Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An unusual but fun sci-fi adventure hybrid
A brisk, twisting and often funny thriller, So Long, Shakespeare has been a welcome companion on the morning commute. In an unusual sci-fi adventure hybrid, a group of socially-inhibited Shakespeare scholars run up against the slick, driven creator of a successful Hollywood film franchise. The resulting drama ricochets from London's Globe Theatre to an evening at the...
Published 21 months ago by cheyney09

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An unusual literary thriller
I bought this book to read on breaks at work. At first there seem to be lots of unrelated things
happening and some crazy ideas! But it quickly pulls together turns into a thriller (it's also a satire, so the crazy ideas at the beginning end up making sense - and it's quite funny). I'd recommend it for long journeys or the beach, as it's quite a quick read.
Published 17 months ago by castafiore


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An unusual but fun sci-fi adventure hybrid, 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Long, Shakespeare (a genetically-engineered authorship adventure) (Kindle Edition)
A brisk, twisting and often funny thriller, So Long, Shakespeare has been a welcome companion on the morning commute. In an unusual sci-fi adventure hybrid, a group of socially-inhibited Shakespeare scholars run up against the slick, driven creator of a successful Hollywood film franchise. The resulting drama ricochets from London's Globe Theatre to an evening at the Oscars, from the glass and steel offices of American cultural imperialism to the doughty people of London and Stratford-upon-Avon.

There's lots packed into the story. In the out-and-out satire of mindless mainstream movies, a Howard Hughes figure demands the impossible. When he seems to get it, it blows open the question of whether Shakespeare was responsible for his own work. The argument of the circle of friends who come together to discuss the 'authorship question' turns in on itself as they chase both backwards and forwards between history and the next great writer, hiding mysteriously in the shadows.

Rather than get tied up in some sort of worthy cultural analysis of Star Wars vs Shakespeare, the author Tom Brown has opted to put it all in a lean, entertaining novel. I whipped though a chapter or three on my Kindle here and there, and to download for less than a weekend paper found it pretty good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars good idea, poor book, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Long, Shakespeare (a genetically-engineered authorship adventure) (Kindle Edition)
An interesting premise, but the writing quickly became tedious. I didn't even make it halfway through the book, whereas I normally persist even with poor books to see if they have any redeeming features. This book made its point too early on and flagged immediately after that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 16 Sep 2013
By 
Ms. V. Ford "AniseFreya" (Hamshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Long, Shakespeare (a genetically-engineered authorship adventure) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read. I read his second book first and enjoyed it so much I thought I'd give his first book a read. I wasn't disappointed. Real feel good factor in the conclussion. Plenty of twists and turns, ebb and flow between the main parties.

Read this and I think you will enjoy it, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Long, Shakespeare (a genetically-engineered authorship adventure) (Kindle Edition)
A fascinating idea to base a story around and with plenty of twists along the way - it kept me wanting to turn the page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and imaginative, 20 Jun 2013
By 
Mrs B A Weller (WESTCLIFF ON SEA, Essex, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Long, Shakespeare (a genetically-engineered authorship adventure) (Kindle Edition)
A tale involving a pastiche of Star Wars, the perennial debate on who wrote Shakespeare's works and a satirical take on celebrity, the film industry and the American obsession with heritage and their lack of it.
The story takes some fun twists and turns. Some of the prose is rather overworked but this does not detract from one's enjoyment of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Faced paced mystery with a little bit of history, 29 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Long, Shakespeare (a genetically-engineered authorship adventure) (Kindle Edition)
Previous reviews have already covered the remarkable sci-fi Shakespearean mash up that is 'So Long, Shakespeare'. I started this book on holiday and zipped through it in a few days. Tom Brown has created a world populated with eccentric but largely convincing characters whose antics encourage you to keep turning the pages to try to get to the bottom of the mystery (or should I say mysteries?) at the heart of the story. Adventure novels sometimes lose momentum or disappoint with a lacklustre reveal at the end. Not this time; 'So Long, Shakespeare' kept up the pace, kept me guessing, and made for a great finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun with William and George, 18 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: So Long, Shakespeare (Paperback)
Tom Brown's wry (and irreverent) exploration of 'the' authorship question is less of a treatise on the merits and demerits of any particular argument, and more of a rollicking mystery caper that arguably distils the Shakespearean squabble to the central question that makes it so enduring: whodunnit?

All of the protagonists, the Strafordians, anti-Stratfordians and Star Wars-ians (?) alike, receive their fair share of teasing, but there is affection in the writing too. The character of Joe Seabright (a thinly disguised pastiche of George Lucas), for example, is presented both as an artless tyrant and a loveable rogue. And the plot is wrong-footing enough to dissuade the reader from taking sides.

Above all, Brown clearly wants the reader to have fun, even whilst engaging with a tempestuous intellectual debate. That is, assuming he really is the one who wrote it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Original & Entertaining, 11 Mar 2013
By 
BraddersW5 (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Long, Shakespeare (Paperback)
The combination of Sci-Fi and the works of Shakespeare may seem a little odd at first but they work together wonderfully well in this novel. So Long, Shakespeare is initially about a Hollywood screenwriter attempting to re-create Shakespeare's muse through a scientific discovery, but soon becomes about more than that, involving some big themes, and asks interesting questions about art, genius, egoism and science.

More than anything this book is an entertaining and suspense-filled story which seamlessly moves between the different cultural references of Sci-Fi and 16th century playwrights, a cast of eccentric characters and different locations, all the time keeping the reader wondering what will happen next, and how will the book's central mystery will be solved.

I found it a compelling read and my lack of knowledge of Sci-fi did not impair my enjoyment one bit. This novel is fast paced, interesting, and refreshingly original. I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An unusual literary thriller, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Long, Shakespeare (Paperback)
I bought this book to read on breaks at work. At first there seem to be lots of unrelated things
happening and some crazy ideas! But it quickly pulls together turns into a thriller (it's also a satire, so the crazy ideas at the beginning end up making sense - and it's quite funny). I'd recommend it for long journeys or the beach, as it's quite a quick read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Will Shakespeare Win?, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Long, Shakespeare (a genetically-engineered authorship adventure) (Kindle Edition)
In the not too distant future and with the help of cutting edge science Tom Brown's characters drive us towards the solution of the Shakespeare authorship mystery. The narrative gathers speed towards a surprise ending as science tangles with human ambition and deceit.
Goodies and baddies change roles in a well-differentiated cast and the media world is presented with irony and there's many a chuckle. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews