Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Informative educational, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rise and Fall of the House of Bo (Penguin Specials): How A Murder Exposed The Cracks In China's Leadership (Penguin Shorts/Specials) (Kindle Edition)
Understanding China and those responsible for its past and present, the appalling self- seeking corruption under the cowardly umbrella of 'serving' nation is a frightening eye-opener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chines naughty super-politician murders British diplomat., 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rise and Fall of the House of Bo (Penguin Specials): How A Murder Exposed The Cracks In China's Leadership (Penguin Shorts/Specials) (Kindle Edition)
I knew nothing about this subject until I read this book. I raced through it in a day.It confirmed much that I believed about the strange Communist-Capitalism, a paradox that surely cannot survive indefinitely. The ruthless behaviour, the snarl of rivalry and the intrigue involving the women made the read worthwhile. It was certainly not time wasted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hubris to a Fall: The Complexities of a Corrupt Chinese Regime Meticulously Exposed, 26 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Rise and Fall of the House of Bo (Penguin Specials): How A Murder Exposed The Cracks In China's Leadership (Penguin Shorts/Specials) (Kindle Edition)
Though this account is, of necessity, hastily written, it is very thoroughly researched and persuasively presented. It's the complexity of the subterfuge that is as striking as the sense of arrogance and entitlement. The ideals of communism are long dead in China, their demise brought about by greed, pride and a cynical disregard for human rights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Overview and Incredibly Well-Sourced, 24 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Rise and Fall of the House of Bo (Penguin Specials): How A Murder Exposed The Cracks In China's Leadership (Penguin Shorts/Specials) (Kindle Edition)
John Garnaut has built a formidable reputation among foreign correspondents in Beijing, for amassing an impressive collection of sources in the highest levels of government. Some of the details he has managed to uncover about incredibly opaque world of elite Chinese politics are so impressive, particularly the detailed blow-by-blow account of events surrounding Neil Heywood's murder and Wang Lijun's flee to the US consulate. There is also insightful commentary about Bo's purging and the web of factional conflict that it displayed, and its future influence on the direction of Chinese politics. A lot more detail and narrative structure is given in this book than any of the articles found in the press. If anyone was even tangentially interested in the Wang-Bo scandal I would highly recommend this book as a riveting and insightful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Rise and Fall of the House of BloThis is a good review of what happened to calls great problems to the Chinese elite-, 16 Jan 2013
By 
M-E Raw - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rise and Fall of the House of Bo (Penguin Specials): How A Murder Exposed The Cracks In China's Leadership (Penguin Shorts/Specials) (Kindle Edition)
The Rise and Fall of the House of Bo relates the background to the murder of British businessman by a prominent Chinese lawyer. It is a tale of intrigue and jealousy. Having followed the case in newspapers, I knew quite a lot beforehand of the case. However, this gave me much or insight and facts, especially about the politics of Bo, who was due to advance to the highest echelons anyone who has any interest in China or who enjoys a good whodunnit should consider this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential China book!, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rise and Fall of the House of Bo (Penguin Specials): How A Murder Exposed The Cracks In China's Leadership (Penguin Shorts/Specials) (Kindle Edition)
The topic may appear to quite narrow and current-affairs fuelled, but this should be on the "essential China reading list" now, because of what it shows you about the real workings of corrupt modern China in general, albeit from a particularly diseased scenario.

Where books about scandals and news events usually fill out details to the point of making the whole thing somehow more boring and less straightforwardly scandalous, this book added plenty of new information that I had not heard despite having hoovered up a lot of text online when the Bo scandal broke in several parts, and for me the whole thing is now even more ridiculous, amazing, and significant than I thought before.

In terms of readability, this book is very well written and researched, and there are plenty of eyebrow-raising surrounding tidbits to the main jaw-dropping story to make this a 'cannot put down' kindle read. If this came out in a full illustrated / expanded / updated hardback version, I would buy it, re read it, and buy more for my friends, even the ones who think they are not interested in China.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fear and Loathing in Chongqing, 2 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Rise and Fall of the House of Bo (Penguin Specials): How A Murder Exposed The Cracks In China's Leadership (Penguin Shorts/Specials) (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read that brings these much discussed characters to life through historical analysis and many previously unreported details. A mounting sense of tension develops throughout the book, the story of which continues to be played out and looks set to continue for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read easy to follow, 11 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rise and Fall of the House of Bo (Penguin Specials): How A Murder Exposed The Cracks In China's Leadership (Penguin Shorts/Specials) (Kindle Edition)
Gives the family background to all the charachters in this book whicch makes it easier to understand than brief details given in the newspapers. There is so much going on in China which we do not know about and probably never will. This book clear shows what deals are done behind the scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good value, 19 July 2014
By 
Leslie Gardner (london, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rise and Fall of the House of Bo (Penguin Specials): How A Murder Exposed The Cracks In China's Leadership (Penguin Shorts/Specials) (Kindle Edition)
clear reading, setting out the power plays and cultural differences that we will learn more and more about in the west as time goes on - good price and more value than simply a newspaper or magazine feature
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews