Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars additive !
I honestly can't stop reading these books until they end!
I can't get any housework done with my kindle glued to my hands!!!
Loved Preston and manda xxxx
Published 5 months ago by Jilly

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS
I didn't read the first book in this series but I liked 'Because of Low' and 'While it Lasts'. However, this book is the weakest in my opinion.
Amanda (Marcus' sister) has been in love with Preston since she was 16. She's now 18 and the book starts as she makes a play for Preston one night when he is drunk. They have sex in an outside storage unit and she gives him...
Published 22 months ago by Laura


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS, 9 Nov 2012
By 
Laura (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just for Now (Sea Breeze 4) (Kindle Edition)
I didn't read the first book in this series but I liked 'Because of Low' and 'While it Lasts'. However, this book is the weakest in my opinion.
Amanda (Marcus' sister) has been in love with Preston since she was 16. She's now 18 and the book starts as she makes a play for Preston one night when he is drunk. They have sex in an outside storage unit and she gives him her virginity (although she had told him she wasn't innocent). It's over very quickly and then he walks out and leaves her alone.
The book then starts 3 months later. Preston has been trying to avoid Amanda because he feels he's not good enough for her. When he does see her, he is quite mean to her and hurts her. Poor Amanda is what can only be described as a drip!! When Preston finally gives in to Amanda again it turns out he had forgotten about having sex with her! When he finds out he took her virginity, he feels bad. He also remembers that Amanda had an orgasm that night. Now considering all he did was kiss her breast, I find this a bit laughable!!
They embark on a sort of relationship but its a bit difficult because her brother Marcus or any of his and Preston's friends can't find out. Preston also has siblings he has to take care of because his Trailer Park Mother is a waste of space. Now here is the part I found hard to take about this story. To make enough money to have his own apartment, go to school and look after his mother and siblings, Preston needs to make a lot of money. To do this, he sells his body, yep, he's a Gigolo!!
Whilst seeing and having sex with Amanda, he still carries on servicing the older women who pay him for sex. He does feel guilty but he carries on because he needs the money.
When Marcus finds out they are seeing each other he is angry but then he realises that Preston has never been like that with a girl before and Amanda declares her love for him, so he allows their relationship but doesn't tell their mother. However, Amanda's mother is the one that finds out about Preston's secret life.
I could go on, but I have given away enough spoilers. All I will say is their fall out and reconciliation is very unrealistic. Everything is tied up too neatly in a nice little bow whereas in reality, how could you forgive your boyfriend for being a gigolo?! The book ends too quickly and we are left to believe that they will live happily ever after - what, with her mother and all those women knowing he was a Gigolo?!
It's an odd plot line for Glines to come up with and as these books are aimed at Young Adults, I find it a bit of an irresponsible storyline.
I also noticed a few errors in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sea Breeze book 4, 21 July 2014
By 
Sarah (Feeling Fictional) (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I've really enjoyed the previous books in Abbi Glines' Sea Breeze series and I was looking forward to getting to know bad boy Preston a little better in Just for Now. We've seen quite a lot of him in the previous books but while he's a good friend to Marcus he's also always been a player and a ladies man and I wasn't sure how Amanda was going to get him to change his ways.

What we didn't know before was quite how much pressure is on Preston from his waste of space mother who she relies on Preston for everything. He pays her rent, buys her food and even puts petrol in her car for her and he does it all to protect his younger siblings Jimmy, Brent and Daisy. Preston is in college full time trying to get a decent education but he needs to earn money and he doesn't have enough free time to work a full time job as well. He's resorted to desperate measures but while the income means he can look after his family the work makes him feel dirty and cheap. He doesn't feel worthy of love and he's so ashamed of his situation that he doesn't feel that he can ask his friends for help or even tell them what is happening in his life. Because of that his friends just think of him as a party boy who doesn't have a care in the world when in reality that couldn't be further from the truth.

Amanda is Preston's best friend Marcus's little sister and completely off limits. Preston knows she is special but she is far too pure and innocent for the likes of him, besides Marcus would kill him if he ever found out about Preston's feelings. Amanda may be innocent but she knows what she wants and once she realises that Preston is attracted to her she deliberately sets out to get her man. Amanda sees Preston for who he really is and once she starts to get under his skin she realises how much he does to protect his siblings. I loved Amanda for the way she was so caring towards Jimmy, Brent and Daisy and I really enjoyed every scene with the younger kids in. They had such a tough upbringing but were really sweet kids and that was down to Preston and the way he had cared for them.

One thing that I found really noticeable in this story was the double standards and slut shaming though. All of the girls that Preston had been with were called names and considered whores by Amanda and the rest of Preston's friends but the fact that Preston slept with a different girl every night was completely fine. At one point Amanda actually thought "So he slept around. A lot of guys did. He was sowing his wild oats. It was okay to do that." about Preston but she'd earlier introduced one of her supposed friends to readers by thinking "Jess, Rock's cousin and the town slut". I'm not going to get into the whole issue of sleeping around and whether it's right or wrong but what I really HATE is that people seem to think it's OK for guys to do it but not for girls. Double standards irritate me and it did stop me enjoying this book quite as much as I would have done otherwise. If you want to get on your high horse about sleeping around you should call out the boys for their behaviour just as much as the girls! Or you can just take the opinion that they're all consenting adults and they have every right to do whatever the hell they want. Either way would be better than what happens here.

I did like Preston, he was in an impossible situation and he was doing the only thing he could think of to make sure his family survived. I'll admit I got a little irritated with him for not confiding in his friends sooner and asking for help but I could understand why he hadn't. In general I liked Amanda but her double standards kept making me want to shake some sense into her. I have really enjoyed the sea breeze series though so even though Just for Now wasn't my favourite instalment I'm still looking forward to reading more about this group of friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Really disapointed..., 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just for Now (Sea Breeze 4) (Kindle Edition)
* Some minor spoilers throughout this review *

I was really looking forward to this book. Preston had been the character that interested me the most in this series and I'd liked Amanda since book 1.

Amanda is Marcus' little sister. She is in love with Marcus' best friend Preston.

Preston has a new woman every night in his personal life (total man-whore) and then you find out what his job is and you realise "man-whore" is actually a literal description. You meet his mother who is complete scum and your heart breaks for his 3 much younger siblings... Preston is not perfect by a long shot but your heart simply breaks for him, the choices he makes and the reasons he does what he does...

However, It doesn't excuse the fact he can sleep with someone and completely forget about it!!!

Oh, sorry, think it was a dream... Okay, he's devastated when he realises it wasn't a dream but it still doesn't make up for it.

Amanda is young and naive.

She wants Preston and she gets him just not the way she wants him... In all fairness I don't think anyone in her right mind would be happy with losing their virginity on a wooden box in a shed and then having the guy get off you and leave without a word... What I don't understand is how that experience didn't turn her completely off him! So what he's beautiful? He isn't even nice to her! Does she have no self-respect?

As the story goes on Preston changes and the relationship grows and you can accept it...

Amanda's reaction to Preston's "job" is understandable. Her taking him back once everything unfolds and his job changes to a normal one is also understandable... But the ending left me with no way to envision a happy future for them and that made me sad. It's totally unsatisfying and I don't like that the sacrifices Preston made for his siblings will forever make him tainted and unworthy in the eyes of Amanda's mother (possibly brother? Who knows as Marcus isn't privy to the scandal).

What I do like is how Preston's friends rally for him in this book. I love how Rock and Trisha get the family they desire and those poor children will get a stable home and unconditional love not just from their big brother but from parents...

I really hope as this series progresses we get some more closure on this but - since the next book is Cage and Eva book 2 and the one after that is Jason Stone - I doubt it. So after looking forward to reading this, I was left disapointed.

2 out of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars additive !, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just for Now (Sea Breeze 4) (Kindle Edition)
I honestly can't stop reading these books until they end!
I can't get any housework done with my kindle glued to my hands!!!
Loved Preston and manda xxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars abbi glines is amazing!, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just for Now (Sea Breeze 4) (Kindle Edition)
I've read 3 of the sea breeze books in a week can't put them down. Such easy reading an great characters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As usual another fantastic read by Abbie Glines xxx with more to come which I have already pre-order x x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just for Now (Sea Breeze 4) (Kindle Edition)
One of my favourite books. Was lost in the romance of it. Well done Abbi, I couldn't put this down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, 5 Jan 2014
Preston Drake has been the object of Amanda Hardy's affection for years. What started as a crush has burned into what she thinks is unrequited love for her brother's best friend. As Amanda matures into a beautiful young woman she uses all the weapons at her disposal to get Preston to wake up and realise she isn't a kid anymore. And one night after Preston has one too many beers, she succeeds. Too bad he doesn't remember, because it is all Amanda thinks about.

Preston likes his woman fast and easy, just ask anyone. There are few women in Sea Breeze he hasn't bedded. With an attitude to match his handsome surfer look, no one could ever accuse him of being a man with morals or substance. Scratch a little off the surface and peer into his life and they may change their mind.

Taking care of his family is expensive work when his mother is a drug addict and he is the sole provider for his three younger siblings. But Preston learned to use his looks to his advantage in a way that he never had to worry about money again. For a long time Preston never thought there was anything wrong with the way he lived his life. But when Amanda succeeds in getting under his skin and staying there, he feels shamed and dirty. And he can never let her get too close...never let her discover his secrets.

Let me just say that I loved Preston, warts and all. He is a broken and damaged man doing all he can to support his family and there is honour in that, at least. Just For Now was a beautiful instalment in this amazing series, and I couldn't get enough of this book.

I adored Preston and Amanda together and their chemistry leapt off the page. Preston's story is a dark one, but it is written effortlessly well. A superb story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just for Now (Sea Breeze 4) (Kindle Edition)
Great read, highly recommended, a book you can not put down, loved it loved it, loved it, * * * Anything by Abbi Glines is a great read my fav author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars That was something else, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just for Now (Sea Breeze 4) (Kindle Edition)
That was a whole new side to sea breeze the darker Side I love these two character and I'm not going to say anymore just read it it rock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Just for Now (Sea Breeze 4)
£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews