Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving and a great listen, 29 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Paszport (Audio CD)
What a moving and interesting album, and what a great listen it is too. Katy has an amazing voice and the stories through her songs are fascinating. Lovely production too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Katy Carr 'Paszport', 21 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Paszport (Audio CD)
amazing, great, moving album, with great music, fntastic voice of Katy. Great story to it as well. The best spent 10 pounds in my entire life:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly wonderful and moving folk album, 13 Nov. 2012
By 
J. Adamson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paszport (Audio CD)
Anyone who likes folk music will love this album with wonderful touching songs about Poland during the war years but the vocals themselves are so wonderful and expressive (some of the best I have ever heard). Each song is complimented with great musical and in some cases vocal backing. A real joy to the ears - Probably one of the best folk albums you will hear all year - Now I must explore her previous releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, dramatic, romantic, sublime., 13 Dec. 2012
By 
Mr. P. R. Lambert "Pete Lambert" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paszport (Audio CD)
A marvelous record. If (like me) you don't speak a word of Polish don't be put off for one moment. Carr's beautiful singing and striking narrative voice are so engrossing that after a while you stop noticing as she flits from English to Polish and back, between and sometimes within, tracks.

Every song tells its own distinctive story, and the beautifully illustrated booklet helps tie the whole thing together like the best of short story anthologies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tunes that you won't want to leave your head, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paszport (Audio CD)
The story behind this record and the songs is truly moving. Katy Carr brings them to life in a fantastic way. I never would have imagined loving songs that switched between English and Polish: but her performance means that's not an issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mixture of traditional Polish and Modern., 26 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paszport (Audio CD)
This is an enjoyable tribute by Katy Carr to Polish patriotic songs that I and many Poles know. The singer has added newer songs that she has created and has presented older traditional melodies.

The song Paszport will strike a chord with all those of the younger generation who are travelling from Poland in order to find a new life.

The songs are in Polish and English and sometimes mixed, just like the language of many Poles abroad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving album., 14 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paszport (Audio CD)
I don't know anything about music, but I know a lot about Poland, and this album is an incredibly moving reflection of being Polish, English, young and imaginatively empathetic. Kocham!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most talented musicians in the UK, 19 May 2013
By 
J. Bacik (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paszport (Audio CD)
Katy Carr is a very talented singer and songwriter and her songs should satisfy everyone who likes a high quality music, perfect voice and something different from what is popular these days. On top of that her music revolves around the issue of Polish and Polish army during IIWW, largely forgotten in the UK despite their contribution not only to allied forces but defence of Britain too. Her style is sentimental and carries the listener back to the events and times of the IIWW.

Katy Carr seems to be little-known artist but her productions and talent have every potential to compete with the best on the scene. Perhaps the label she has chosen did not bring her the recognition she deserves, but personally I believe this is about to change in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful CD, 14 Feb. 2013
By 
HJK (Gomersal UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paszport (Audio CD)
I have just discovered Katy Carr and bought this her latest CD.

It is wonderful music - folk music based on events in Polish History - mostly around WW2 - sung in Polish & English (She has a Polish mother) Some songs are more in English - others more in Polish.

The booklet that comes with the CD for me is a MUST - it has wonderful illustrations and the lyrics are given in both languages irrespective of which one is sung.

I am Polish and just love these songs - Wojtek - is one of my favourites - about the Soldier Bear from the Polish II Corps - it is a song about longing to go back home.

But you do not need to understand the Polish to enjoy this music - her voice is wonderful - I have been listening to this CD again and again since I bought it - it is wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Considerable Talent, 5 Jan. 2013
By 
Ms. Ruth Nunn (BATH, Avon, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paszport (Audio CD)
I bought this for my brother having heard Katy Carr interviewed on R4's Front Row. She is an original talent and this CD has a moving collection of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paszport
Paszport by Katy Carr
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews