Customer Reviews


480 Reviews
5 star:
 (357)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far so good
Well, it's just arrived today. This will be a rolling review, updated as I use it.

So far, a good sturdy feeling drive, lots of reviews on the web have been very complementary about it (i spent ages researching it). It is marketed as a budget drive. But what's budget about it?

Well from the looks of the reviews it's not able to handle as high a...
Published 19 months ago by A. Maxwell

versus
392 of 398 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING! Reduced performance of newer drives
Please excuse the technical nature of this review:

There are primarily two types of NAND flash which is used in SSDs, synchronous and asynchronous. Drives using the superior synchronous NAND typically have twice the read/write performance of those with the older asynchronous NAND (when compared clock-for-clock). The V300 (as initially manufactured and reviewed...
Published 9 months ago by Tech Freak


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

392 of 398 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING! Reduced performance of newer drives, 30 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Please excuse the technical nature of this review:

There are primarily two types of NAND flash which is used in SSDs, synchronous and asynchronous. Drives using the superior synchronous NAND typically have twice the read/write performance of those with the older asynchronous NAND (when compared clock-for-clock). The V300 (as initially manufactured and reviewed by many websites) used the faster synchronous NAND, but Kingston have recently changed the product to use the slower (and cheaper) asynchronous NAND. The change was confirmed by Kingston on 16 January 2014:

"We use NAND from various manufacturers both synchronous and asynchronous. The first revision you have is made with synchronous and the second asynchronous."

http://www.overclock.net/t/1457629/psa-about-the-kingston-v300-ssd-probable-foul-play-by-kingston/10#post_21596200

Tests are showing the newer V300 drives are performing at less than half the speed of the earlier V300s. Kingston are using inflated results from benchmarking software which is sympathetic to the dynamic data-compression used by the SandForce controller in the V300 to claim that the new drives still meet their "on the box" performance claims. Whilst technically correct, the real-world performance of the newer drives is significantly reduced compared to the earlier versions of the drives.

The Kingston V300 in its initial form (as I purchased four months ago) was a genuine five-star product, but this new incarnation (along with the associated deception) is simply a mediocre SSD trading off the reviews of the original drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected ......, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston Technology 120GB Solid State Drive 2.5-inch V300 SATA 3 (Personal Computers)
Installed this disk for my Windows 8 laptop and was disappointed with the performance improvements over my regular HDD. Did some benchmarking and found out that my sequential read performance was topping out at around 176 MB/s instead of the 470 MB/s or so it gets in benchmarks when you look at the reviews of this product. Have found out that Kingston have swapped out all of their synchronous NAND from the original product and swapped it for far cheaper slower asynchronous NAND and that I'm stuck with this poor performance. Wish I'd spent the extra £10 for a Samsung or maybe a Corsair drive.

Very dishonest by Kingston, I will no be buying any of their products again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


117 of 119 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete Rip Off, 10 Feb 2014
This review is from: Kingston Technology 120GB Solid State Drive 2.5-inch V300 SATA 3 (Personal Computers)
I bought one these in January and it was the 506a version (made in taiwan) and is not much better than a normal hdd, when using "AS SSD benchmark software" it is reporting it at 175mb read speed nowhere near 450mb. And reading forums it looks like all versions later than the 505a are the same and while there is a slight improvement to my boot times it is not worth it. I dont think i'll ever buy anything from Kingston again as this looks like a bit of a scam as they release a really good drive and get great reviews and then change the product completely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE!, 8 Aug 2014
By 
A. Wills (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These drives were originally really good - fast, reliable, and at a good price. HOWEVER; Kingston has changed out some of the components they used in the original drive - trying to hide it by keeping the same product name and not telling anyone. The newer versions are rubbish - performance has more than halved! Avoid the V300 drives like the plague, you can't get hold of the good old versions anymore. Kingston you are risking your reputation pulling a stunt like this - how long did you think it would be before people noticed that their drives were half the speed of what you promised!?

I ordered one, and then found out from a friend; fortunately there was no problem returning it unopened. Didn't even have to pay for the return shipping! (That's why I'm giving one star rather than zero)

As an alternative, I recommend Crucial MX100 series. They are a similar price but (at least) twice the performance; and you don't feel like you've been ripped off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not acceptable!, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston Technology 120GB Solid State Drive 2.5-inch V300 SATA 3 (Personal Computers)
Like many people posted - the new version of the drive switched to slower memory chips and is nowhere near advertised speeds. This is not an acceptable practice Kingston!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I have emailed Kingston to see if they will replace this drive as I dont feel like losing out the purchase price, 4 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston Technology 120GB Solid State Drive 2.5-inch V300 SATA 3 (Personal Computers)
Installed in October and it got progressively more difficult to boot the computer (Desktop), eventually failing altogether, replaced with a Samsung evo, Incidentally I replaced the drive in my Laptop with a Samsung drive att he same time which is still going strong. I have emailed Kingston to see if they will replace this drive as I dont feel like losing out the purchase price, never mind the agro to rebuild the computer from scratch. To be fair, whilst it ran, it gave the machine a new lease of life, but that is true of any SSD really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 79 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sketch Move Kingston, 10 Jan 2014
This review is from: Kingston Technology 120GB Solid State Drive 2.5-inch V300 SATA 3 (Personal Computers)
This SSD is meant to have a read/write speed of up to 450MB/s according to the specs on the kingston website.

However it seems that Kingston have changed the NAND chips inside this SSD and it now tops out at about 150MB/s.

I received one with the model number 506ABBF0 it seems those with the model number 505ABBF1 are unaffected.

It looks like Kingston has switched from synchronous to asynchronous flash causing a huge drop in performance that is vastly different from the manufacturers specs.

Take a read of the below.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as fast as it says on the packaging, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston Technology 120GB Solid State Drive 2.5-inch V300 SATA 3 (Personal Computers)
I got one of the original versions, which performs well enough, but the fact is that it is specified as 450 MB/S read and write, but now I know this is not entirely right as now the listing says - "up to 208MB/s (AS-SSD and CrystalDiskMark)" - which is still a higher figure than what I actually get (even with sata 6gbps). It feels like I bought a 1.8l engined car only to find it has a 1.2l engine in actuality. Will soon be replacing this with one which hopefully will actually perform as advertised. Kingston pulled a fast one, and now are paying the price. Amazon can only repeat the manufacturer's own specs, so can't fault them, and now the listing has more accurate information from the manufacturer.

It further says: 191MB/s Read and 142MB/s Write speed = this may refer to the "version 2" of this model which is borderline rubbish, hence it is now available for a lesser price, I'd give that one 2* or less. You can do much better for little more cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far so good, 3 April 2013
By 
A. Maxwell (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston Technology 120GB Solid State Drive 2.5-inch V300 SATA 3 (Personal Computers)
Well, it's just arrived today. This will be a rolling review, updated as I use it.

So far, a good sturdy feeling drive, lots of reviews on the web have been very complementary about it (i spent ages researching it). It is marketed as a budget drive. But what's budget about it?

Well from the looks of the reviews it's not able to handle as high a workload as many of the other more expensive drives. BUT as one review pointed out, the amount of work they were using to test it was pretty high (64 queue depth)and way out of the way of people who use their system to a 'normal' degree.

So it looks like if you are doing ALOT of things all at once and all wanting disk access, other drives may be better. BUT if you are doing all that you're likely to look for the higher performing drives anyway.

On the positive side the reviews show it holds it's own VERY well in other areas compared again to the more expensive drives.

**UPDATE 1 MONTH ON***

It's great, boots INCREDIBLY quickly and windows now flies around.
If like me you are spending ages looking at all the different options and require a good fast drive and you're not going to be overloading it with work then save yourself some time and just get this one.

**UPDATE 1 YEAR ON***

Excellent still (although am running out of space!!) It was time to buy another one today, BUT i just saw the reviews above. UHHOH,,,,may rethink my purchase!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best upgrade to a PC., 27 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. D. J. Brindle (Prestwick, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kingston Technology 120GB Solid State Drive 2.5-inch V300 SATA 3 (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am a PC builder and enthusiast and have over 10 years experience of building, upgrading and maintaining computer systems. Put simply; if you have a reasonable computer (with a relatively modern processor and enough RAM for windows to run comfortably) a solid state drive, like this one offers the most noticeable upgrade to performance for your money.

Sure, this Kingston V300 model isn't the absolute fastest out there. But, compared to the mechanical drives that the majority of computers still use, this is measurably faster in all areas and comes at a very reasonable price. In real world use, you will notice a massive difference. It does this by using solid state memory in the device (rather like a large memory card) rather than the magnetic, mechanical moving parts of older drives.

Installing the drive couldn't be easier if you're reasonably proficient at plugging and unplugging things inside your computer. It takes standard SATA data and power connections, and is backwards compatible with SATA 2 if your motherboard isn't SATA 3 enabled. In the real world, the difference between 2 and 3 is negligible in my experience anyway.

Once you've installed Windows (or whatever OS you use) on to this drive (presuming you intend to use it as your system drive - definitely the thing to do) you'll find that from pressing the power button on your PC to it being in a usable desktop state will be around 25 to 30 seconds at the very, very most. Any programmes you install on it, and Windows itself, open near-instantly with no delay and it really will turn a PC into something which is a pleasure to use, not something you have to wait to catch up.

The drive scores the maximum score on the Windows Performance Index; 7.9.

Much about PC components, especially when you get into enthusiast grade items, is bluster and macho-marketing. This solid state drive though, will be a noticeable and pleasurable improvement for anyone with a computer with an "old" mechanical, traditional hard drive. Once you use a solid state drive, you'll never, ever want to use anything else. And that is definitely not marketing rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews