Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andromeda Season 1 - Box Set
This is a fantastic collection, just brilliant. Kevin Sorbo has made the transition from Hercules to Cpt. Dylan Hunt with complete success. It still has the same humour which could be found in HLJ which is such a pleasure to watch. The other cast members are all fantastic and make this one of my favourite Sci-Fi hooked on TV programmes. Looking forward to box set 2.
Published on 11 Feb 2003 by MRS KAREN BATTYE

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Andromeda's best season but not a good bluray
First for the blu ray disks: As other reviewers said this is not a proper transfer to HD but rather an upscaled dvd as was Farscape. Unfortunately even as an upscaled dvd its not so good especially since Andromeda was a more recent show than Farscape. The colors are a little better and there is a little more detail but nothing more. So if you already have it in dvd my...
Published 5 months ago by Panagiotis Karatasios


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Andromeda looking and sounding better than ever before, 13 Aug 2014
By 
Nat Whilk (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thousands of years in the future, the Andromeda Ascendant, a vast, ancient interstellar warship, is discovered in orbit around a black hole. It's tugged to safety by a ramshackle salvage ship called the Eureka Maru. On board the Maru are Beka Valentine, a brilliant pilot; Seamus Harper, a motor-mouthed engineer with a brain to rival Einstein's; the Reverend Bem, a monstrous alien striving to live a life of holiness; Tyr Anasazi, a mercenary from a ruthless culture inspired by Nietzsche's Ubermensch; and the fey, mysterious Trance Gemini.

When this motley band recover Andromeda, they find that its captain, the High Guard officer Dylan Hunt, has survived its three centuries of gravitational imprisonment thanks to general relativistic time dilation. They explain to him that the Commonwealth that he once served has collapsed into a terrifying anarchy. He resolves that with the help of his accidental rescuers, his enormously powerful ship and the artificial intelligence that manages it, he'll try to rebuild intergalactic civilization.

If this all sounds a bit like Star Trek, it's not surprising - the show began in the imagination of Trek's Gene Roddenberry, and was developed by the very able Robert Hewitt Wolfe, an alumnus of the excellent Deep Space Nine. To me, Andromeda is Trek's bad-girl younger sister. It shares some of Trek's underlying seriousness, with its various characters exploring alternative philosophies of life: Beka's pragmatism, Dylan's heroism, Bem's spirituality, Tyr's Darwinian red-in-tooth-and-claw competitiveness...But it's more swashbuckling than Trek, with more conflict between its principals, more swagger, more laughter, more colour, more extravagance.

This isn't to say that Andromeda can match Trek for overall quality. It's much less consistent. The first season is good; the second, perhaps a shade better; the third, OK; the fourth, a touch disappointing; the fifth, really pretty dire. The trouble is that the show wasn't very good at hanging on to its assets, losing successively its finest writer and two of its finest actors. On the bright side, Andromeda at its best is engrossingly entertaining, and all in all, it offers plenty for space opera fans to enjoy. (Guest stars, by the way, include such well known genre names as John de Lancie, William B. Davis, Michael Shanks, Christopher Judge and James Marsters.)

I already own Andromeda on Region 1 DVD, so when Revelation began issuing the show on Blu-ray, I wasn't sure whether to shell out for it a second time. Seeing Seasons 1 and 2 reduced to £9.99, I thought I'd give the BDs a try. So far I've watched only the twenty-two episodes of the first season, but for what it's worth, I haven't experienced the judder or chapter repeat reported by D. Hutton, and the pictures are much better than I expected. No, the transformation is nothing like the miracle that CBS has achieved with its Trek BDs: it looks as though Revelation have been working with a video master rather than original celluloid. Captions on Blu-ray are actually blurrier than they are on DVD, and the sequences of low-budget CGI probably no better than their DVD counterparts. But to me, anyway, live action scenes look distinctly more pleasing on the new discs, with less noise, purer colours and cleaner edges. Also, the audio is now decent LPCM 5.1 instead of lossy Dolby Digital, and - no trivial matter to those of us whose homes are being taken over by video discs! - it's nice to be able to fit two whole seasons into a single inch of shelf space. To sum up, I'm more than happy that I gave these Blu-rays a chance, and I'll certainly be buying the Season 3 BDs which have been promised for later this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andromeda - Season 1 [UK DVD] (DVD)
Show is awesome, but thre are no subtitles and thats a only downside. Best show whit stargate sg1. Will by all seasons
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
See season 2 comment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andromeda - Season 1 [DVD] Review, 6 Aug 2009
By 
E. D. R. Jones "E.D.R.Jones" (UK. worcester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andromeda - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
To start off with this is one my favort buys of this year (2009) I give it 5 Star.

I wanted to watch a new Sci-serise other then star trek (which yes I do like but needed something different) so I picked Andromeda and alright it isn't as high detailed graphics but still awesome with, Action, Hot Babes, Humour, some Romance, and Adv,Weaponry. It was hard to get off the sofa and stop watching. Truly enjoyable.

Intro to Andromeda for those who don't know anything about it.

Andromeda is a High guard warship with Dilan Hunt (Kevin Sorbo)as its Captain. The first season takes off watching dilan run his every day duties as a high guard captain and how he ends up watching everything he loves and holds dear get wiped out in a pointless war and in the process losing 500 years his life to a black hole as he is forwarded in time to a future of disorder and mistrust. As if this wasn't bad enough, without a crew he recruits the mercenaries that salvaged his ship from the black hole. Dilen then decides to try rebuilding the Commonwealth and reuniting the galaxies once again. "On the Star ship Andromeda Hope lives again"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Andromeda, 8 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andromeda - Season 1 [UK DVD] (DVD)
Arrived earlier than predicted and in good order. I remember watching the series on late night TV but missed quite a few episodes. This first series has wetted my appetite for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug 2014
This review is from: Andromeda - Season 1 [UK DVD] (DVD)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andromeda - Season 1 [UK DVD] (DVD)
From the late Gene Roddenberry, creator of Star Trek, this is another cult programme- a must have for any sci-fi fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good!, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought that i'd give the series a go and i'm glad that I did because I have really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of this world and reach for the stars, 11 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. S. D. Halpern "Stuart D Halpern" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Andromeda - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The storyline the cast and the characters they portray, make this a series that could rival Star TrekStar Trek: Original Motion Picture Collection 1-6 [DVD] [1979].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Andromeda Season 1 DVD, 22 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Andromeda - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Very happy with my purchase, luckily I ordered it with plentey of time to spare, because it turned up later than expected. I have purchased the DVD for a friend of mine that lives else where in the world and hope he will enjoy it once I have delivered it.

Thank you very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Andromeda - Season 1 [UK DVD]
Andromeda - Season 1 [UK DVD] by Kevin Sorbo (DVD - 2013)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews