Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive
.
Has Britain ever produced a greater rock guitarist than Richard Thompson? I reckon nobody from these shores has ever matched the lyrical beauty, ebb and flow that Thompson extracts from the electric guitar. Even as a teenager he was already in the premier league [Google "Bouton Rouge sessions Reno Nevada" and move up to 7'00" to watch an incredible clip - or check...
Published 18 months ago by Mr. P. S. Rapaport

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good album - change the producer
As some sensible reviewers have said - this is a good, but not a great Richard Thompson album. It does not compare favourably with the likes of Hand Of Kindness, Across A Crowded Room or Daring Adventures, but it is still a good RT album; and as such is in a different league to most other artists in popular music. RT continues to write excellent songs and play superb...
Published 17 months ago by A. R. Durham


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, rubbish recording., 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
A great set of songs ruined by two dimensional production. All it needed was two mics and a cassette recorder to produce a better recording than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unremarkable, 28 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Richard Moore (WA Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
I have seen Richard Thompson live on many occasions so know first hand how remarkable a performer and songwriter he is; on first acquaintance I found this offering rather dreary but I will persist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Richard Thompson Album, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
He remains an amazing electric guitar player, and mediocre singer but I had forgotten that I stopped buying his albums because many of his songs are so cruel, vicious or nihilistic.
His finest songs are just wonderful, but every album is spoiled by one or two horrid songs.
The first track on this album is about a dirty old man who fancies a young slut. Her brothers beat him up and leave him in the gutter "covered in blood, covered in snot..." Thats it. Not very edifying.
And his funny songs are even worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arrived quickly in a good condition, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered it, it came the next day, wrapped lightly but undamaged. Dad loves his gift. Perfect! thank you for the great service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another gem, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
Started with his Capitol years greatest hits! Cannot not believe how talented he is this latest album. Is a real grower. Is Richard a tortured man or just a jilted romantic?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mmm not sure yet, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric (Audio CD)
I need to give this more time. It is quite different from the Richard Thompson I love and will need some more airplay from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Electric
Electric by Richard Thompson (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews