Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wry and funny... thoroughly enjoyable
Maisy is up against it - her family are driving her to distraction and life seems to be passing her by. But she responds with courage and humour, and a warmth that will appeal to anyone who's ever had to deal with the rough edges of life. A fresh new voice for older teens - Adrian Mole with bite.
Published 17 months ago by freebird

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Blog of Maisy Malone is a fun book that is easy to dip in and out of.
I love the intro to Maisy at the start of the book. You instantly know what kind of girl she is. Maisy remains true to her first impression; her blog entries are funny and build a vivid picture of her day to day life.

The Blog of Maisy Malone is a fun book that is easy to dip in and out of. The more I read the more I wanted to read. Personally I found the...
Published 15 months ago by lunaslittlelibrary


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wry and funny... thoroughly enjoyable, 12 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Blog of Maisy Malone (Kindle Edition)
Maisy is up against it - her family are driving her to distraction and life seems to be passing her by. But she responds with courage and humour, and a warmth that will appeal to anyone who's ever had to deal with the rough edges of life. A fresh new voice for older teens - Adrian Mole with bite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning book!!, 9 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blog of Maisy Malone (Kindle Edition)
This is the humorous story of the life of Maisy Malone a seventeen year old teenager with a mind of her own, and a chaotic family life; her parents have separated, her brother drives her nuts, and now her friend fancies her brother, she's only got her dog to keep her going. Her father likes a drink, and her mother lives in her own world, yet despite all this Maisy keeps the family going as best she can with humour, sarcasm and a good deal of ingenuity.

This is a really insightful and humorous look at Maisy's life. The author has created well rounded characters, and the story keeps flowing along with a great deal of wit, and that had me laughing out loud in parts.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book, I would certainly recommend it to others, and I look forward to reading much more of this author's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well written insight into teenage life, 22 Nov 2012
By 
Richard Brooks (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blog of Maisy Malone (Kindle Edition)
Well Eve, I didn't realise you were such a good writer. I bought the book because I know Eve and was intrigued as to what she would write about. The parallels with real life and the way she weaves this into fiction are amazing. Almost every page of the book will leave you thinking - Yep, I know someone like that or maybe even worse - Good grief, that could be me! For any teenage girl this book will make you realise you aren't the only person in life that crap happens to. For every mother - this is what your daughter is up to. For the rest of the family - well read it yourselves and find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hope Springs Eventually..., 8 Nov 2012
By 
Kit Foster (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blog of Maisy Malone (Kindle Edition)
Maisy is seventeen, out of school, out of money and apparently out of luck. Her mother has left the house, her father is present only in drunken spirit and her dog is always ill. And then life manages to take a seeming downswing; with the return of her detested brother. But with caustic wit and perseverance, Maisy holds it together through a series of revelations to find family redemption and a future that is beginning to glow. A lovely, warm-hearted parable of modern times for young adults, resting on the certainty that things are rarely as bleak as you might think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comical, captivating and endearing, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blog of Maisy Malone (Kindle Edition)
Being an old adult I have never read any young adult literature (the genre didn't even exist when I was a YA) but one of the good things about Kindle is that low prices mean you can venture into areas of literature that you normally wouldn't think of. I was tempted to read this one because I have very little contact with teenagers, hardly ever watch anything on BBC3 and wanted to take a peek into 'young adult' life.
The story bowls along with verve and vigour. Refreshingly, and unlike many of the novels uploaded onto Amazon these days, it is also well-written from a language point of view. At the same time the author appears to be comfortable with blogese and the teenage style of banter; I don't know how old Ainsworth is but she does a convincing job of ventriloquising a seventeen-year-old. The characters are endearing, even if some of them are more in the style of Daisy and Onslow in Keeping Up Appearances, and on a more serious note, the action takes in some actual news events, such as the 2011 riots. A comical and captivating read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's tough being a teenager, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blog of Maisy Malone (Kindle Edition)
Teenage is probably the hardest time of anyone's life, so it's just as well to have the kind of wry humour that Maisie shows. Her struggles with life (and her hilarious but grim family) are a lot of fun, but will really get you sympathising and rooting for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WITTY LIVELY READ, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blog of Maisy Malone (Kindle Edition)
The Malone family are driving Maisy to distraction, so, Maisy, a very modern girl, reveals all in her hugely entertaining blog. Witty and insightful in a way that reminds me of Adrian Mole, Eve Ainsworth's debut novel is a fast-moving yet warm-hearted read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blog of Maisy Malone (Kindle Edition)
i wasnt sure whether i'd like the blog style of writing but so glad i down-loaded it and gave it a chance. This book had me tittering all the way through, i loved dave the dog and his troublesome bum and loved how the identity of 007 was kept a secret till the end. I'm a more mature reader and thought this book might have been geared to a more younger reader but on reflection would recommend it to all age groups. well written and very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maisy Malone, 7 Jan 2013
By 
Joo "kuforum" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Blog of Maisy Malone (Kindle Edition)
Maisy Malone's prospects for 2011 don't seem very good. She's 17, left school with barely any qualifications and lives with her dad and old dog but doesn't see her dad much as he's always down the pub. So she starts a blog.

The book is set up as Maisy's blog posts including her friends comments to each day's musings. Once you get the hang of this concept, it reads well.

It's a little bit juvenile as Maisy is only 17, but with her responsibilities, she's quite weary with her life. She's a good kid who has grown up too quickly. She is the one responsible for putting food on the table (and in the dog's bowl) as her dad spends his dole money down the pub.

At times I felt weary for her, but there are many light comic moments, usually with her Nanna and also with each new temp job she gets.

This book takes a bit of time to get going, but once I found my stride I didn't want to put it down. I really enjoyed Maisy's 2011 and would like to know how things panned out for her in 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Blog of Maisy Malone is a fun book that is easy to dip in and out of., 4 Jan 2013
I love the intro to Maisy at the start of the book. You instantly know what kind of girl she is. Maisy remains true to her first impression; her blog entries are funny and build a vivid picture of her day to day life.

The Blog of Maisy Malone is a fun book that is easy to dip in and out of. The more I read the more I wanted to read. Personally I found the ending a little neat but was happy that Maisy was happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb56e9bd0)

This product

The Blog of Maisy Malone
The Blog of Maisy Malone by Eve Ainsworth
1.86
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews