Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Two really wierd but fun films.
I've been waiting for the video dead to come out and it's finally here! Although I didn't expect it to be bundled with another film. This double feature from Scream Factory is obviously not going to appeal to mainstream horror fans as both films were quite silly and amateurish but still fun.

Terrorvision comes from Empire Studios, which was the original home...
Published 4 months ago by Puzzle box

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Terrorvsion.....
A civilisation on a distant planet has found a way to solve its garbage problem: turning it into energy and beaming it into outer space.

A flaw in this system is found when the signal is accidentally picked up on Earth by the Putterman Family's home satellite dish.

While this would ordinarily be just another mess, this particular transmission...
Published 7 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Two really wierd but fun films., 18 April 2014
This review is from: Terrorvision & The Video Dead Double Feature [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (Blu-ray)
I've been waiting for the video dead to come out and it's finally here! Although I didn't expect it to be bundled with another film. This double feature from Scream Factory is obviously not going to appeal to mainstream horror fans as both films were quite silly and amateurish but still fun.

Terrorvision comes from Empire Studios, which was the original home name for Charles Band and it actually turned out to be much better than I was expecting. If you're wanting a straight science fiction film then you're going to be highly disappointed because this thing is silly, over-the-top and pretty much pokes fun of the genre. "TerrorVision" perfectly encapsulates every aspect of the 1980s into one film. You've got the old grandfather who thinks TV rots your brains and lives in a military bunker while waiting for a third world war. The young son is innocent and loves horror and sci-fi movies. The daughter is a new wave / punk hybrid with multi-colored hair that dates a head-banger named "OD." Their parents are still living in the 1970s and don't want to give up their swinging lifestyle.

Top all that off with a big slimy monster that looks like a twisted version of Jabba the Hutt, an alien taken straight out of a 1950s sci-fi film, and a late-night TV host and you have all the ingredients for a film written and produced by B-movie king Charles Band. It's a cheap but still hilarious 80's b-movie, although the theme song was annoying I still enjoyed it.

If you're looking for some cheesy horror goodness then you've come to the right place. There is no doubt that The Video Dead is one extremely bad zombie flick, however I consider it a guilty pleasure and have been waiting a while now for a decent copy to be released. It's about this possessed TV that gets delivered to a house where the residents are found dead. The movie then skips ahead to a new family which moves in and they find the tv and strange things start to happen. The dog (the best actor in the film) dies with a ball stuck in its throat and then zombies come out of the tv. Later the boy gets seduced by a zombie in the TV and then the "Care-taker" warns him to get rid of the TV. Theres some really nice gore scenes and the make up fx on the zombies was quite good, it's obvious where all the budget went to.

I was really surprised that they got so many extra features for this blu-ray release, Scream Factory definitely did a great job with this double feature. Theres a pretty lengthy documentary for Terrorvision called Monster On Demand: The Making of TerrorVision and three commentaries. While the Video Dead has two commentaries, an outtake reel, image gallery and a trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Terrorvsion....., 14 Jan 2014
This review is from: Terrorvision & The Video Dead Double Feature [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (Blu-ray)
A civilisation on a distant planet has found a way to solve its garbage problem: turning it into energy and beaming it into outer space.

A flaw in this system is found when the signal is accidentally picked up on Earth by the Putterman Family's home satellite dish.

While this would ordinarily be just another mess, this particular transmission contains a hungry trash monster who quickly begins snacking on the Puttermans and their guests.

Only young Sherman Putterman has any clue what is going on, but nobody will believe him. Is there any hope for the Earth.....

Well one thing that is amazing about this film is the house, its amazing to look at and the film does spend ninety nine percent of the time in here, so you are literally awe inspired nearly every frame of the film, luckily taking you away from the clunky narrative and not very good story.

It's more of a sitcom than a real sci fi horror, I could have seen this being made into a thirty minute comedy series around this time, and it would have been great, the two kids hiding the monster, and the creature eating a special guest star every week.

The acting is over the top but intentional, and all in all its a hoot from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking..., 31 May 2013
By 
A. FURNISS "DRAGONANDY" (WEST SUSSEX. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terrorvision & The Video Dead Double Feature [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (Blu-ray)
Cracking good value. I've been waiting forever to own a proper DVD of both these films and now I do.
The Bluray versions do not play on my Bluray player - wrong region - but I knew that before I bought as I was more than happy to pay the money JUST for the DVD versions!
Very Happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars B HORROR MOVIE HEAVEN!!!!, 7 Feb 2013
This review is from: Terrorvision & The Video Dead Double Feature [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (Blu-ray)
Oh wow OK so you don't own a blu ray player yet? How about now.
What we have here is two classic 80s horror B movies, The Video Dead and and, drumroll wait for it.......
Finally an official release of Terrorvision. One of the coolest piece of garbage, but ultimately cool movies of well all time.

In truth Terrorvision is 3.5 stars and Video Dead is 3 stars. Both are great movies in their own right. But I give this 5 stars because of the bizarreness of these lost VHS classics now playing alongside the big mainstreams on Blu Ray. Who would have ever thought? The Blu Ray is loaded with extras too.

Of course these movies are not masterpieces, but kudos for putting them both together and on a blu ray package to boot.

2013 gonna be a good year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Video dead, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terrorvision & The Video Dead Double Feature [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (Blu-ray)
A well put together double pack both bluray and dvd in this set both very good films but video dead is the best in my opinion...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bit stupid movie but not working on british blu ray player, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terrorvision & The Video Dead Double Feature [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (Blu-ray)
it film is brilliant film but
I notice to all of u if u buy it blu ray from American some them is not working on british blu ray player not all of their blu ray player is working on united kingdom by stupid laws thing like
region A FOR AMERICAN BLU RAY PLAYER ONLY
region B FOR BRITISH BLU RAY PLAYER ONLY
BUT some dvd player can unlock region b to free region mean can watch all of the world dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews