Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

After Mois Benarroch's informative review I thought it would be good to know what's on the album set.
8 Classic Albums on 4 CDs is good but the CDs themselves do not actually indicate which Albums are on them
So here is the track listing with Albums.
When I wrote this 'review' Amazon had not provided a track listing.
BUT the great news is that there is now a volume Two too

Here's a link to it
7 Classic Albums Volume 2 [Audio CD] Oscar Peterson

I hope this helps?
The Jazz Soul of Oscar Peterson (1959):
1 Liza (All the Clouds'll Roll Away)
2 Con Alma
3 Close Your Eyes
4 The Maidens Of Cadiz
5 My Heart Stood Still
Plays The Duke Ellington Song Book (1959):
6 Cotton Tail Ellington 3:24
7 Just A-Sittin' and A-Rockin' Ellington, Gaines, Strayhorn 3:01
8 Take the "A" Train Strayhorn 3:16
9 John Hardy's Wife Ellington 3:45
10 Sophisticated Lady Ellington, Mills, Parish 3:09
11 Don't Get Around Much Anymore Ellington, Russell 3:17
12 Rockin' in Rhythm Carney, Ellington, Mills 3:19
13 Prelude to a Kiss Ellington, Gordon, Mills 3:53
14 In a Mellow Tone Ellington, Gabler 4:00
15 Things Ain't What They Used to Be Ellington, Persons 3:19
16 I Got It Bad (And That Ain'tGood) Ellington, Webster 2:56
17 Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me Ellington, Russell 3:01
Plays The George Gershwin Song Book (1959):
1 It Ain't Necessarily So
2 The Man I Love
3 Love Walked In
4 I Was Doing All Right
5 A Foggy Day
6 Oh, Lady Be Good
7 Love Is Here to Stay
8 They All Laughed
9 Let's Call the Whole Thing Off
10 Summertime
11 Nice Work If You Can Get It
12 Shall We Dance?
Plays The Harold Arlen Song Book (1959):
13 As Long As I Live
14 Come Rain Or Come Shine
15 Ac-Cent-Tchu-Are The Positive
16 Between The Devil and the Deep Blue Sea
17 I've Got Got The World On A String
18 That Old Black Magic
19 Lets Fall In Love
20 Stormy Weather
21 Over The Rainbow
22 Happiness Is A Thing Called Joe
23 The Man That Got Away
24 Ill Wind
Plays The Jerome Kern Song Book (1959):
1 I Won't Dance 2:32
2 Bill 2:58
3 The Song Is You 3:04
4 A Fine Romance 3:09
5 Can't Help Lovin' Dat Man 2:45
6 Ol' Man River 2:38
7 Long Ago (And Far Away) 2:35
8 Lovely to Look at You 2:48
9 Pick Yourself Up 2:12
10 Smoke Gets in Your Eyes 2:49
11 The Way You Look Tonight 3:41
12 Yesterdays 3:17
Plays The Cole Porter Song Book (1959):
13 In the Still of the Night Parris, Porter 2:49
14 It's All Right With Me Porter 2:51
15 Love for Sale Porter 3:26
16 Just One of Those Things Porter 2:21
17 I've Got You Under My Skin Porter 2:47
18 Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye Porter 2:17
19 Night and Day Porter 2:30
20 Easy to Love Porter 2:34
21 Why Can't You Behave? Porter 2:58
22 I Love Paris Porter 2:09
23 I Concentrate on You Porter 3:08
24 It's De-Lovely Porter 2:28
Plays Porgy and Bess (1959):
1 I Got Plenty O' Nuttin' 6:26
2 I Wants to Stay Here 6:22
3 Summertime 3:50
4 Oh Dey's So Fresh an' Fine (Strawberry Woman) 0:55
5 Oh, Lawd, I'm on My Way! 2:35
6 It Ain't Necessarily So 4:01
7 There's a Boat Dat's Leavin'Soon for New York 7:13
8 Oh Bess, Oh Where's My Bess? 4:56
9 Here Come de Honey Man 1:11
10 Bess, You Is My Woman Now 3:28
A Jazz Portrait of Frank Sinatra (1959):
11 You Make Me Feel So Young 2:40
12 Come Dance with Me 2:22
13 Learnin' the Blues 3:41
14 Witchcraft 3:12
15 The Tender Trap 2:44
16 Saturday Night (Is the Loneliest Night in the Week) 2:57
17 Just in Time 1:53
18 It Happened in Monterey 2:57
19 I Get a Kick Out of You 3:03
20 All of Me 3:25
21 Birth of the Blues 2:38
22 How About You? 3:11
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Real Gone Jazz have come with a great idea, take 8 albums, squeeze them into 4 cd's running 60-80 minutes of music and sell them for a budget price. Since the 50's recordings have become public domain then you can do it by recording the cd's from vinyls. So far so good, and I would buy many of these sets, actually I was in a crazy buying mood until I noticed that some discs skip. Or worse, in the case of this set, in track 22 of cd 4, it sounds as if the stylus has gathered dust and no one noticed. Add to it that the boxed sets are of very poor quality and they break in the post, and well, you get what you pay for, if it costs you 5-6 UKP(as some sellers sell these sets) then you'll just enjoy what there is to enjoy (and classic or not classic there is a lot to enjoy). I also found skips on the Wes Montgomerry8 Classic Albums set and the Thelonious Monk8 Classic Albums that I reviewed very positively. Mostly the skips and bad sounds come at the end of one of the cd's, after minute 70. Don't know if it means something. For now I have decided to stop buying these sets until I hear more from reviewers and the label pays some attention to the music and fixes the problems.
44 comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
Good showcase of his talent.Especially enjoyed his Porgy & Bess Selection.This is a woderful value Collection for your library .Buy it !!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
It's a good selection of Oscar Peterson tracks, but the sound quality isn't brilliant. However It's all you can expect given the era of recording.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
Really good sounding PD box set. Real Gone Jazz does some very well done remastering!
I am going to buy more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)