Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh and funky
I bought this as soon as I heard it was out on Twitter. I watch all of Andy's shows on Food Network and have been waiting for a book for aaaaaages. I'm an Italian guy with a love of British food - especially pies. I've tried making Andy's recipe for Chocolate Tart which was a huge hit with my wife and kids. Im looking forward to trying tasting more recipes from the book.
Published on 2 Nov. 2012 by Angelo

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to read
The book requires you to constantly swipe to read small parts of the text at a reasonable size font. Will not zoom. Makes it too difficult to follow a recipe so gave up without trying any of them. A complete waste of money.
Published 20 months ago by Maggie


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh and funky, 2 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Andy Bates (Paperback)
I bought this as soon as I heard it was out on Twitter. I watch all of Andy's shows on Food Network and have been waiting for a book for aaaaaages. I'm an Italian guy with a love of British food - especially pies. I've tried making Andy's recipe for Chocolate Tart which was a huge hit with my wife and kids. Im looking forward to trying tasting more recipes from the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loving the pie man, 2 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Andy Bates (Paperback)
Some great baking recipes and a mix of British and American ideas. Nice photos too. Would be a nice Christmas gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to read, 4 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Bates - Modern twists on classic dishes (Kindle Edition)
The book requires you to constantly swipe to read small parts of the text at a reasonable size font. Will not zoom. Makes it too difficult to follow a recipe so gave up without trying any of them. A complete waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SOME INTERESTING IDEAS, 31 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Bates - Modern twists on classic dishes (Kindle Edition)
but too complicated for its own good. I find myself reading the recipes and spotting easier ways of doing it as I go. Also, the light hearted way he throws difficult to acquire ingredients into the mix, as though the average domestic cook can just wander into Sainsburys or Morrisons and pick them off the shelves. He is a television cook with access to all sorts of obscure goodies. I live in London but I find it difficult to get hold of some of his ingredients. He needs to get out of the professional kitchen and think like a real person, with limited time, money, and shopping facilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 25 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Andy Bates (Paperback)
great book, i actually downloaded onto the kindle first and that was disappointing as it did not function properly. However, the book itself is a nugget in the kitchen. The food is second to none and is a trail blazer in the up and coming even fashionable current street food industry.This is a must for good and filling food, yet still beautiful to look at with tastes and sensations that would cost a fortune in some establishments but are most certainly there equal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy the paper edition; not kindle, 10 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Andy Bates - Modern twists on classic dishes (Kindle Edition)
I love watching Andy Bates on TV, his recipes bring intriguing twists to familiar foods. However the formatting on this kindle ebook is the worst I have ever seen. Completely unusable and returned for refund. I'd recommend the original books version of this title over the ebook version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars andy bates - modern twist on classic dishes., 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Bates - Modern twists on classic dishes (Kindle Edition)
Like his TV shows this book is a must for all new chefs as he directs you just right. Bradders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect purchase for nostalgic food with a twist, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Bates - Modern twists on classic dishes (Kindle Edition)
Written in a lovely down to earth fashion, and full of traditional comfort food offering alternatives with a little twist, this book was exactly what I was looking for.

Some really fabulous recipes in here and great tips too. British classics, grab and go, quick bites, all feature that "like mum used to make" ingredient.

Brilliant !! Write another soon please !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars layout awful, 13 May 2013
By 
K. Struthers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Bates - Modern twists on classic dishes (Kindle Edition)
This book has not been adapted for Kindle use and it practically unreadable - useless in the kitchen, waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes from a great chef, 28 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy Bates (Paperback)
I bought this book having seen Andy Bates' show on the Food Network and having been to his market stall in Whitecross Street and tried his food first hand. I have to say that this book has not dissapointed. It is full of a range of recipes for all occasions that are easy to follow, accompanied by great anecdotes from Andy about his career and the story behind the recipes. There is something for everyone here and you are bound to find recipes you can follow whether you are a novice chef or more experienced in the kitchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews