Customer Reviews


401 Reviews
5 star:
 (206)
4 star:
 (85)
3 star:
 (52)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


107 of 124 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Riddick Goes R (15) & It's A Better Movie For It
Positive.
1)The action is hardcore & it doesn't hold back the gore, Check out the scene with the box as it's worth seeing the movie just for that sequence.
2)No 12a toned down rubbish here thank god.
3)Great tension & atmosphere the build up is slow but the pay offs worth it.
4)Vin Diesel is on top form playing this character you can see for Vin is a...
Published 15 months ago by Timelord-007

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars They shouldn't have bothered...
I know a certain age group and mentality will probably think this film 'awesome', but, discerning science-fiction fans beware. I really liked 'Pitch black' and 'The Chronicles of Riddick' was superb, but I was very disappointed with this latest in the series. The plot was weak, the dialogue even weaker, and the 'action' was most disappointing; it seems to be one of those...
Published 2 months ago by Zoot Suits


‹ Previous | 117 18 1941 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Dec 2014
This review is from: Riddick (Amazon Instant Video)
A classic sci-fi of our times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riddick Fans, This Does Not Disappoint., 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riddick [DVD] (DVD)
If you are a fan of 'Pitch Black' and 'The Chronicles Of Riddick' then you will love this. To me, it really felt like they understood what we loved from the first two movies (3 movies if you include 'Dark Fury', now you know I'm a real fan) and set to work on a recipe for the perfect movie.

I saw this in the cinema with a friend who had never seen any of the other movies and he loved it, so I definitely think it's a great stand-alone movie, but they have put some things in there for the fans of the franchise too.

This, in my opinion, is best described as a classic sci-fi thriller where the characters are what keep you on the edge of your seat. I honestly think it is the best film in the series. My mom watched this one first and was so impressed that she asked me to show her the previous films in the series.

I would recommend this for a movie night with a group of friends, but may be even better watched on your own, wrapped up in bed on a stormy night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Nov 2014
This review is from: Riddick (Amazon Instant Video)
Nice piece of entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Spoilt for me, 19 Jan 2014
By 
Sooz (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Riddick [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
SPOILERS

Enjoyed the other Riddick movies.
Finally we see him connect with another creature and its ruined.
WHY OH WHY do film makers feel it necessary to kill pets !!!
Stopped watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more of this!!!, 4 Oct 2014
By 
This review is from: Riddick (Amazon Instant Video)
vin at his best in this role, great syfy film, box scene one of the best written worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slow to start, doesn't improve much, 22 Oct 2014
This review is from: Riddick (Amazon Instant Video)
Pretty poor story, dialogue and acting. OK for a Sunday evening when there's nothing else on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 11 Feb 2014
This review is from: Riddick [DVD] (DVD)
Quite simply this is a total waste of a movie.

It misses on several levels and, boringly, simply copies events in Pitch Black.

Aliens come out at night - Check
Aliens starts to hunt everyone - Check
Riddick is captured by the bounty hunter - Check
Riddick is subsequently released when they realise they need him - Check
The group of survivors need the powercells to leave the planet - Check
The powercells are to be found elsewhere - Check
Riddick and others set out to get the powercells - Check
Fight with aliens - Check
Enemies are now friends and they leave the planet - Check

This is the synopsis for Pitch Black. It is also the synopsis for Riddick!

How lame and lazy! It is quite obvious that Vin Diesel and the whole film production team believe that we, the fans, are as dumb as goldfish. They really do. It is quite obvious because they simply regurgitated the very same story for us, hoping that we would simply sit and absorb it, with no memory of any previous Riddick film.

I am sorry, I know some have thought this film to be 5 stars, but I have no idea how you could possibly give such rave reviews and high scores! Maybe the pitch was right and I am too intelligent to watch the film as I remember the original but this is lazy and completely unforgivable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A chubby Diesel in a pointless never-ending flick., 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riddick [DVD] (DVD)
Pointless, absolutely pointless. Why would Diesel ruin a good series of movies, the other Riddick movies with this? Has he started to hate his fans? The story of the movie...well, there are no story of the movie. Pointless hours of a beat up and tired Riddick crawling around in a mud land while some half heartedly predators occasionally nibble on one of his legs? What a boring setting and planet and what an utterly boring and meaningless plot. This movie even lacks ambitions of being anything more than it is. On the plus side it does make you hope and cheer while you watch it that the ending is soon coming, but that does only happen about midway into the movie, when you finally realize that what you are actually seeing is all the movie is about. Riddick should have stayed underneath the rocks, maybe contemplated on his life, that would have made a much better movie.
WHY VIN WHY?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good to see Riddick again, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riddick [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this film but it is not much of a step forward for the franchise. In many ways this is just Pitch Black except that it is rain that brings the monsters instead of darkness.
The first 20-30 minutes are very interesting showing Riddick survive wounded and alone in a hostile environment, and this is the best part of the film, the rest is a fairly routine story of bounty hunters trying to catch Riddick but eventually all having to work together under an uneasy truce.
I can see why this film had to take that approach after the box office failure of Chronicles of Riddick, and Vin Diesel is still very good and charasmatic in this movie. But it is not really much of a step forward for the film makers and has no unique element to lift it from the crowd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riddick's Alive?!!!!!!!, 2 Sep 2014
By 
LINGO (Conwy, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Riddick (DVD)
Probably the best sci-fi franchise and screen anti-hero bar none. Even though this film uses elements of the first two movies you just have to see how Riddick gets out of situations, how does he beat the bad guy, how does he stay alive, very much like the old Flash Gordon serials of old. The only difference is that this is in your face bleak and bloody space, not a musical jaunt to Mongo and back! A nice addition to the story was that for once we see a vulnerable side to Riddick The potential for the franchise is massive, and there will be more to come. Just hope that old Vin still has a say in the character that he has moulded into his own, and the right screenwriters get given the nod. Anything is possible in the universe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 117 18 1941 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Riddick [Blu-ray] [2013] [US Import]
Riddick [Blu-ray] [2013] [US Import] by Karl Urban (Blu-ray - 2014)
£14.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews