Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars14
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2013
I own more cook books than I can count and have become jaded by the lack of creativity and originality in many of the baking/cake books being published.
This book is a breath of fresh air! Not since Karen Krasne's 'extraordinary cakes' have I been as excited by a new publication.
This has innovative recipes and techniques that Inspire. The cakes are stunning and very different to the norm!Some recipes are challenging, however the instructions given are very clear with easy to follow steps with fantastic tips.
I have made the tirimusu cake and it tastes as fantastic as it looks.
A superb book. Thank you for making it available on the kindle, as I do not have any more space for another cook book! I only wish more baking books were available on the kindle for this reason.
11 comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
There are several projects to try for the baking enthusiast - some recipes are quite easy whilst others require more attention. For me there could have been more photos but the look of the book in general is very good and there are some new techniques to try.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
Very disappointed with this book. I had high hopes for it, but there is a real lack of photographs of the finished article and the photos that are there, are not very good.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
I bought this for my wife as she is cake made but she tells me that she was slightly disappointed with it because it seemed to have a lot of recipes with nuts or nut flavouring - very German. It is well written and visually good. She particularly liked a description of putting a cake together and she loves the photo on the front cover. It came well packaged albeit later than anticipated but then again it was ordered before the release date.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
Just bought this book and having looked at all the recipees I am quite disapointed. the book is american and some of the ingredients are clearly American but the most annoying part for me is how many eggs are used in each recipee. One cakle calls for 8 eggs for one part of the cake, 8 eggs for another part and 15, yes that is 15 egg whites for the buttercream. Another recipee needs a total of 7 eggs, 20 egg yolks and 5 egg whites. This is a hell of a lot of eggs for most of the recipees. I was hoping for a book that could be used to make a special cake but the cost of ingredients will make it not to be used very often. I have not tried to make any of the cakes yet but most of them have a lot of stages to them and cannot be made very quickly. I would say, definately not a book for a beginner but for anyone who likes a challenge, maybe, if you can afford the ingredients.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
Had some fantastic recipes and designs for cakes so was very impressed, needed to have a few more recipes to make it more outstanding. When you buy a book like this you are expecting it to have new creations to copy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
Lovely cakes, and easy to follow recipes, i have already recomended this book to family and friends. Are there anymore of her books available ?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2015
Beautiful book & full of promise - but - there is a loose sheet inside the front cover listing 15 to 20 printing errors relating to recipes & quantities.......Not impressive, or reassuring. How many more might there be that have not been spotted/noted? Have only ever seen the very occasional one or two in other books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
This book is intresting as it gives you a whole new idea about your baking so it's not all the same. This is a great book for someone who wants to create something different, something that will make people sit up and take note. Was glad I got this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
Lovely book, great recipes (albeit American weights and terminology!!) Very good ideas for some showstopper cakes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)