called poverty wizards as they are a lot cheaper than the pocket wizard. I love them and they work just as I want them to, some people have talked about miss firing, to date I have not had this problem. As my photography picks up I will be ordering more. Yes these are items I would recommend for those on a budget and even if you are not on a budget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DB Power Yongnuo RF-603 N3 Wireless Flash Trigger for Nikon D7000 D90 D3100 D5100 D5000 (Electronics)
An excellent product for Nikon. I am very pleased with the Yougnou products.
together with the YongNuo YN-560 III Flashgun... excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews