Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable
I enjoyed reading this story about a former samurai warrior who falls in love with a farmer's poor widow in japan in the 1870s. Despite the differences in their social stature they share a special bond. The story is quite simply written with, regrettably, a few americanisms thrown in but it is very engaging and you come to care quite quickly about what will become of the...
Published 3 months ago by saavikam

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An ok read
I like books set in Japan and have read quite a lot of them. This one touches on traditional Japanese culture but the storyline is predictable and quite unexciting in my opinion.
Published 9 months ago by t1a1c1h


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable, 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Samurai's Garden (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading this story about a former samurai warrior who falls in love with a farmer's poor widow in japan in the 1870s. Despite the differences in their social stature they share a special bond. The story is quite simply written with, regrettably, a few americanisms thrown in but it is very engaging and you come to care quite quickly about what will become of the couple and the other characters. It is not a great literary work but it is a lovely story, quite well told and I will certainly read more of the author's work. Really nothing bad to say about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Set at the start of the Meiji period of Japan ..., 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Samurai's Garden (Kindle Edition)
Set at the start of the Meiji period of Japan when the samurai were being disbanded and forced to give up their swords, Hiro goes to Hokkaido to start a new life. He meets Hanako a farmer whose husband has been killed by ronins.
The description of rural Japan and the life in these difficult times is moving. A whole different culture for Hiro too who has to learn to live off the land.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pleasant and soothing read, 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Samurai's Garden (Kindle Edition)
A simple and quick read with lots of emotion and vibrancy in the storyline, you just want to keep on reading. I'd recommend this book to anyone who likes happy endings and simple love stories. There is intrigue, excitement as the story takes you on a journey and at every turn you wonder what is going to happen next. A feel good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully written read, 2 May 2014
By 
K. Gardner "wrac (geiko wannabe)" (Bovington, Dorset, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Samurai's Garden (Kindle Edition)
A lone samurai looking for a purpose finds one in the home of a simple poor farmers daughter. Beautifully written & evocative piece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and easy to read, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Samurai's Garden (Kindle Edition)
I found this to be interesting in that it's subject matter was different to the norm. It was an easy to read romance, without being trashy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An ok read, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Samurai's Garden (Kindle Edition)
I like books set in Japan and have read quite a lot of them. This one touches on traditional Japanese culture but the storyline is predictable and quite unexciting in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Samurai's Garden (Kindle Edition)
My fave book of all time is The Last Concubine so I am always looking for similar books. This was a good read, slightly predictable but I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The samurai's garden, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Samurai's Garden (Kindle Edition)
this was a gentle but interesting story about a part of the world I had little knowledge .
A good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gorgeous gem of a book, 8 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Samurai's Garden (Kindle Edition)
This is a beautifully written gentle story covering a turbulent period in Japan's history. With a very nasty villain and a wonderful hero and heroine, I was glued to this story and couldn't put it down. If you like well written historical romance with an unusual setting I highly recomend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lovely story, 25 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Samurai's Garden (Kindle Edition)
I liked the story and thought I was beautiful - the story between Hiro and Hanaka was great! Loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Samurai's Garden
The Samurai's Garden by Patricia Kiyono
£1.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews