Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for English Dummies
This is another good example of a very good range or seies of books which rarely disappoint and this keeps up the good work. It suffers from the defect however, of being based on the American Kindle which is not available in the UK. We still do need a manual which describes the English version of the machine and this is urgently needed.
Published 15 months ago by Trumpeter

versus
47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kindle manual useless - only suitable for USA
This Dummies manual is clearly written to guide users on the Kindle Fire as it is presented to US customers. For purchasers in UK, Spain, etc. the instructions rarely seem to reflect the features on the Kindle Fire as sold to UK/European users. So many instructions just do not give the desired response, and so many much-needed actions are not provided on the non-US...
Published 17 months ago by hrtbuy


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kindle manual useless - only suitable for USA, 1 Feb 2013
By 
hrtbuy (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Dummies manual is clearly written to guide users on the Kindle Fire as it is presented to US customers. For purchasers in UK, Spain, etc. the instructions rarely seem to reflect the features on the Kindle Fire as sold to UK/European users. So many instructions just do not give the desired response, and so many much-needed actions are not provided on the non-US tablets. In short, a very unsatisfactory purchase item outside the US!!! BEWARE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 79 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is the US version not a UK version - Very poor value for money, 30 Dec 2012
By 
The Emperor (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kindle Fire HD For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
This is completely and utterly pointless. It is only really relevant to the US and not to the UK. There is a lot of filler - seemingly random chapters about games and apps etc.

The book is pretty short and it is quite easy to follow. However all of the information is easily available for free with a quick internet search.

Amazon should probably make this info easier to obtain on their site but there really isn't any need to buy this book.

Probably the best place to start to find out how to use your kindle fire is to press the favourites tab ( the star) and then click the question mark icon and then go to the user's guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not great, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kindle Fire HD For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
This is written for America so none of the recommended app links work as they all link to Amazon.com not uk. It is pretty basic I already knew most of it from the kindle users guide. Some of the stated functionality does not come with the UK kindle fire. Did not answer any of my questions and was expensive considering the basic content. Now going to have to seek to purchase another guide. Would not recommend especially to UK users.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for English Dummies, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kindle Fire HD For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
This is another good example of a very good range or seies of books which rarely disappoint and this keeps up the good work. It suffers from the defect however, of being based on the American Kindle which is not available in the UK. We still do need a manual which describes the English version of the machine and this is urgently needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars for dummies, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kindle Fire HD For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
not so keen on this thought I had ordered it as a book instead of through the Kindle too American for me I really wanted something much more easier to follow through a book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars My Opinion, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kindle Fire HD For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
I think its pretty awful. I wanted a book that would describe in detail how to do things with the Kindle Fire but I didn't. It was a complete waste of money and I would like to give it back to Amazon and get my monbey back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for the UK based user, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kindle Fire HD For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
The book tells you about the benefits of prime as they affect US users, a lot of the book reads like an advert for Amazon. Useful in places but not enough to warrant the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its ok, just don't buy the paper version!, 5 Jan 2013
By 
Equinivox (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kindle Fire HD For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
First thing- The good things! Its much cheaper to get this on Kindle than spending 15 on the hardcopy. The book is written in the same way as most of the dummies brand, so it is clear english and easy to read layout, it has an index to quickly find what you want to know, and there are lots of links.

However, downside of this book is that that most of the information in this book can be gleaned from the forums or from other areas on the internet- You Tube, for example, has some excellent videos on using the kindle fire.

There is also an issue that the information is also orientated towards the american kindle fire market- which is a bit disappointing as it is marketed as a general guide for all. This means many of the links will not work for UK kindles (or will work but with convoluted workarounds).

In conclusion; If you want a basic guide to the kindle fire HD this is functional, up to a point. There are alternatives out there which are worth looking at too, as well as other internet forums related to the kindle fire HD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kindle for Dummies, 2 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kindle Fire HD For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
Good basic book to get you going on the Kindle Fire HD easy to follow and good as a reference book when needed would recommend even if you think you know it all has a few hidden tricks and ideas in its pages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars usa version, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the book has all you need in it but it is for the American market i thought i was buying a uk version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kindle Fire HD For Dummies
Kindle Fire HD For Dummies by Bernard W. Taylor
9.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews