Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ICONIC PET DELIVERS A BRAND-NEW POP ALBUM!
Having celebrated both her 80th birthday and eight decades in show business last year, it`s appropriate the iconic Petula Clark spent time in the recording studio in order to lay down tracks for this brand-new album. In doing so, she demonstrates that despite looking back at a fabulous career she prefers to face the here and now and embrace modern studio technology in...
Published on 25 Feb. 2013 by A. POLLOCK

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a relaxing enjoyable musical experience
good relaxing music from a talented performer. keep on recording for the sake of your many fans. good mix of new and well known. enjoyed the remix of down town
Published on 10 April 2013 by Jack


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ICONIC PET DELIVERS A BRAND-NEW POP ALBUM!, 25 Feb. 2013
By 
A. POLLOCK (PLYMOUTH, DEVON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lost In You (Audio CD)
Having celebrated both her 80th birthday and eight decades in show business last year, it`s appropriate the iconic Petula Clark spent time in the recording studio in order to lay down tracks for this brand-new album. In doing so, she demonstrates that despite looking back at a fabulous career she prefers to face the here and now and embrace modern studio technology in order to produce this pop-orientated collection.

The opening track, CUT COPY ME is a very commercial offering and a welcome transfer from Pet's 2012 French album and as such it ideally sets the mood; leading into the album's title song which is a heart-breaking romantic ballad. CRAZY is an excellent cover of the 2006 Gnarls Barkley hit with both Pet and the arrangement offering a stunning reworking of an excellent song. I also loved NEVER ENOUGH, a lively country and western number which had me tapping my feet and wanting more. Commercial needs obviously dictated a new reworking of DOWNTOWN, but I was there when the original launched in 1965 and nothing can ever replace that fantastic hit version, but that thought aside, both revised pedestrian-paced performance and arrangement will please many. NEXT TO YOU and EVERY WORD YOU SAY are atmospheric ballads, whilst Pet raids the Johann Sebastian Bach catalogue for the melody of REFLECTIONS, a personal nostalgic journey back to her younger life and as such its cathedral hymn-like setting ideally fits Pet like a glove. Oldies but goodies come in the form of the Gershwins' HE LOVES AND SHE LOVES which is tenderly emoted, as is that Presley hit LOVE ME TENDER - a pure slice of Americana well before Presley made it a hit. Apparently, John Lennon rated Pet as his favourite female singer and she featured many Beatles songs in concert and on record over the years with IMAGINE being Lennon's plea for world peace and sincerely rendered by Pet. Finally I WON'T CARE is rhythmic number with incorporated multi-voiced layers and poppy background.

This is a mesmerising album with Pet in great vocal form sometimes enhanced by double tracking and accompanied by simple but effective orchestrations often incorporating piano and cello in the line-up. Many of the new songs were co-written by Pet who has always been willing to take chances and has released many superb but challenging albums over the years and I am glad to state this collection is yet another winner which should enjoy much success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80 years old?, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost In You (MP3 Download)
The songs are all imprinted in my mind from first hearing; really tuneful and moving. Petula Clark has an extraordinary voice which any twenty year old would envy. I can listen to each track over and over again. Beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Wonderful, 26 Feb. 2013
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lost In You (Audio CD)
Petula Clark may have a few years on Doris Day's 'My Heart' but the result is just as engaging and wondrous. To deliver such songs at any time in life is remarkable but Petula sounds just as she looks - enchanting. I have no reservations over the song choice. This is a personal rendition that was presumably compiled as her choice to suit her voice, and what an achievement. 'Cut Copy Me' is a subtle, gentle number. Her covers of 'Love Me Tender' and 'Imagine' are caressingly delivered and clearly sung from the heart. Her new version of 'Downtown', although different, retains the impact of the original recording. Petula has lived through the eras and is in a prime position to be aware of their musical significance and development. Hence the appropriately named 'Reflections', a delightful ballad that hits the heights.

This is a lovingly crafted, produced album delivered by the supreme Petula Clark. At any age or at any time it deserves to be heard. Just wonderful. A tremendous ambassador for the music industry who has led a dignified, non-contoversial life and career. 'Lost In You' is a personal triumph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than you would ever imagine!, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost In You (Audio CD)
Very impressed with this album. At least four of the songs are very fresh and could easily be mistaken as being sung by a much younger singer. Massive praise is due to Petula Clark - she has done a wonderful job to create such a great album at this stage of her career. I have many of Petula Clark's albums - this one is now my favourite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant album, 30 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost In You (Audio CD)
Petula Clark shows why she has been around so long! Every song is different, mostly uptempo, but all melodic. Her version of Gnarls Barclay's "Crazy" is superb and anyone who knows "Downtown" should appreciate this slower, thoughtful rendition. A great album with no "filler" tracks from a great performer, who is STILL at the top of her game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Petula Clark CD, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost In You (Audio CD)
Excellent product, Great CD, easy to listen to even if you haven't heard artist before am sure you would enjoy it.
Some interesting tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At 80 and still producing music that touches, 18 April 2013
By 
william bradley (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost In You (Audio CD)
Really had to work to get a copy of this album as not available in the States yet.

Found the listen worth it.

Ms Clark's voice is in fine form here and her choice of materials compliements it.

Enjoyed very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Petula Clark -Lost in you Pure dead Magic, 27 Feb. 2013
By 
J. Keith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost In You (Audio CD)
It is as if Petula Clark has been with us forever. So many albums and worldwide hits. One might think she is old hat. THIS NEW ALBUM proves like a good wine she just improves with age. She feels humbled "That seasons come and go but she remains. "Lost in you". I would recommend this stunning new studio Album to anyone. Order it now from Amazon. My favourite track is "Cut Copy Me" but everyone is a gem.
Lost In You
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In her 80s and she still has star quality!, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost In You (Audio CD)
I was lucky enough to be in a choir that backed Petula Clark and had the honour of watching her and working with her during rehearsals. She was a true lady and respected everyone involved in the performance. More than this I was struck by the quality of her voice and particularly her rendition of 'Lost in You'. The lyrics are wonderful but it is Petula's interpretation of those lyrics that makes it so sepcial. This is why I purchased the album and what a terrific album it is. Just love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Enough, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost In You (Audio CD)
An absolutely brilliant CD. Displays the depth and range of Petula's work. She sang several of the songs on her recent UK tour. She is amazing live and her voice even better than on the CD (if that's possible)!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost In You
Lost In You by Petula Clark (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews