Customer Reviews


772 Reviews
5 star:
 (573)
4 star:
 (106)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (46)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far so good
Well, it's just arrived today. This will be a rolling review, updated as I use it.

So far, a good sturdy feeling drive, lots of reviews on the web have been very complementary about it (i spent ages researching it). It is marketed as a budget drive. But what's budget about it?

Well from the looks of the reviews it's not able to handle as high a...
Published on 3 April 2013 by A. Maxwell

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
648 of 659 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING! Reduced performance of newer drives
[...]

Tests are showing the newer V300 drives are performing at less than half the speed of the earlier V300s. Kingston are using inflated results from benchmarking software which is sympathetic to the dynamic data-compression used by the SandForce controller in the V300 to claim that the new drives still meet their "on the box" performance claims. Whilst...
Published 15 months ago by Tech Freak

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 278 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

648 of 659 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING! Reduced performance of newer drives, 30 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
[...]

Tests are showing the newer V300 drives are performing at less than half the speed of the earlier V300s. Kingston are using inflated results from benchmarking software which is sympathetic to the dynamic data-compression used by the SandForce controller in the V300 to claim that the new drives still meet their "on the box" performance claims. Whilst technically correct, the real-world performance of the newer drives is significantly reduced compared to the earlier versions of the drives.

The Kingston V300 in its initial form (as I purchased four months ago) was a genuine five-star product, but this new incarnation (along with the associated deception) is simply a mediocre SSD trading off the reviews of the original drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Performance not bad, but failed after a year, 13 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston Technology 240GB Solid State Drive 2.5-inch V300 SATA 3 (Personal Computers)
I bought this drive a year ago, and despite being surprised at benchmarks showing similar performance to a normal hard drive, it made my laptop much, much faster to boot up. Copying large files was still very slow though, for whatever reason, but I didn't do that so often so it didn't bother me.

However, exactly 10 days after the 1 year warranty expired, the disk failed. There were no signs, just one day it was no longer recognised as a disk and the laptop failed to boot.

To me this is an absolute failure. I can recover my system, but it will take me a while to order a new disk, install Windows and get everything the way it was before. Plus it cost more than £100 for a device which only lasted a year.

Don't be tempted. Go for another drive.

UPDATE: Amazon won't let me return it through their warranty returns site, but the Kingston website indicates that the actual warranty for this drive is 3 years, not 1. I have submitted a return request to Kingston and will see if they rectify the situation. (Even if they do, my system must now be reinstalled, which is a royal pain.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 82 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not acceptable!, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like many people posted - the new version of the drive switched to slower memory chips and is nowhere near advertised speeds. This is not an acceptable practice Kingston!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 88 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE!, 8 Aug. 2014
By 
A. Wills (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston Technology 240GB Solid State Drive 2.5-inch V300 SATA 3 (Personal Computers)
These drives were originally really good - fast, reliable, and at a good price. HOWEVER; Kingston has changed out some of the components they used in the original drive - trying to hide it by keeping the same product name and not telling anyone. The newer versions are rubbish - performance has more than halved! Avoid the V300 drives like the plague, you can't get hold of the good old versions anymore. Kingston you are risking your reputation pulling a stunt like this - how long did you think it would be before people noticed that their drives were half the speed of what you promised!?

I ordered one, and then found out from a friend; fortunately there was no problem returning it unopened. Didn't even have to pay for the return shipping! (That's why I'm giving one star rather than zero)

As an alternative, I recommend Crucial MX100 series. They are a similar price but (at least) twice the performance; and you don't feel like you've been ripped off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as fast as it says on the packaging, 13 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got one of the original versions, which performs well enough, but the fact is that it is specified as 450 MB/S read and write, but now I know this is not entirely right as now the listing says - "up to 208MB/s (AS-SSD and CrystalDiskMark)" - which is still a higher figure than what I actually get (even with sata 6gbps). It feels like I bought a 1.8l engined car only to find it has a 1.2l engine in actuality. Will soon be replacing this with one which hopefully will actually perform as advertised. Kingston pulled a fast one, and now are paying the price. Amazon can only repeat the manufacturer's own specs, so can't fault them, and now the listing has more accurate information from the manufacturer.

It further says: 191MB/s Read and 142MB/s Write speed = this may refer to the "version 2" of this model which is borderline rubbish, hence it is now available for a lesser price, I'd give that one 2* or less. You can do much better for little more cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 93 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected ......, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Installed this disk for my Windows 8 laptop and was disappointed with the performance improvements over my regular HDD. Did some benchmarking and found out that my sequential read performance was topping out at around 176 MB/s instead of the 470 MB/s or so it gets in benchmarks when you look at the reviews of this product. Have found out that Kingston have swapped out all of their synchronous NAND from the original product and swapped it for far cheaper slower asynchronous NAND and that I'm stuck with this poor performance. Wish I'd spent the extra £10 for a Samsung or maybe a Corsair drive.

Very dishonest by Kingston, I will no be buying any of their products again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


197 of 209 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete Rip Off, 10 Feb. 2014
Complete Rip Off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very slow for an SSD. Write speed 110 MB/s Read speed 180 MB/s, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingston Technology 240GB Solid State Drive 2.5-inch V300 SATA 3 (Personal Computers)
Write speed 110 MB/s
Read speed 180 MB/s

Masured with AS SSD Benchmark and with CrystalDiskMark

Don't buy. It is slower then an new HDD. I will return it back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing, 5 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You buy a new Ferrari.
The car salesman tells you it can go 250MPH.
You go home, you can't wait to try the car.
Turns out it can only actually go 80MPH, just like the ford mondeo that it replaced.
You ring up the car company and complain.
Turns out Ferrari replaced the V8 engine with the cheapest engine they could find, and didn't think they should tell anyone.
Apparently this is an okay think to do.

TL;DR: Kingston is ****

http://www.anandtech.com/show/7763/an-update-to-kingston-ssdnow-v300-a-switch-to-slower-micron-nand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DOES NOT DO WHAT IT SAYS, 23 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Do not touch this product with a barge pole. The packaging and sales pitch says "10x faster than a standard 7,200rpm HDD". WELL IT ISN'T. I've tested it and it's somewhere near 2x, which is nowhere near good enough for the price. See other reviews for a more technical explanation. I'm trying to get my money back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 278 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Kingston Technology 120GB Solid State Drive 2.5-inch V300 SATA 3
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (772)   
Buy new£41.99
In stock

Samsung 2.5-Inch 250 GB 850 EVO Solid State Drive
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (240)   
Buy new£80.00
In stock

Kingston Technology 480GB Solid State Drive V300 SATA 3
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (772)   
Buy new£139.96
In stock