Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
116
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£9.39
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 May 2013
Ok - I still have a great many of my old vinyls and enjoy listening, but this is a compilation with a few almost forgotten tracks. The fact that I could still sing along - almost word-perfect - to some songs that I would never have remembered, proved that this disc is a 'must have' for anyone who wants a nostalgic wallow.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
the 60s was a great decade, produced alot of good music. but alot of these can be found on other compilation albums. it was disc 3 that made me buy it just for the theme tunes to some of the shows/movies of the time. you will sit there, know that one before it gets to far into the intro
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
As I am disabled from early childhood I was never able to jive, rock or twist but I did do the handjive and loved listening to the music so that brought back many happy memories
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
If I were presented with the onerous task of putting together 80 tracks which were a fair representation of the Sixties, I would be confounded. The music that I listened to with delight in those seemingly very strange times, (and yes, I have breasted the sexagesimal tape), I still enjoy. Other stuff that I wouldn't have touched with a barge pole, has, though not quite grown on me, found it's way onto my own playlists, for the purpose of, if nothing else, a little irony. Where this mellowing ends though, is with the novelty song. Despite having attended the same school as JG, and having, in the late sixties, enjoyed the thespian antics of The Scaffold at the Liverpool Everyman, I will never be a fan of 'Lily'. Similarly, although I recently learned that 'Two Little Boys' is based on a true story, a genuinely poignant episode in Rolf's own family history, I could never be a fan of that song. 'Sunarise" would have been a completely different matter! Seen in isolation, this is a fairly decent compilation. As with so many such collections though, the main part is very familiar. It's as though, for whatever reason, perhaps copyright, perhaps licensing, there is a bucket of titles from which are drawn the usual culprits. I have many sixties compilations, and the overlapping is absurd. Bands like The Who, The Yardbirds, The Cream, Vanilla Fudge and Hendrix seem never to have existed. So why did I buy this? It was the third CD, with the included ephemera. I warmed to the idea of some musical amuse bouches, such as the Pearl and Dean, or the Pathe news in amongst the tracks on my own playlists, and by the time that I'd added up the cost of downloading the few pieces that I really wanted, it was actually cheaper to download the entire collection. A brief word on quality: not so good, or at least, a mixed bag. A few tracks were rather lacklustre. I realise that listening in mono (only some tracks are mono) can very often be a bit of a let down, but it wasn't just that. And other tracks were a little brittle and sibilant. Poor old Peter Sarstedt has some very bizarre artefacts going on, I have much better versions of that track. But I would buy this again, if only for CD 3, and for the inclusion of 'Whistle Down the Wind', which, although I would never have admitted to liking then, I'm brave enough to now.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
Full of good music ,the music I grew up with in my teens.
,Such good fun trying to remember who sang it or what programme themes,
Well worth the money.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
I did ! The songs on this CD certainly take me back and it is worth every penny - I shall treasure the item for posterity.
Highly recommended, and worthy of letting the kids of 2013 hear how songs were properly sung then !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2016
Great EMI original sound recording CD. I didn't really grow up in the 60's but remember many of the tracks. It also has that short bit of music from Pearl and Dean cinema intro.....A must buy if you grew up or remember the 60's!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
I was a teenager in the 60s so any 60s music is great to me. I love the music, most tracks I loved sthe first time round - one or two not so great!! but all in all a good buy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
Brilliant compilation of the 60's the start of a new era of music, thanks to the Pirate Radio stations. Good original records, highly recommended if you like the 60's
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
From being born pre 60's and being a teenager in this era it brings back a lot of memories. A lot of the artists I got to see even at my local dance halls. In this day and age this wouldn't occur as venues frequented need to be big because they are now presented as touring road shows.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)