Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Storytelling
A long time fan of author N. Gemini Sasson, I was eager to read this, her latest novel. I expected to be dazzled with great story telling, and I truly was.
Known as the last true Welsh prince of Wales, Owain Glyndwr, dedicated his entire life in trying to secure Wale's freedom from English rule. A man of honor, greatly respected, and with the heart of a lion, Owain...
Published 19 months ago by Great Historicals

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars jumps about
Overall an intresting book with some great chracters. Its well written but I found it hard to follow at times with all the jumping around from Wales to Scotland to England and back to Wales with sub plots being played out in in each area. At times I felt lost and nearly put the kindle down and forgot about it. But I stuck with it and glad I did as I realised that each sub...
Published 18 months ago by Back Street Kid


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Storytelling, 7 May 2013
By 
This review is from: Uneasy Lies the Crown, A Novel of Owain Glyndwr (Kindle Edition)
A long time fan of author N. Gemini Sasson, I was eager to read this, her latest novel. I expected to be dazzled with great story telling, and I truly was.
Known as the last true Welsh prince of Wales, Owain Glyndwr, dedicated his entire life in trying to secure Wale's freedom from English rule. A man of honor, greatly respected, and with the heart of a lion, Owain lives a happy life surrounded by his wife and children. As turmoil with the English increases, Owain soon finds himself torn away from his beloved family, leading a rebellion, and ultimately being adorned with a crown proclaiming him prince.
The author does an outstanding job of showing us not only Owain's finest qualities, but also his many faults, and it is this that made Owain seem real to me, for no one in this world is perfect. It is a testament to N. Gemini's talents as a writer that Owain truly comes alive while reading this book. What I was also more than impressed with was the fact that historical fact and complicated politics are skillfully presented in simple, easy to understand prose. The author leaves no stone unturned and does not shy away from writing detailed love scenes, battles, executions, and daily hardships faced by people in turbulent eras. Highly researched and meticulously written, The Uneasy Crown is a brilliant novel about a poignant hero and the sacrifices he made to fight for his country. If you've never read one of N. Gemini Sasson's novels, then definitely make this your first one. And if you've read her other books, know that this one is just as satisfying and brilliant as her others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping!, 14 Jan 2013
This review is from: Uneasy Lies the Crown, A Novel of Owain Glyndwr (Kindle Edition)
As ever, Ms Sasson approaches her historical subject with knowledge and skill. The characters drawn from real life leap from the page and the story is compelling. The MC is well characterised and the writing keeps you glued to the e-page or page.
So a shift from Scotland to Wales and the underdog fights back. This book is really good as are all of Ms Sasson's stories. I'll bet you read the rest too!
Thoroughly recommended - Historical Fiction at it's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must read!, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uneasy Lies the Crown, A Novel of Owain Glyndwr (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the best historical fiction books I have read in a long time. Pacy, easy reading,action packed yet all the characters really came to life. once started, I couldn't put it down and was mad when I finished it! Because of this read, I have ordered other boks by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars history lesson, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uneasy Lies the Crown, A Novel of Owain Glyndwr (Kindle Edition)
just read this and found it really interesting not often you get to read about welsh history will now take more interest in this subject
well written and good characters and plot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-written, well-researched historical account + fictional elements, 5 Jan 2014
By 
Persephone (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uneasy Lies the Crown, A Novel of Owain Glyndwr (Kindle Edition)
It's 1399, the era of Owain Glyndwr. Acclaimed as the last true Welsh Prince of Wales, Ms Sasson delves into the life of this reluctant warrior prince, for he was in reality more inclined to diplomacy than resort to battle in the settling of disputes. The overall plot of this novel is pretty much as history and myth and legend would have us believe about Glyndwr and his loyalty to Richard II, but when history and myth converge important factors of Glyndwr are often lost in the telling. He didn't hate the English, he became learned in law at the Inns of Court, and he married an Englishwoman. What he chose to uphold was right from wrong, and thus always fought for right against wrong, and in many respects Henry Bolingbroke (self-imposed king) was a wrong `n and a betrayer of good and honest men.

While Ms Sasson treads the historical line and smudges it with myth and legend, a bit of poet licence sneaks in to spice up Glyndwr's private (sexual) life: but for why? Beautifully written and evoking sense of time and place, the telling of a fictional mistress and her hold upon Glyndwr (to this reader) seemed wholly unnecessary, and rather stole the shine from Glyndwr's fight for right against wrongs. Glyndwr was evidently a charismatic individual and man of conscience, or he wouldn't have given a damn as to who wore the crown of England. Unfortunately, where Richard II was friend, Henry Bolingbroke was foe: not only to Glyndwr but to Wales, as well. Nonetheless, Ms Sasson has written a fair account of Glyndwr's known activities of merit, provided a rough outline of his birthright and presented a graphically descriptive sense of his marital abode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welsh History, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uneasy Lies the Crown, A Novel of Owain Glyndwr (Kindle Edition)
This man will always be a hero in the eyes of true Welsh people but please do not let this put you off what is a really good novel, it is not tied down with politics of the time and I'm sure there is a book there about Owain Glyndwr, I think that would be called a history book.This shows one man's struggle to please his own people and the burden that puts on his own family life and his struggle and devotion to achieve a goal of independence from English rulers in his people's country. Good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uneasy Lies the Crown, A Novel of Owain Glyndwr (Kindle Edition)
Worth a read if you enjoy British history and want to know about Welsh heroes. Ranks amongst the best historical novels I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best read for a long time., 18 Jun 2013
By 
R S D (Halesowen, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uneasy Lies the Crown, A Novel of Owain Glyndwr (Kindle Edition)
It may have some historical inaccuracies but this story, based on the life and struggles of the last true Prince of Wales,
is both believable and thoroughly readable. RD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars jumps about, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uneasy Lies the Crown, A Novel of Owain Glyndwr (Kindle Edition)
Overall an intresting book with some great chracters. Its well written but I found it hard to follow at times with all the jumping around from Wales to Scotland to England and back to Wales with sub plots being played out in in each area. At times I felt lost and nearly put the kindle down and forgot about it. But I stuck with it and glad I did as I realised that each sub plot was needed to help understand what was going on in England Wales and Scotland at this point in our collective history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Battle after battle after battle..., 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uneasy Lies the Crown, A Novel of Owain Glyndwr (Kindle Edition)
But historically very interesting. I'd just seen 'The Hollow Crown' series on the BBC, and this novel ties in with the period very nicely. It gives a readable introduction to Owain Glyndwr, his motivations and life - but, of necessity (this being that sort of historic period where bloody battles were the norm) , the book is HEAVING with battles. I must confess to having skipped through some of the latter ones. If you've read about a bloody rout once or twice, that's probably all you need to do unless you're interested in the minutiae of military tactics (of which OG was a master), fatal and gory wounds and badly dented armour. Having said that, reading this book has made me want to find out more about this charismatic and interesting man, so all in all, I'd say it was all worth it.- battle overkill and all...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews