Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music
John Suchet has compiled an excellent selection of Beethoven's music. His deep knowledge of the both the composer and us 'Listeners' has enabled him to create a very easy to listen to, and enjoyable, CD,
Published 14 months ago by J J B

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very predictable
For someone who has never heard Beethoven it's not a bad selection, but who has never heard Beethoven?

I think it's an opportunity missed to put some real gems on there that aren't so familiar, which are every bit as good and even better in my eyes.

From the music listed, I would have only had the adagio from the 5th pc, the molto vivace from the 9th...
Published 22 months ago by Nick P


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very predictable, 7 Feb 2013
This review is from: John Suchet's Beethoven (Audio CD)
For someone who has never heard Beethoven it's not a bad selection, but who has never heard Beethoven?

I think it's an opportunity missed to put some real gems on there that aren't so familiar, which are every bit as good and even better in my eyes.

From the music listed, I would have only had the adagio from the 5th pc, the molto vivace from the 9th symphony (played as loud as possible!), the allegro from the 3rd symphony and the Abscheulicher! Wo eilst du hin? from Fidelio.

I would have also included the sanctus from missa solemnis, the adagio from piano sonata no.29 (in my mind the greatest music ever written) and if there's room, something from that late string quartets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Suchet's Beethoven (Audio CD)
John Suchet seems to have chosen the most hackneyed bits of Beethoven. The 9th Choral symphony is lovely, but he only chose the overplayed last movement. The piano concertos Waldstein and Appassionata are wonderful, but were passed over for the more well known Moonlight.

I think that this is an opportunity missed by someone who has spent much time studying this composer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars CD, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Suchet's Beethoven (Audio CD)
I bought this CD as a gift for my husband along with John Suchets latest book on Beethhoven unfortunately my husband has found that the contents of both CD's contain the same pieces of music and are not as indicated on the sleeve notes. Any suggestions

Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Suchet's Beethoven (Audio CD)
John Suchet has compiled an excellent selection of Beethoven's music. His deep knowledge of the both the composer and us 'Listeners' has enabled him to create a very easy to listen to, and enjoyable, CD,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Satisfied, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Suchet's Beethoven (Audio CD)
Once I realised that the two CDs were incorrectly numbered - 1 for 2 and 2 for 1 - the quality of the recordings was really very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent purchase., 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Suchet's Beethoven (Audio CD)
John Suchet's choice of music is great.
Easy to listen to, in the car, at work or at home chilling.
Compliments the book well.
Would recommend this CD to any Beethoven lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gift for Beethoven fan, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Suchet's Beethoven (Audio CD)
A well received gift for a Beethoven fan with a solid recommendation from John Suchet. A success and well received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great Beethoven intro, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Suchet's Beethoven (Audio CD)
John Suchet has collated a perfect CD for those new to Beethoven. This is a fabulous collection & is there to be enjoyed. i dare anyone NOT to be enthralled by it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beethoven, 30 Jan 2013
By 
Ann Jones "Peaches" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Suchet's Beethoven (Audio CD)
Christmas present for husband who loves Beethoven - gone down a treat he particularly loves the violin concerto it is his favourite piece of music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good collection., 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Suchet's Beethoven (Audio CD)
Beethoven, as is universally acknowledged, is one of the finest composers of all time, and this collection gives a beautiful selection of some of his finest compositions. Thank you John Suchet, for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Suchet's Beethoven
John Suchet's Beethoven by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews