Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
24
4.3 out of 5 stars
Platform: Xbox 360|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 April 2013
Anarchy Reigns is a roaming beat em' up based in an apocalyptic future in which cyborgs whittle away the days by punching each other with chainsaw arms. You take the roll of either team dark or team light in separate stories as they try to see which one of them can punch their way to the truth faster.

Despite this game having a single player "story", I would not recommend it for anyone who doesn't have a taste for repetitive bashing to proceed through it. You are placed in an overworld which has one story mission and one repeatable mission and you must build up a score in each high enough to unlock the next chapters of each. At first it seems like a decent way to tune you for the incoming boss battles throughout the story, but soon begins to wear away after you have 'Defeated 100 Enemies!' or 'Helped the Robot' three or four times in a row.

The single player, however, is not where this game shines. It is in the multiplayer that you really see the bones of this franchise. Created by Platinum Games, (the name behind such games as Beyonetta and Metal Gear Rising) the multiplayer combat feels fluid and exciting. Grappling friends and pulling off powerful super moves with ease makes you feel like you are really causing damage. The durability of characters and the ability to reverse your opponents moves means that fights can last for minutes without feeling drawn out or repetitive. Although at it's basics it is just a case of throws and using your power attacks, the cinematic nature of the combat and the exciting soundtrack accompanying it brings out an adrenalin fuel brawl that feels tense until the last punch.

I wouldn't recommend this game if you are looking for a strong single player story, but if you are in the mood to get a few friends round and spend a couple of hours locked in an explosive brawl, then maybe this game is worth it, if not for it's price alone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
This is a perfect example how third person beat-em-ups should be made. Largely ridiculous action. It's a pity this title could not come out sooner worldwide! I really hope Platinum Games develop more titles like this in the future, or even a sequel. It's highly addictive once you get into the swing of it. Only major issue is that the story-mode needs to be re-played too much to unlock everything, not to say that it's not enjoyable, but I'd rather there were separate unlockable missions that weren't accessible through a hub-world. The hub-world is nice though, it keeps the game moving.
Oh and I'd like to add that the soundtrack and loading times are fantastic! This game reminded me of a third-person brawler version of Borderlands without the emphasis on weapons but more-so on FISTS!

This a excellent title for the price offered (seriously would have paid more, it's worth it!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
So here at last is Anarchy Reigns after it has been a staple for Japanese X-Box gamers...all three of them. Essentially this game is for all you online people who like to cuss at each other and who drop out when you are getting gubbed.

I on the other hand bought this for the single player aspect...I know exactly what you are thinking here...but trust me it plays like a cross between 'Fist of the North Star' and 'Final Fight' with touches of 'Streets of Rage' thrown in. Yes story mode acts as a tutorial to the main online mode but there are hours of fun to be had throwing buses(!!) at oncoming goons who helpfully arrive in nice managable groups of cannon / fist fodder. You will laugh. You will button mash until your fingers bleed. You will forgive the graphics and glitches and just have a mega blast.

For £18.00 you couldn't ask for a better 'beat them all into a pulp up' so go buy. You know you want to. Then play it online and tell me what fun I'm missing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
When this game dropped through my letter box, I was ecstatic. I had heard spectacular reviews online from people who had imported the Japanese version, called Max Anarchy, and heard from that it was getting a European release under its new title. When I played it finally, I was perfectly pleased. The characters, great, the story, to be honest a bit odd and occasionally convoluted but still motivating enough to make you want the play the two campaigns to completion. The controls are much simpler than your average fighting game, so the pick up and play ability of this game makes it so easy to become addicted. With a nice variety of enemies and locations, every level feels different but they all tie together. Some of the difficulty spikes are a little sudden, but the awesome soundtrack and bonus content, along with a awesome and crazy multiplayer mode, this game is well worth it's price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
This game is a fun brawler/beat em up, that doesn't take itself too seriously, the graphics are good, not great, the gameplay is fast but can be repetitive but its DEFINITELY worth £18!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
A good mix between a Musou game an Mad World. A lot of fun both in multyplayer and in single player.
Need to follow the story to unlock more characters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
Quick arrival, great game would recommend to anyone who is a fan of beat em' ups but stay away if you aren't because game play can sometimes be repetitive
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
Not a very good game, that's my opinion story terrible, combat bland and repetitive, if you buy this game only buy for action or to play multi player, this is only my opinion
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
Bonkers characters, mad game play, funky music and Bayonetta too, at last we have this game in Europe, and not cost a load, it's not an easy game, but great fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
The game is fun but not addictive
it doesnt get repetitive like reviews say but if you ever stop playing it you will most likely never go back to it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)