Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pomodoro technique made easy, 31 Jan 2011
The pomodoro technique enthusiasts will make a great point by telling you that it's very simple to just start using it right away - all you need is some paper, a pencil and a timer of some sort (with an alarm). That is true - but before getting there, first of all you need to make sure that the technique is right for you. And if it is right, you need a good level of enthusiasm to keep you motivated to put the effort into using it, before it becomes part of your daily routine.

That's what this book does, and does it great - it's a fun, engaging, easy to understand presentation of the pomodoro technique. The book is short (you can read it all at once, like I did) yet comprehensive - it will give you all you need to start using the technique right away and be productive. Even more, it will fire you up - it will make you believe in your potential and in what you can achieve one pomodoro at a time.

I've read the book more than a year ago and I've been using the pomodoro technique, on a daily basis, ever since.

Finally, for the pomodoro beginners - keep an open mind when it comes to metrics. Staffan puts a lot of emphasis on measuring interruptions - me on the other hand, I'm more interested in other metrics to improve my productivity, such as number of completed pomodoros vs. voided pomodoros, productivity (no. of completed pomodoros) per day / day of week / week / month, number of pomodoros per period of day, etc. So pick the metrics that make YOU curious, and that help YOU improve your workflow and become more productive.

I recommend this book as being better than the original pomodoro book - it's a must read if you're considering trying the pomodoro technique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short, simple and highly effective, 24 May 2010
By 
John Holcroft (Woking, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The pomodoro technique is simple and highly effective. I learnt it from this book and it has greatly improved my productivity. The basics of the technique are very simple: choose something to do, set a timer for 25 minutes, do that thing and nothing else until the timer goes off. When the timer goes off, stop what you are doing, take a break that doesn't involve any mental activity for a few minutes, repeat.

Of course there is more to it than that. Along with the more detailed mechanics there are notes on why you need it, how to plan your day and analyse your performance at the end of the day. How to deal with the many and varied interruptions both of our own making and of others that make this technique both initially difficult and rewarding as you cope with them. Finally how to adapt it to your own needs and how to use it when working with others, say if pair programming.

This book is short and easy to read. The top third of every page is taken up with one of Staffan's very nice hand drawn pictures and the text is simple and succinct. I've really enjoyed other books on the 'Pragmatic Bookshelf' such as 'Practices of an Agile Developer' and 'Ship It!', and this is a great addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 14 Jan 2010
By 
Ginsberg Robert "Rho" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great book that really helps you to become more efficient in your daily life! The technique is also easy to learn and use. This is also a great help for your kids finishing their home work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this stuff works!, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pomodoro Technique Illustrated (Pragmatic Life) (Kindle Edition)
Wasn't sure what to expect when I started reading this but, straight away, it had a massive impact on my ability o get stuff done. This has changed the way I work, forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice introduction, 14 Aug 2010
The most important recommendation in the book is probably to integrate the Pomodoro Technique with Getting Things Done (GTD). Otherwise it is a nice read, lots of advice of different kind, but in order to really understand the depth of the Pomodoror Technique it is necessary to read the book by Cirillo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pomodoro Technique Illustrated (Pragmatic Life) (Kindle Edition)
Very good, an easy read and an effective technique. I'm using the technique to reduce procrastination, improve planning and passed it to my kids to help with their revision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well packaged item and at a good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews