Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars349
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£4.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 January 2013
Firstly I don't care if this film is historically accurate...anyone who goes to see a film with 'Vampire Hunter' in the title expecting historical accuracy is an idiot in my opinion.
This is a great, absorbing, action-horror with some very clever interweaving of established historical facts. I found the entire film to be excellent entertainment from start to finish. I watched the 3D blu-ray and I can say that I was very impressed with the 3D - there's very little in the way of ghosting and the amount of depth perception is impressive. Thankfully, the director never goes for the 'Oooh, that's 3D' shot of things awkwardly being thrust towards the screen; instead favouring the technique of staging shots with a lot of fore, middle and background detail - although I will say that the burning embers during the train sequence really did seem to 'come out of the screen'.
All performances are strong, but of special note is Mary Elizabeth Winstead, who manages to make Mary Todd Lincoln a very sympathetic and rounded character despite her limited screen time - most notably during her breakdown when she slaps at Lincoln.
The vampires are, thankfully, of the horrific scary variety rather than the beautiful, glittery type and this film benefits greatly for that. Masses of teeth and bad skin are the norm for these vamps and I found them a joy to watch.
Having watched the film twice in as many days I can honestly say it's a really great piece of escapism and one to watch many time over. Is it going to tax your brain? Probably not; but it should entertain thoroughly!
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter is an odd mixture. From mayhem specialist Bekmambetov, I was expecting a silly but fun action drama set during Lincoln's youth. What I didn't expect was this decades-spanning effort which makes the odd decision to blend silly supernatural hijinks with serious historical fact - like crossing 'Buffy' with a historical biopic.
While it adds a distinct flavour of the unusual and gives the film some individuality, it also slows things down and grants it an odd, occasionally inappropriate feeling of mocking deadly serious historical events.
However, as the lead Benjamin Walker is capable, if a little bland. Dominic Cooper outshines him for charisma by a New York mile, and Rufus Sewell is deliciously evil as his vampiric nemesis.
The action is frequent, although oddly unimpressive in several scenes. However, the initial confrontation with a vampire, a visually extraordinary horseback pursuit, and an early face-off between the arch enemies are extremely impressive. While not as flat as similarly toned historical supernatural actioner 'Jonah Hex', and no classic, this is still a fun, and occasionally very cleverly written and entertaining film. Worth a watch.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2012
I have just watched this film. I thoroughly enjoyed it, it is very entertaining and full of action, from start to finish. OK, so it may not be very historically accurate and some liberties are taken with that, but the constant action more than compensates for that. It is reasonably violent and very gory, so young children should not be allowed to watch this film. The acting was generally very good and it flowed very well and did not drag at all. A lot of the action is produced with the help of a lot of CGI, but it was done very well and did not really look fake at all. I did not manage to see this film at the cinema, which I regret, but I am glad that I caught it on DVD. Four stars from me!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
I stumbled upon this film thinking it was Spielberg's Lincoln. Thankfully it was not. This film has greater emotive depth and tense action sequences than (I am told) Spielberg's Lincoln has.

I would say that this film is generally very realistic. The only place where it deviates a little from believability is when one of the vampires throws a horse at Abraham Lincoln. While I do not question the strength of the horse-throwing vampire, the physics of horse flight is probably not accurately portrayed.

I think the film will appeal to those who are not very pedantic and are willing to overlook slight inaccuracies in the trajectory of a horse that has just been thrown by a vampire.
55 comments|59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
Thoroughly enjoyable, totally barmy film! I watched this in 3D and the vampires certainly do leap out at you in their toothy gory glory, so do try to view in 3D if you can. The plot roughly follows Lincoln's life from a young boy up until his time as president, but there are plenty of deviations into the vampire-infested undergrowth along the way - this shouldn't work as the idea is totally barmy, but it is brilliantly done and a pleasure to watch. I enjoyed it far more than the likes of Van Helsing which I found quite dull by comparison.

Benjamin Walker was ok as Lincoln, but I think the role really needed someone with a bit more gravitas. His guide to the vampire world, Dominic Cooper, was very good, though and very convincing in his role. But Rufus Sewell stole the acting credits with his smouldering portrayal of the intensely evil and intimidating master vampire.

Well worth a watch - and I'm now looking forward to the next in the series, which could (should!) be "Winston Churchill - Vampire Hunter" in which Young Winston leads the Kaiser's vampires a merry dance in the years leading up to, and including WW1 ;-)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 11 December 2012
When young Abraham Lincoln angers a man (who happens to a vampire), the man takes his revenge by killing the boy's mother. Lincoln then dedicates his life to finding vampires and killing them with his silver-tipped ax.

I really enjoyed this movie. Yes, it's horrifically gory at times, but the clever mix of fantasy and true events is very well done and I couldn't wait to see what would happen next. We follow Lincoln from store clerk to the White House. The movie isn't playing for laughs, it's utterly serious. I actually found it more entertaining than Daniel Day-Lewis' "Lincoln."

The title had me expecting a cheesy, low-budget slasher, but the production values are high and the special effects are excellent. The acting is also very good; Benjamin Walker plays a convincing Lincoln and Rufus Sewell is truly menacing as his nemesis.

This is a surprising, clever story that includes just enough historical facts to make it almost plausible. A lot of blood, but still recommended.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
Some good graphics, and scenery, but the story line and flow is very poor.
At the end of it, I thought - what was the point behind that.
Watch it and make up your own mind.
Bought this one for the ultraviolet so that I could download it and watch it on my kindle fire - that bit was fine, but I've deleted it now because its not a film I would watch more than once.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Those bemoaning the death of films aimed at grownups were curiously silent over the fact that of 2012’s two films about Abraham Lincoln, it was the one about the political horse trading and infighting over the Thirteenth Amendment that excited audiences and pulled in the big bucks while the special effects-fuelled high concept supernatural action movie Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter crashed and burned. It’s one of the less surprising would-be blockbuster flops of recent years, though, taking an anarchic premise – that the Father of the Nation waged a lifelong acrobatic axe-wielding war against the living dead who used the southern slave trade as a cheap food supply – and treating it in such a po-faced fashion that there wasn’t nearly as much fun as the title promised, with moments like Rufus Sewell’s vampire master kicking Lincoln in the nuts few and far between.

What the film does offer is a surprising amount of spectacle, with Gettysburg being fought with Confederate vampires, and plenty of action, be it Honest Abe jumping from horse to horse in a stampeding herd in pursuit of the vampire who killed his mother or a rip-roaring climax aboard a runaway train besieged by the undead on a burning bridge. There’s some imagination in the despatching of its revenants and its reimagination of the causes of the Civil War, with director Timur Bemambetov getting an awful long of bang for his surprisingly modest buck while having fun with outlandish swooping camera moves and Benjamin Walker more convincing as the older president than the earnest young law student with a grudge and a silver-plated axe (Walker bearing an uncanny resemblance to a young Liam Neeson, who was originally lined up to star in Spielberg’s film), but it remains an okay timefiller rather than a future cult classic.

The Blu-ray offers a decent 2.40:1 widescreen transfer and extras package - 75-minute making of documentary, motion comic prequel, music video and writer's audio commentary.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
Looking for something that sucks harder than a Dyson?

You found it,
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
An excellent film, so now we know how the ' yanks ' beat the British to gain independence , and remain the biggest ' blood sucking ' nation on the planet .
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse