Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for rugby fans
Something of a Who's Who of Lions rugby, this is a totally gripping story, told in their own words, by dozens and dozens of the greats in the history of the Lions. The authors have done a superb job, not only in the depth and breadth of their research, but in the balance with which they have put the book together. Not only are all the highs and the lows a hugely enjoyable...
Published on 20 Nov. 2012 by T. D. Johnstone

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Detailed History of Lions Tours
Thoroughly enjoyed the read. It gave good insights into the history and tradition of the tours. My only complaint is the players comments at the end of each tour seemed disjointed as a player's comments were read and after a few more players comments, previously read players would pop up again with more anecdotes/comments. Despite that I would still recommend this book.
Published 16 months ago by Raymond J Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for rugby fans, 20 Nov. 2012
By 
T. D. Johnstone (Roslin, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Something of a Who's Who of Lions rugby, this is a totally gripping story, told in their own words, by dozens and dozens of the greats in the history of the Lions. The authors have done a superb job, not only in the depth and breadth of their research, but in the balance with which they have put the book together. Not only are all the highs and the lows a hugely enjoyable and entertaining read, but the spread of players interviewed from each country is equal, so that fans will never feel their own country's players are under-represented. All are legends and heroes of the game. This book has solved my Christmas gift problem for all my rugby-loving family and friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read from start to finish, 20 Nov. 2012
Far-ranging, poignant, hilarious, inspiring - this book has it all. It's impossible not to get excited by the prospect of a Lions tour when reading - it makes the whole history of the team more real. All the memories from watching past tours come flooding back, and hearing the stories from the men who have been there and done it makes them all the more magical. This is the finest book on the Lions I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lions Roar!, 14 Nov. 2012
By 
Superbly researched and brilliantly told, one of the best rugby books I've read. I thoroughly enjoyed it and only wish I could still play myself! - Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what it says on the tin., 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With in reason it is not anticipated that anyone who buys such a book would be disappointed because like me they will be a rugby nut and anything that help such enthusiasts submerge themselves into such history of the Lions, will always be satisfied with such a book as this. I am glad this has been published at this time because it helps set the tone leading up to a Lions year however something had to be done in the historic 125 years of this institution.
When I saw this back in November it was a must for me and I would think for most Lions fans however; I particularly think this has been a bad year for Rugby Union titles, and having this available, I was able to at least get one good rugby book for Christmas this year.
The book is well written and laid out well, it is easy to put the book down for a few days or weeks and simply come back to it as between each tour section. There is some memorable info in this book which I was unaware of. I am very much interested in sport history particular rugby, and this really gets you motivated in wanting to search for more.
This is a fascinating read and a big thanks goes out to the authors you have done a marvellous job.
Like I said this year has been awful in terms of the number of books worth buying however; no problems next year, just think of all the titles and DVDs available after the Australian series. Roll on Christmas!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First choice!, 8 Nov. 2012
The authors have managed to get a mind-boggling amount of first-hand interviews - an inspired decision to have them all working together to get as many accounts as possible, straight from the mouths of the guys who have gone and done it and experienced playing for this iconic team. The research done to bring the first tours to life are amazing - this is no dry history, where you might skip the early chapters to get into the modern era. You want to read every account, from first to last. I love the idea of the early tourists taking it seriously by `only' drinking four glasses of champagne at lunch before a match! Amazing insights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well played!, 8 Nov. 2012
A perfectly-timed history of the Lions - just as the excitement is building towards 2013 - and what makes this even better is that it is a history of the Lions like no other. The authors have done an extraordinary job to tell this story primarily in the players' words - from all the superstars of the modern era, right back to the very first tourists in 1888. Their research to dig up letters, diaries and old newspaper articles for the early tourists is just astounding - and casts a light on the early tours like no other. I can't recommend this enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for All Rugby Enthusiasts, 14 Nov. 2012
An amazing read and a lovely book to either read from start to finish or just to delve into at your fancy. Each of the 28 tours the Lions have been on are given their own dedicated chapter - and the photographs spread throughout are just a delight (and there are literally hundreds of them). The production of the book is of the highest quality. Copies are being ordered right now as presents! Any rugby fan will love this, Lions fans especially.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars factual. insight on the lions,, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind the Lions: Playing Rugby for the British & Irish Lions (Kindle Edition)
down to earth presentation of the lions tours,offering unbiased points of view from the players and the management from the humble beginnings and basic arrangements of players welfare,venues,during the tours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent!, 6 Dec. 2012
Quite simply, a must for all Lions fans! Finally a Lions book that really tells the story of what it is truly like on tour and delves superbly into the hearts of all Lions fans both young and old. Looking forward to the release of the App in the Spring ahead of the Lions tour in Oz '13! Off now to get my ebook copy so that I can take it on tour Behind the Lions: Playing Rugby for the British & Irish Lions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Rugby read in many years, 9 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At time of writng everyone has given this five stars and I will too. I read it on Kindle but frankly it is such a fine seminal record of rugby history that I'd like a hard copy on my shelf if I can make space for it ! Fourteen month tours, tranport by cattle carrier, refusal to avail themselves of subsititutes. Absolutely fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews