Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not just about Shakespeare, you know., 18 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marlowe: Dr Faustus (Globe August 2011) (Charlotte Broom/ Michael Camp/ Matthew Dunster) [Globe on Screen] [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
From time to time the Globe releases its plays in cinemas. It publicises them badly (I caught this totally by chance), but if you live an inconvenient distance from The Globe, look out for Globe on Screen releases.

Though far from an expert, I am at least conversant with most of Shakepeare's plays. This, however was (to my shame) my first ever exposure to Marlowe. It was a revelation. Of course, the basic plot is universally-known. The eminent scholar Faustus is bored by all he has achieved and wants more - and so sells his soul to the devil in return for 24 years of enhanced life, with Mephistopheles as his devoted attendant. What matters is what Marlowe does with this premise. For my money, he does far more than Goethe.

Better get Mephistopheles out of the way first, since (as a publicity ploy?) he is played by Arthur "Doctor Who" Darvill. The biggest compliment I can pay here is that after ten minutes I stopped thinking of him as Rory. He actually gave a wonderfully restrained performance, subtly portraying the tormented nature of one who has unlimited temporal power, but is shut off from any higher plane.

Faustus himself is a commplex and ambiguous character - which is as it should be. Each viewer has to make their own mind up as to how much (if at all) they sympathise with Faustus. Contradictory views can both be completely correct; and this production avoids the trap of coming down too heavily on one side or the other.

This is a very busy production. Those responsible for costume, make-up and (particularly) props must have been on danger-money. There's a lot of stage trickery as well. Faustus is beheaded and comes back to life on stage; and though intellectually you can see how it was done, it's still a wonderful illusion. On the down side, some of the stage make-up doesn't stand up too well to cinematic close-up. One character's beard seemed to be held on by sellotape.

As with all Globe productions, the comic scenes are played for all they're worth (anyone who says that Shakespeare invented comic relief simply hasn't seen Marlowe); but I was a little lost during the Pope/Antipope scenes (presumably Marlowe expected his audiences to get the reference to an event which was topical 400 years ago).

The Globe is a National Treasure. These DVDs are compulsive viewing, and should also be cmpulsory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MARLOWE & SHAKESPEARE - THIS IS HOW IT SHOULD BE DONE, 17 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marlowe: Dr Faustus (Globe August 2011) (Charlotte Broom/ Michael Camp/ Matthew Dunster) [Globe on Screen] [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
So often one watches historical plays adapted for the screen and ends up disappointed. Whether it be Shakespeare or Sheridan, Goldsmith or Marlowe, their work was written for the stage, and it is at a live stage performance that their work can be best appreciated. However, not everyone can regularly attend a first rate theatre, but a well done and sympathetic recording of a stage production can be the next best thing. And this is a very well done and sympathetic recording, which brings Marlowe's most famous play to the screen in (as far as I can tell) original and unadulterated form. How much finer a production like this is than, for example, the messed up Shakespeare we've had in some recent TV and film "adaptations". Full marks to a fine, energetic cast and everyone else for a most enjoyable and satisfying evening's entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great production and telling of the tale, 15 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marlowe: Dr Faustus (Globe August 2011) (Charlotte Broom/ Michael Camp/ Matthew Dunster) [Globe on Screen] [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
I missed this years back in the Stratford performance and saw it screened at a local multiplex - next best thing.
Having chosen this and other texts to teach A-level Lit, I have been alert to available video productions that are eligible for watching in support of the textual reading. This is the best one for Doctor Faustus.

All key elements of tragedy and Renaissance thought explicit, sub-plot sufficiently bawdy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's not Shakespeare, but it's still pretty good, 15 Dec. 2014
By 
Kirk McElhearn (Near Stratford-upon-Avon) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Marlowe: Dr Faustus (Globe August 2011) (Charlotte Broom/ Michael Camp/ Matthew Dunster) [Globe on Screen] [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
Marlowe's telling of the Faust story is brought to life here in the true Globe Theatre fashion, with lots of movement, garish costumes, and a slightly campy production. At times it is almost over the top, but it stays just on the right side of exaggerated. The main actors - Paul Hilton as Faustus and Arthur Darvill as Mephistopheles - have their characters spot on, and, while these aren't deep characters, the two actors portray them skillfully. There is a lot going on in the production, with some brief dance numbers, and the actors take full use of the large stage to the Globe. The time flies pretty quickly, and, while it's not Shakespeare, it's a darn good play from his period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 30 May 2014
By 
M. McCartney (Northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marlowe: Dr Faustus (Globe August 2011) (Charlotte Broom/ Michael Camp/ Matthew Dunster) [Globe on Screen] [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
I was fortunate enough to see this live at The Globe, and enjoyed it so much invested in the DVD. Superbly acted, clever staging, and by turns funny, frightening and fantastical. If you enjoy Shakespeare Marlowe will not disappoint you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very clear, theatrical telling., 4 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marlowe: Dr Faustus (Globe August 2011) (Charlotte Broom/ Michael Camp/ Matthew Dunster) [Globe on Screen] [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
Really useful for A level students unfamiliar with the text. Good performances, especially the ensemble sections and a sensitive Mephistopheles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 15 Sept. 2013
By 
Mrs. Nd Drury - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marlowe: Dr Faustus (Globe August 2011) (Charlotte Broom/ Michael Camp/ Matthew Dunster) [Globe on Screen] [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
Seen at The Globe as a live performance. Thought that was outstanding and the DVD reflects the atmosphere and excellent acting 100%.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marlowe: Dr Faustus (Globe August 2011) (Charlotte Broom/ Michael Camp/ Matthew Dunster) [Globe on Screen] [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
This was a very good interpretation of the play Dr. Faustus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marlowe's Greatest plays, 30 Dec. 2012
By 
Neville Harwood (Bedfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marlowe: Dr Faustus (Globe August 2011) (Charlotte Broom/ Michael Camp/ Matthew Dunster) [Globe on Screen] [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
A must have for all theatre-goers who follow the Elizabethan stage and are interested in Marlowe. We went to see it performed at the Globe and couldn't wait until it was out on DVD. So when it came out eventually on Amazon I didn't hesitate purchasing it as a present for my wife at Christmas. The colour and sound quality on this recording is excellent and the DVD is good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great accompaniment when studying text, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marlowe: Dr Faustus (Globe August 2011) (Charlotte Broom/ Michael Camp/ Matthew Dunster) [Globe on Screen] [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
This film is great and I'm so glad The Globe have made it available.
I originally bought this because I was studying the text at school and though seeing it visually would aid my understanding.
Although it mixes Text A and Text B, I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews