Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars V-MODA M100 Stereo Headphone Review by Dale (updated 10 Dec 2013)
Sources: iPhone5 alone, iPhone5 with Decware Zen Head amp via LOD, iPhone5 with v-moda Verza DAC/amp, various computers using the Microstreamer DAC/amp.

First impression of the V-MODA M100: Bass! The kind you don't have to quibble about. It's there in abundance for any conceivable need you might have. That aside, I see this M100 as 2 headphones in one (a...
Published 9 months ago by Dale Thorn

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warm, Inconsistant, Dull but Fun at the same time! Read on!
I have heard over 10 different sets of these headphones and about 3 of the 10 have a different signature!

The first set I own was warm, bassy with mids that sounded like they where coming through a tube! They didn't sound balanced and the treble was rolled off creating loss of detail! Now I've heard a few people have thus experience mostly when the headphones...
Published 7 months ago by Ryanr1987


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for Electronic Dance Music, Used with EQ to sound great with any music., 1 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. M. Grift - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Basically they sound great compared to my old Sennheiser HD212pro (clearer with more bass) and if used with audio control and EQ you can get the sound as you like it, but for EDM music they are great with no changes.

If you prefer the Dr Dre beats fat bass you can get that with a deep bass setting, if you have it on your PC/Mobile audio control like I do. Its all personal preference anyway but I listen to loads of music so didn't want to have that fat bass all the time.

With metal the bass is too much so EQ +1db 50hz, -2db 100hz, 0db 1khz, +3db 5-16khz and it sounds awesome.

Pros
Look and feel
Sound great with EDM
EQ and sounds great with any music
Great attenuation of ambient noise
Appears very durable and it is very flexible
Great design and cable/accessory functionality
Compact

Cons:
Very tight fit (and thus gives great attenuation) and can get some time to get use to.
Ear cups are shallow so the inner cover touches your ears lightly (upgrade to thicker ear pads to fix this)
Not very comfortable around the neck unless you keep your chin straight/up
Does not have that fat dr dre bass if thats what your into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars V-MODA M100 Stereo Headphone Review by Dale (updated 10 Dec 2013), 20 Oct 2013
By 
Dale Thorn (Seal Beach CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: V-Moda Crossfade M-100 Over-Ear Noise-Isolating Metal Headphones - Matte Black (Electronics)
Sources: iPhone5 alone, iPhone5 with Decware Zen Head amp via LOD, iPhone5 with v-moda Verza DAC/amp, various computers using the Microstreamer DAC/amp.

First impression of the V-MODA M100: Bass! The kind you don't have to quibble about. It's there in abundance for any conceivable need you might have. That aside, I see this M100 as 2 headphones in one (a bargain BTW) - the extra-bass model for gaming, TV action film, house and other bass-centric music, and the hi-fi model (using bass reduction) for symphonies, folk and acoustic, jazz, rock/pop/metal, and other such delicate genres. Unless otherwise noted, all comments below apply to the M100 using bass reduction, since I listen to music in quiet places mainly, and my tastes are mostly midrange-centric.

The M100's sound is slightly dark, having 1-2 db less output in the presence area around 3-5 khz and more output in the upper bass than many other full-size headphones (ex: Beyer COP, B&O H6, Senn MOE). Some of the other dark-sounding headphones I have don't compete with the M100, because they don't have the clarity and accuracy of musical tone that comes with the higher quality drivers and manufacturing standards that the M100 benefits from. Despite the impression of 'dark', the overall sound is quite lush, and very smooth from top to bottom. Although I stated above that all of the comments from here down apply to using bass reduction with the M100, I must repeat here that with bass reduction on, the bass is as strong as any good hi-fi headphone that has good bass. Some of the so-called 'neutral' headphones will have bass that's significantly weaker than the M100 even when the M100 bass is reduced, so I think the concept of hi-fi neutral is overdue for a revision.

Some reviews I've read describe the M100's midrange as recessed, but of course that's with the default bass as I noted above. How you perceive the midrange depends a lot on where you play the M100. Outdoors, on public transport, in a noisy club - those environments tend to absorb most of the bass, so the M100 should be ideal in those cases when played flat (no EQ). Listening at home late at night when it's very quiet is where you'll hear the most detail, since the background noise level can be 30 or more db lower than outdoors in the daytime, and even a lot lower than the indoor daytime noise level. In summary, excellent sound for high fidelity music playback, if you follow my reasoning. Soundstage is mostly dependent on the music of course, but frequency balance plays a large role as well - since most reviewers are adamant about not using EQ, when they evaluate the M100 in their very quiet listening locations, the strong bass makes the midrange seem more distant, hence the soundstage follows from there.

Isolation seems quite good, but most isolation is at the higher frequencies, so loud noises from air conditioners or dishwashers etc. may intrude if your music is soft and quiet. Leakage is low, but if you're in a very quiet office in a cubicle right next to other cubicles and you play your music loud, someone in the next cube may hear your music faintly, and some people are bothered by the least bit of leakage that way. It's very doubtful that leakage from the M100 would be noticeable to anyone on a noisy bus, train, or plane.

My first M100 was pearl white, and this one is matte black. The sound seems about the same a year after the first one I had, and the fit is very similar also. But just in case I had the impression of a tight fit with my first M100, this current M100 is ultra-comfortable - so much so that I'm wearing it for hours at a time with no adjustments. The sound is so good (as described above) that I'm enjoying classical, jazz, electronic, rock, and other genres of music like never before - everything from Daft Punk, David Chesky, and David Lynch sounds just as spectacular as Michael Buble, Korn, and Miles Davis.

The M100 in matte black (my color choice) is beautiful, and its military-gear stealth look is not only very classy, it doesn't tend to show dirt and grime. The military-grade look isn't just superficial though - the build quality is the best in the headphone business - all metal and perfectly finished, but not heavy on the head. At the time I purchased the M100, an extra set of metal earcup side plates was offered, with choice of color and even a custom logo. Those custom plates aren't expensive and they can be attached or detached at any time, so if the headphone is transferred to another person that person can use the standard side plates instead. Headband clamping force with the M100 is very moderate for a full-size headphone, and if the headband were ever to become uncomfortable on top of a user's head, I suggest pulling the earcups down an extra click so most of the weight is borne by the earcups.

The earpads go completely around my ears, unlike some headphones that are described as circumaural (around the ear). The Sennheiser Momentum is one such headphone where the earpads sit partially on my average-size ears. The earpads are very soft and spongy, covered in 'pleather' I would guess, and are the most comfortable type of earpad I've used. The M100 has a single-sided detachable cable that can be plugged into either the left or right earcup. The fabric-covered cable is terminated with a 45-degree angled Apple miniplug, and the end that goes into the earcup is a standard (non-Apple) miniplug. In case of cable failure, any generic miniplug to miniplug cable could be used, as long as the sleeve ahead of the plug that goes into the earcup is no bigger than 7mm in diameter.

The 4-foot cable has a one-button control with mic about 13 inches down from the earcup, and an additional mic about 4 inches down from the earcup. A second (7-foot) cable is included, having the same plugs as the 4-foot cable, but no controls or microphone. The 7-foot cable also has a short (3.5 inches) extension on the end in a 'Y' configuration, where you can plug a second headphone in. I didn't try it, but I wonder what the effect on the sound would be if you plugged two 18-ohm headphones into a music player using this cable. It seems like that would create a 9-ohm load for the music player, or even less if the minimum impedance of the headphones were less than 18 ohms. The M100 comes with a small zippered carrycase that's suitable for backpacks and airline carry-on bags.

In previous reviews I've included the following music examples with comments about how the headphones sound with each track. My suggestion is instead of reading each one as an absolute unto itself, you could compare my notes here to those other reviews and see how the M100 compares with each individual track. Note that the comments below apply to the M100's sound played with Bass Reducer EQ as noted above.

Animotion - Obsession (1980's New Wave/Techno): The upper bass synth has good detail and tone, and both male and female vocals sound natural, without favoring either. The M100 plays this perfectly.

Ben Heit Quartet - Suite-Magnet and Iron (Jazz with a Bebop flavor): The piano that leads off sounds realistic, and the sax is soft. The M100 plays this music extremely well.

Cath Carroll - Moves Like You (1980's New Wave/Techno): This track's percussion and voice is crisp and well-balanced, and there's a good sense of space or soundstage around the voices and instruments. The M100 reproduces the space and detail convincingly, although if this is played very loudly the percussion may be too bright.

Chromatics - I'm On Fire (Synth-Pop, female lead): Another track with plenty of space around the voice and instruments. The voice and high-frequency percussion (tambourine especially) sounds natural with no harshness. The M100 plays this music perfectly.

Crystal Castles - Wrath of God (Electro-Pop): The moderate level of bass in this track has good detail, and the ambient electronic effects maintain their separation and never congeal into a glassy, hard, or "ringy" sound as some headphones do if they have uncorrected resonances. The M100 plays this track just right.

DJ Shadow - Building Steam With a Grain of Salt (Electronic/DJ): This track opens with what sounds like very high and very low piano notes, and those high notes particularly might ring a few resonances in lesser headphones. The M100 handles those notes well, and reproduces the ambient voices with good tone and balance.

Franz Ferdinand - Ulysses (Pop-Rock): The moderate level of bass in this track has good detail, and the percussion and voice are crisp and well-balanced. The M100 makes this sound like what I imagine the original producers heard when they mixed it.

Halie Loren - Sway (Jazz vocal): Bass instrument(s) here may sound boomy with some headphones, but the M100 handles this perfectly. The trumpet sounds natural but soft, and the voice has the right presence without sounding recessed or too forward. The M100 does a great job in both respects.

Hans Zimmer - Dark Knight-Aggressive Expansion (Soundtrack): The percussion hits hard here, and the M100 handles it well. The bass tones beginning around 0:45 into the track are the ultra-deep "shuddery" kind that require good deep bass response from a headphone, and the M100 delivers on those.

Kaskade - 4am (Electro-House): The bass that kicks in around 1:01 into the track is subtle, but the M100 gets it right. The percussion and female voice balance well with neither overwriting the other. The M100 aces this.

Katy B - Perfect Stranger (R&B-House-Garage): The heavy bass that begins at 0:27 into this track is played very well by the M100. The voice is slightly forward, but it doesn't overpower the instruments or get lost in the mix. The M100 balances the different elements in this music extremely well.

Machine Gun Kelly - All We Have (Rap/Hip-Hop): The heavy bass beats that begin at 0:23 into the track sound like drum impacts, although they're not sharp impacts. The male and female voices have a good balance and don't overpower the music or sound recessed. The M100 plays this as good as can be expected given the limited quality of the recording.

Massive Attack - Angel (Trip-Hop): This track begins with a steady low-frequency sound and some solid deep-bass impacts. The voices blend well with the music and have just the right presence, although the recorded quality of the instruments isn't great. The M100 plays this very well given the limited quality of the recording.

Morcheeba - Bullet Proof (Trip-Hop): Bright percussion and medium-strength bass impacts make up most of this, with some dance-club spoken intonations thrown in. The M100 renders the percussion treble correctly (bright, but not harsh), and the voices sound just right.

Peter Tosh - Get Up Stand Up (Reggae): The bass here has a decent but moderate impact, and the lead and backup voices have good separation that's not too narrow or wide. The M100 renders the bass with good detail and the voices sound very natural.

Porcupine Tree - Trains (Pop-Rock): This track opens with some detailed string sounds and a forward-sounding male voice with a higher-than-average register. There are also some "clip-clop" effects starting at 3:19 that should sound like they were made with wooden blocks of some kind. The M100 reproduces all of these sounds faithfully.

Rachmaninoff - Prelude in C-Sharp Minor Op3 No2 (Classical, Piano): Grand piano played mechanically from an original recording by the master himself. The bass is light here, but the piano tone is good quality. The M100 plays this track very well.

Scarlatti-Kipnis - Sonata in E Major K381 (Classical, Harpsichord): The harpsichord here is fairly bright and highly detailed, and the M100 renders the tones and transients superbly.

Trombone Shorty - Backatown (Jazz-Funk): The deep bass impacts here are unusually strong, and work very well with the horns and other instruments. The M100 delivers the impacts with proper weight, and makes the horns sound real.

William Orbit - Optical Illusion (Billy Buttons Mix) (Electronic): This is about as close as I want to get to easy-listening music. The string tones beginning at 0:18 are subtle, but clearly reproduced by the M100. The bass isn't very strong, but still adds a good underpinning to the music. The short poetic rap at 4:14, preceded by an etherial female voice, sounds so perfect that this track could easily have been mixed using the M100 headphone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommend with upgrade, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V-Moda Crossfade M-100 Over-Ear Noise-Isolating Metal Headphones - Matte Black (Electronics)
At first use I was impressed with the sound quality, but after about 20-30 minutes use a slight irritation occurred that lead to great discomfort after about 50 minutes while wearing with glasses( without glasses around 1hour and a bit more and the discomfort would kick in). Being curious as to any way to improve this, I searched the web and found (after a while of searching, surprised now that it was not recommended more) that v Moda actually sold XL replacement pads for the m-100s. These were not available on Amazon as they are quite new, so I had to send off to v moda in Los Angeles for the XL pads. After 13 days the new pads arrived (spent around $20 plus $30 postage for these for 6-10 business days delivery once received by USPS) and now the headphones are comfortable even after many hours of use in a row. Therefore an eventual 5 star. Ps the pads are really easy to replace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sound investment!, 15 Jan 2014
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: V-Moda Crossfade M-100 Over-Ear Noise-Isolating Metal Headphones - Matte Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
These headphones aren't the funkiest looking, they don't have glowing lights or uber-modern styling designed to catch the eye, they look ultilitarian - they are built for a purpose. They are built for sound.

When you use these for the first time, the first thing you notice is the level of bass, it's so much richer than other headphones I've used and obviously worlds away from the little earphones I tend to use when on the bus. Once you get over the quality of sound you then realise how excellent the noise cancellation - all that exists is you and the music, and ultimately that's what any audiophile wants. Noise cancellation isn't the best I've experienced and when no music plays you can still hear the outside world (though only just), but the level of noise blocking is enough to ensure there is no distraction. In addition to noise coming in, these are incredibly effective at preventing noise-bleed, the other passengers on the bus won't be able to hear your Abba Gold marathon.

The build quality of these headphones is excellent, apparently they are tested to military standards and I don't doubt it. They feel incredibly strong - I have complete faith that these will endure heavy knocks and outlive most other headphones, once you have these - you'll have them for years. The product description tells you about the 2 cables this is bundled with, I've not used the mic much but it seemed to work fine. The cables are made of a tangle free material (similar to some earphones I have) and it is surprisingly effective.

In a nutshell: These are the best sounding headphones I have ever used. They are also incredibly light while also feeling very sturdy. They may be pricy compared to some other sets out there, but you'll still be enjoying these in a decades time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first time I have ever splashed out on headphones and I am blown away. I haven't put them down; everything sounds better through them.

Given that they aren't noise cancelling, I was pleasantly surprised by how much I can't hear my girlfriend.

In terms of looks, they are actually less obtrusive than I was expecting. I think that the marketing material makes them look bulky, but that isn't the case. They even got approval from the girlfriend for wearing out...apparently I "don't look like a total d**k". So that's nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best I have ever had, 10 Jun 2014
This review is from: V-Moda Crossfade M-100 Over-Ear Noise-Isolating Metal Headphones - Matte Black (Electronics)
The sound, durability, design, detail :D Not having to worry about them, when you throw them in your bag - with or without the case.
They can get a bit irritating, if you wear then for hours, but then I typically adjust them a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a bassheads delight, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a headphone like no other, good looking, deep clean bass, portable, decent soundstage, good amount of detail (especially with the bass reducer turned on)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just great headphones, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V-Moda Crossfade M-100 Over-Ear Noise-Isolating Metal Headphones - Matte Black (Electronics)
I was choosing between the Sennheiser Momentum and the M-100. What turned over to the V-Moda side was the fact that they IMHO look better, are more portable and deliver that little extra bas that I like. They sound great and produce a good sound pressure even with portable devices. My old Pacemaker Portable DJ unit with 103dB output and the M-100's has given listening to music a new meaning to me!

The only sad thing is that when trying to warranty register on V-Modas home page this turns out to be impossible. Their system claims that the registration code has already been used. Attempts to communicate with V-Moda via mail failed. I also tried on Facebook, but the replies I have received are bossy and in the line of "Learn to live with it, stupid"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than Beats, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V-Moda Crossfade M-100 Over-Ear Noise-Isolating Metal Headphones - Matte Black (Electronics)
These are great headphones, sound quality is second to none and they are not only built to last but are very comfortable on the head for long periods of time! The only real downfall of these headphones is if you like wearing them as a fashion accessory around your neck, they're a bit to bulky although the don't look big on you head!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE DADDY!!, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a sound, these headphones are just amazing!!! They look amazing, sound amazing, yes they are truly amazing!!! They have the price tag to match the quality, fit great and are comfortable even with prolong use. Deep bass, crisp mid range and popping highs! They need to bed in a bit with some light use, don't just turn them up to 11 until a few hours of use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews