Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars UPDATED jan '14 Design fault! Stunning sound. Brilliant at a price
I've left the original review as it was after this paragraph so here's the update posted January 2014. Well, it appears that the alarm bug was down to APPLE. There has been a slight update for the phone over the past few weeks and I'm pleased to say that the alarm now works in the dock without the dock shutting down and muting the alarm so it's a great dock. The price...
Published 7 months ago by ziggy starburst

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Does not work as an alarm speaker
Speaker is fine, but switches into standby mode after 10 minutes and mutes the speaker on the iPhone. Crazy design - this would be the ideal speaker/stand to use together with an alarm clock app - and they've designed that option out of their product. Insane JBL! Do not buy if you want to use on the bedside together with an alarm app.
Published 8 months ago by Howard


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars UPDATED jan '14 Design fault! Stunning sound. Brilliant at a price, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've left the original review as it was after this paragraph so here's the update posted January 2014. Well, it appears that the alarm bug was down to APPLE. There has been a slight update for the phone over the past few weeks and I'm pleased to say that the alarm now works in the dock without the dock shutting down and muting the alarm so it's a great dock. The price seems to be going up and up but for the price I paid its a 5 star product but it's fairly pricey at its current price of around 80. Original review follows....

Tricky to review this one. I think the original price of this is around 90 which is a no go but this can now be bought for around 30 everywhere. At 30 (I paid 20) it's a brilliant buy if you want to charge your phone and listen to a bit of music in a bedroom. The sound is very neutral and doesn't suffer horrible "bass boost" like 99% of other docks. For its size is the best dock I've heard. I auditioned a 700 b&w dock and it's was terrible, not worth 100. Overblown bass, splashy treble and no mid range. The jbl really shines at low volume levels. Really shines. It fails at higher levels though so it won't be good for filling a room. Build quality is superb with rubber rails on the bottom to prevent slipping. The lightning connector is hinged so you don't feel your snapping the internals of the phone when inserting or removing it. It also works with cases too. Not all cases obviosly but if you have an open bottomed case like a lot of the belkin cases you will be fine. If your case has cut outs for the speakers and dock port you may struggle. So why the 3 stars? Most people will want to charge their phone overnight and use it as an alarm whilst it's charging. You cannot do this with this dock. It may be an apple stipulation (hoping you will buy their licenced poor quality cable only for 15. apple greed strikes again). So if you set your alarm while it's docked the alarm will not sound. This is due to a power saving feature which puts the dock into standby??? My guess is that is why it's so heavily discounted now. You can't use it for what most dock users need it for. If you just want a neat charger rather than leave the phone on a table then this is a great buy and costs the same as 2 nasty cheap apple cables. Great shame about the standby glitch. Without this big caveat it would get 5 stars easily. But would it be 30?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JBL OnBeat Micro Portable Speaker Dock with Lightning Connector and UK/EU Mains Adapter for iPhone 5, 5S, 5C, iPod Touch 5th Generation and iPod Nano 7th Generation - Black (Electronics)
Bought this for my son's birthday. He has an iPhone 5 and wanted to listen to music in his room. So far so good, connection is good, sound reasonable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Does not work as an alarm speaker, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JBL OnBeat Micro Portable Speaker Dock with Lightning Connector and UK/EU Mains Adapter for iPhone 5, 5S, 5C, iPod Touch 5th Generation and iPod Nano 7th Generation - Black (Electronics)
Speaker is fine, but switches into standby mode after 10 minutes and mutes the speaker on the iPhone. Crazy design - this would be the ideal speaker/stand to use together with an alarm clock app - and they've designed that option out of their product. Insane JBL! Do not buy if you want to use on the bedside together with an alarm app.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive sound for the price, 17 July 2014
By 
J Hinchy - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After recently upgrading from an iPhone 4 to a 5, I found my old portable speaker dock redundant due to the lightening connector.

I wanted something simple, compact and with a decent sound that would also charge my phone and this speaker dock definitely ticks all of those boxes.

It's a nice, simple design and slotted into a small space nicely in my kitchen. The phone sits on the connector nicely although wasn't happy with the plastic case on my phone so this has to be removed when sitting on the dock. Sound is very impressive - very loud yet crisp and clear. Much better than my old speaker dock which was triple the price and very bulky.

Would very much recommend - amazing sound quality for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compact and well built, but sound dissappoints, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JBL OnBeat Micro Portable Speaker Dock with Lightning Connector and UK/EU Mains Adapter for iPhone 5, 5S, 5C, iPod Touch 5th Generation and iPod Nano 7th Generation - Black (Electronics)
This is a neat little unit and will accommodate a minimal case (bot nothing too chunky). Build quality is very good, the battery backup option is good, but they won't last too long taking just 4 AAAs. I have it on my bedside table for charging and the odd bit of music while reading or (using the batteries for portability) doing a bit of DIY.

Personally I find the sound disappointing. It's flat and a little tinny. I wasn't expecting anything spectacular but did hope for more than it delivers. It's still listenable and free from distortion for the most part, while the volume is impressive. Will easily fill a large room with your questionable taste in music!

Until Lightning-capable speaker docks become the norm, this is probably your best option in the short term at this price point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars perfect nightstand i5 dock, 16 Dec 2012
This review is from: JBL OnBeat Micro Portable Speaker Dock with Lightning Connector and UK/EU Mains Adapter for iPhone 5, 5S, 5C, iPod Touch 5th Generation and iPod Nano 7th Generation - Black (Electronics)
I used for some time a Philips DS3020/05 Portable Docking Speaker for iPod/iPhone - White for my iPhone 4 so I have a good baseline.

The very good:
- when you turn it off it stops the music program in iPhone (Music.app or DJay) not just the sound
- when you put the iPhone in the connector, the dock does not turn on. It might seem counter-intuitive, but think that you are placing your i5 in the dock late at night. With the previous Phillips dock if I was sleepy (it is common late at night!) and forgot to turn OFF the dock after inserting the iPhone, the alarm in the morning would sound at FULL volume through the speakers of the dock, blasting in the quiet morning. So yes, it is a very good thing that the dock does not turn on automatically with the iPhone.
- the USB port in the back allows you to charge another iDevice (iPad in my case), or another device (e.g. Kindle)

The good:
- the sound is a good surround, the room is filled even in any direction. With previous Philips dock, it would blast the sound only forward.
- the footprint of the dock is smaller
- the 4 batteries are AAA, not AA. That makes a lighter dock to carry from one room to another.
- slick black
- the connector pivots forward and it is easy (easier than i4 with the 30 pin connector) to plug in the i5
- the sound is also played from the 30 pin USB cable from iPad through the USB port. Not very important for me, but a nice touch.
- the sound is exactly as you would expect from this size for a dock. It is crisp and there is also good bass. It fills a room but it won't be enough for a small party. There is virtually no distortion at maximum volume.

The bad:
- bulky charger
- no "audio in" cable in the box, but sound is played through the USB cable for iDevices
- the volume resets to default value every time you unplug and plug back the iPhone. Might be annoying, but it is better than starting at max volume.

Other comments related to previous review: it looks like a thin case might fit, but I do not use one so there is no problem for me. I also bought it from Tesco, even if I pre-ordered from Amazon, as it would have been delivered only after Christmas. Also, it was cheaper than on Amazon. Thanks for the idea!

1 YEAR UPDATE: I am downgrading this to 3* from 5 because:
- the lightning connector started recently breaking contact. It's not the phone's fault as other cables are fine, but at the slightest touch the connection stops and the music stops too
- there is a bug that appeared a while ago: the device would not start on battery power. it will work fine with batteries if I start it while plugged in, but that defies the portability design...

still god as a dock connector during the night and as a portable music speaker with a bit of fiddling...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars it doesn't work, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JBL OnBeat Micro Portable Speaker Dock with Lightning Connector and UK/EU Mains Adapter for iPhone 5, 5S, 5C, iPod Touch 5th Generation and iPod Nano 7th Generation - Black (Electronics)
This is one of the few times that I am writing a review about an item.
The unit has very solid build to it and it does look very nice, but it is not computable with iPhone 5 or 5s with latest 7.1 iOS the phone will recognise the unit but it will give you a message complaining that the cable is not certificated and may not function properly., and that's about it , the phone ill stay there doesn't charge and doesn't pass any audio through !
Funny part of the story is JBL customer service who recommend me to use the Aux cable to pass the audio through !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JBL OnBeat Micro Portable Speaker Dock with Lightning Connector and UK/EU Mains Adapter for iPhone 5, 5S, 5C, iPod Touch 5th Generation and iPod Nano 7th Generation - Black (Electronics)
Does what it say's on the box!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice unit with iPhone 5 lightning connector, 11 July 2014
By 
Malcolm Todd (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JBL OnBeat Micro Portable Speaker Dock with Lightning Connector and UK/EU Mains Adapter for iPhone 5, 5S, 5C, iPod Touch 5th Generation and iPod Nano 7th Generation - Black (Electronics)
Great sound quality, indeed very loud, so you will need to turn down the volume of the device. I use it for charging and playing music etc on my iPhone 5 and it's great, only slight disadvantage it that if like me, your phone is in a case you will need to take it out to attach it as there is no room in the connection aperture for anything but a thin cover. But to be honest this is a small complaint as everything else is of a good quality/spec
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD VALUE, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JBL OnBeat Micro Portable Speaker Dock with Lightning Connector and UK/EU Mains Adapter for iPhone 5, 5S, 5C, iPod Touch 5th Generation and iPod Nano 7th Generation - Black (Electronics)
Good value speakers, good sound and look good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews