Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will please Powers fans
Being a Tim Powers novel means Three Days to Never is hugely ambitious in scope. I cannot reveal too much of the plot without spoiling the fun, but let's just say that readers will enjoy the many twists and surprises here. Fans of parallel world's, alternate history, science fiction and the paranormal will really enjoy this.

Powers does have a writing style...
Published 23 months ago by Daniel Cann

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A solid but uninspired Powers
Fans of Tim Powers know what to expect - and they won't at a surface level be disappointed. Complex plot stretching back in history, check. Love interest, but not enough of one to get in the way of the action, check. Supernatural powers and Fate with a capital F, check. The only problem is that this feels a little flabbier than the earlier books. Not quite as much...
Published 19 months ago by Davide


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A solid but uninspired Powers, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Days to Never (Kindle Edition)
Fans of Tim Powers know what to expect - and they won't at a surface level be disappointed. Complex plot stretching back in history, check. Love interest, but not enough of one to get in the way of the action, check. Supernatural powers and Fate with a capital F, check. The only problem is that this feels a little flabbier than the earlier books. Not quite as much happens. I cared less about the characters. I didn't stay up all night to finish it - indeed, it lay with twenty pages left to read for more than a week, waiting for me to summon the energy. My advice would be, then, to read the 90s and 2000s material first, and only start Three Days to Never if you decide that you are a Powers completist. It isn't a bad book at all, but - as sadly so often - the earlier books are better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will please Powers fans, 8 Jan 2013
This review is from: Three Days to Never (Paperback)
Being a Tim Powers novel means Three Days to Never is hugely ambitious in scope. I cannot reveal too much of the plot without spoiling the fun, but let's just say that readers will enjoy the many twists and surprises here. Fans of parallel world's, alternate history, science fiction and the paranormal will really enjoy this.

Powers does have a writing style that may take getting used to. Luckily I had already read two of his previous novels, but sometimes you do have to tread carefully to fully understand what is going on.

Rather than a direct Hemmingway-esque way of saying something is happening or has happened, Powers tends to over elaborate on something quite mundane. For example even the action of eating can take him several paragraphs, I was waiting for some deep meaning or plot reveal, but no, it was literally just father and daughter enjoying a meal together!

It is little surprise then, with padding like this, the novel clocks in at an unnecessarily overlong 420 pages.

For the most part, it is intriguing and original. I thoroughly enjoyed the Einstein and Chaplin subplots and how the Marritys uncovered all the many layers of their family past.

There is plenty of gripping action and with all the rules different here, you really don't know what to expect and who will live and who won't. Again, this is not taking place in a `fixed world' where everything is final.

Once finished I thought that I had read another highly creative and inventive story which suffered slightly from the padding I mentioned earlier. A slick Tim Powers thriller would really be something to behold. But I am sure this will please his fans and add many new ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sadly not the depth of his others, 20 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Days to Never (Kindle Edition)
A wonderful read but not a patch on others such as Anubis Gates and Stress of her Regard. Characters lacked substance but the story was, as usual, impeccably woven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard work but worth it, 1 July 2013
By 
Mrs B A Weller (WESTCLIFF ON SEA, Essex, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Days to Never (Kindle Edition)
This is a dense novel. Thick with wordy concepts but worth sticking with. The central character's slowly emerging awareness of his grandmother's involvement with Einstein and time travel and it's effect on him and his daughter is well conceived and artfully written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars NEVER To Three Days To Never, 17 July 2014
By 
Mr. John Frank Herbert (Greenwich, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Three Days to Never (Paperback)
The Anubis Gates by this author is one of the best books that I've ever read.
Sadly, this one is one of the worst!
After struggling to get to the halfway point I just couldn't handle the ever increasing
weird bits, with monster in a box and astral planes, and cars splitting into three.

So, I terminated my attempt.
To begin with it was promising with Father and daughter up against two factions, but,
as the strange complications began to cram the plot, gradually I lost the heart to carry on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than the blurb suggests, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Days to Never (Kindle Edition)
Better than expected - although the blurb is a bit misleading. Interesting blend of science fiction and fantasy that holds together well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Three Days to Never
Three Days to Never by Tim Powers
£4.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews