Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Caesarean Classic.
The perfect gift for all Roman history enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

In my review, Conquest of Gaul, it was, in my opinion, one of the best novels ever written on the Roman Legionary. With Civil War, I would like to go one further, I believe Ron Peake has delivered a Caesarean Classic.

In...
Published on 23 Jan. 2013 by amazon customer

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars WHY THE LATIN ?
The author seems bent on impressing readers with his knowledge of Latin, especially in the opening pages. His repetitive use of the same Latin phrases is irritating and, in the context, completely unnecessary. A non Latin speaker will have to interrupt constantly his reading of the book to go and get out his Latin -English dictionary - assuming he has one. This is utter...
Published 7 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Caesarean Classic., 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The perfect gift for all Roman history enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

In my review, Conquest of Gaul, it was, in my opinion, one of the best novels ever written on the Roman Legionary. With Civil War, I would like to go one further, I believe Ron Peake has delivered a Caesarean Classic.

In this second book, the character of Titus Pullus is explored in greater depth, to reveal, not only the born leadership qualities, of moral and physical courage, initiative, organisation, and his great responsibility towards his men, but also his multi faceted personality, which includes compassion, honesty, dry humour, and total loyalty.

All of these qualities are put to the test time and again following Caesar on his inexorable mission to end the corruption of the republic.

As in Conquest of Gaul, the action is thick and fast, the Campaigns and Battles described in detail, and with profound knowledge of Roman Republican tactics.

All in all this is not only a great novel, and a historically accurate account of Caesars military and political climb to power, but also a thinking man's book.

THE PERFECT COMPANION TO THIS EXCELLENT SERIES IS, THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Ron Peake is the proud owner of one, this is what he has to say about it:
The workmanship is outstanding, and while I am certainly no expert on pieces of this type, it has a substantial feel to it; when I pick it up there's nothing flimsy about it and one can feel and see the craftsmanship that went into it. The engraved figures are extraordinarily detailed; All in all I couldn't be happier with the Calix and what it represents. Truly Rome is eternal if even now people around the world are still interested in the Legions, and this Calix is a worthy representative of that time and place!
Looking forward to the sequel, Antony and Cleopatra, due out in February.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A 5 star book that maybe deserves 4.5, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marching With Caesar-Civil War (Kindle Edition)
This is five stars because the system won't (so far as I know) allow the 4.5 stars I'd prefer to give. I've found the Marching with Caesar series gripping, well-researched, authoritative, convincing and highly entertaining. Why would I deduct half a star if I could? Regrettably, because of the writing.
All the books so far - and I'm already on volume VIII - have been littered with errors that caused me, as a reader, to stumble, and have even from time to time brought me to the point of wondering if I should not perhaps abandon the series rather than proceed on what is sometimes a very bumpy ride. Principal, among those problems, is word repetition. 'Suddenly', for example, is a word that needs to be used very carefully and really NOT twice in the same sentence. 'Finally' is a good word, but not three times, as I have found it, in the same sentence. And these are not the only examples by a long, long way. To 'return back', as the heroes of these books do time and time again, has the effect for many readers of fingernails scraping a blackboard. To 'return' means 'to go back'. To 'go back back', which 'return back' means, jars every time I read it.
The books deserve better editing, not least because, fundamentally, they are great books. Were they not so great this would have been a four star review at best, and I cannot bring myself to do that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put this down., 13 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Marching With Caesar-Civil War (Kindle Edition)
I count the first marching with caesar in the top ten of my all time books along with simon scarrow books and bernard cornwell...

Marching with Caesar Civil War is now fighting for my number 1 book ever read. The story is amazingly written and I feel the characters are so real. The emotions described are so relatable and the story just draws you in.

I sit here reading the book for the second time now, laughing along with Titus, feeling horrible when he does and wanting to cry with him too.

Peake is so good at making the characters in his story relatable and real. Battles feel like you are inthe midst of the blood shed, conversations between characters make you feel like you are sat right there with them sharing a cup, and the whirlwind of emtions in the book feel real.

I can not recommend enough that you read this book. The only down side to it is that you will forget to eat, sleep or work so you won't put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent second book - Veni Vidi Vici, 26 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marching With Caesar-Civil War (Kindle Edition)
The second book in the series follows on in the same dynamic story telling style of the first Marching with Caesar - Conquest of Gaul.
With the now Primus Pilus of Caesars X Legion, Titus Pullus, recounting the tail of his life and struggles during the time of the Civil War, retracing his steps from Dyrrhachium and Pharsalus against Pompeius Magnus' Legions, following him to Alexandria and the further campaigns against the surviving Pompeian Forces in Africa & Spain. Sadly ending with the cowardly murder of, in my opinion, the greatest Roman General ever, Gaius Julius Caesar. Leading to the beginning of the turbulent events following this.
Like the first book. The story flows at a fast pace and again is written in a way that is not trying to be too over elaborate. In other words, by anyone who just enjoys a good read and a good historical account of Roman History. The descriptions of the battle formations, equipment, day to day life style and attitudes of the Legionaries are what I would consider to be very accurate. The authors own Military experiences are obviously apparent in this.
I found this book hard to put down, reading it in a short period of time. Again, Congratulations to R.W. Peake on another excellent book. Looking forward to the third book - Marching with Caesar - Antony & Cleopatra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The journey continues., 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The second book in the life of Titus Pullus and the 10th legion. In this sequel, we follow Titus to Egypt, and see why Caesar was clearly a natural born leader of men, and a remarkable strategist of ancient warfare. Was there ever a better man to conquer half the ancient world ?.

The journey continues, as Titus again campaigns in remote parts, but this time facing his own kind, splitting the legions, and showing the utter madness of civil war. As well as triumph, he also faces tragedy, and matures into a fully seasoned veteran of the roman war machine.

The character of Scribonius starts to develop further, along with young Octavius rising up to take us towards the third book in this compelling series.

Five stars again. Mr. Peake is fast becoming the master at writing roman fiction, but with historical accuracy at it's core. Hard times, and a very hard life in the legions. That's the way it was 2000 years ago. Marching with Caesar takes us back there again.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, enjoying the series & the historical detail., 22 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marching With Caesar-Civil War (Kindle Edition)
Recomended reading for those interested in Roman fiction where the author has worked hard to set the story of Titus Pullo convincingly against the historical background of the death throes of the Roman Republic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We march on!, 17 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Marching With Caesar-Civil War (Kindle Edition)
This is the second book in the series. I wrote a glowing review on the first - this one follows on but, hmmm was I disappointed? No. However, sometimes it dragged a bit. Maybe that was because of the publishers. There were times in the book it really flowed and then it slowed down because of the ebbs and flows of the Legions/politics at the time.

Don't get me wrong - this is a good book and well researched. It is a really good read and if you have not read it the first book - GET IT!

I find it strange that if the author has already written the books they don't already go online for buying! I'd buy the next one without a hesitation of a doubt.

I look forward to the third book. Please publish it soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marching with Ceasar, 30 Oct. 2013
By 
CLCAULFIELD (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marching With Caesar-Civil War (Kindle Edition)
This brilliant book has been so well researched that you feel that it is you marching with Caesar. Although everything is through Titus' eyes, the sounds, smells and action is such that you almost be there. I await the nex installment to continue with the 10th Legion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting, 17 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marching With Caesar-Civil War (Kindle Edition)
This was a riveting history read from the first to last page. Looking forward to the next book and the others in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There is a lot to take in., 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marching With Caesar-Civil War (Kindle Edition)
Found myself scanning over passages. There is much to digest here but it conveys what it must have been like in this brutal world. Rome was not right but the alternative was eternal darkness or at least a long night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marching With Caesar-Civil War
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews