Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it
Great value for money fast delivery
a film a can watch over and over again
I would recommend it to friends
Published 2 months ago by colin jeary

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a keeper.
This mediocre romantic comedy is another proof that an assortment of big Hollywood names does not necessarily equal an amazing film experience. I am sure Uma Thurman will scrap "Playing for Keeps" off her CV. Predictable screenplay, no depth in any of the characters, disappointing acting and absolutely zero chemistry between Gerard Butler and his numerous ladies. Each and...
Published 9 months ago by Lola


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a keeper., 21 July 2013
By 
This mediocre romantic comedy is another proof that an assortment of big Hollywood names does not necessarily equal an amazing film experience. I am sure Uma Thurman will scrap "Playing for Keeps" off her CV. Predictable screenplay, no depth in any of the characters, disappointing acting and absolutely zero chemistry between Gerard Butler and his numerous ladies. Each and every joke is predictable and the whole experience is just... dull.

Quite possibly this is a film that a lover of romcoms will still enjoy, but it does not push the boundaries of the genre.

And what's with Gerard Butler and his numerous wrist bracelets (I just wanted to rip them off! Hippy unemployed divorcee is just not him.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I PROMISE I WON'T CRY, 14 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
George Dryer (Gerard Butler) is a retired soccer star living in Virginia to be near his son living with his ex-wife Stacie (Jessica Biel). George still loves his ex and doesn't take the news of her up coming wedding too well. Having financial difficulty causes George to coach his son's (Noah Lomax) mixed league soccer team to the joy of soccer moms.

Being a good looking guy with an accent, women such as Catharine Zeta-Jones, Uma Thurman, and Judy Greer all throw themselves at him. George is not a man accustomed to saying no, but Jessica Biel is a tough act to follow, just ask her if you don't believe me.

This is not a guy's film. Soccer is in the background and knowledge of the sport doesn't make the film any better. This is perhaps a chick flick for people who don't want to get emotional. Might make for a mediocre date night film if you haven't seen "An Officer and a Gentlemen" 10 times already. Good acting. Weak script.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs or nudity. Implied sex. Use of "SOB".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably just for Gerard Butler fans, 6 Aug 2013
By 
Kash (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this mainly because it had Gerard Butler in and it was quite cheap.

Not one of his best movies and I personally think he should stick to the his more meatier roles like Law Abiding Citizen, 300, Olympus Has Fallen etc.

Its pretty predictable and doesn't tax him too much acting wise. Maybe one to watch when there is nothing else around or on the TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gerard Butler and friends., 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
would say that this is just about watchable,was brought as birthday present for misses,both of us found it little boring but like said worth watching....once!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great value for money fast delivery
a film a can watch over and over again
I would recommend it to friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OK, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice rom com .. perfect for a girlie night in with a glass of wine. Very easy viewing and storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Story, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gerard Butler, what an actor, he gets me every time. Again this is a feel good movie and boy did I feel good after watching it, more that once may I add.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Film OK delivery great, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film was delivered quickly but I wish that the DVD had been better. It was an OK story but not Gerard Butlers best, a little predictable. Surprising considering how many `stars' are in the film that it wasn't better, it covered a rainy afternoon but I will not be in a hurry to watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Playing for Keeps, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love it because it shows both the sad side of things and the good/laughter and is a true romance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Rom Com, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gerard Butler in full swing as the errant father, Jessica Alba does a good job and Dennis Quaid is fantastically good at being a bullish nightmare parent. Easy on the eye all round and quite funny. Not my number one movie, but it is defo worth a view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x992d0be8)

This product

Playing for Keeps [DVD] [2012] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
8.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews