Customer Reviews


213 Reviews
5 star:
 (156)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradise
Oh how I love LDR, These extra songs are just as wonderfully thematic and atmospheric as her previous offerings. I love the way that she displays, through her vocals, a beautifully complex duel personality. Person one has the deep and dark drawl, showing us a woman who is deeply cynical, tired and numbed by previous dissappoints in life. Person two has the...
Published 21 months ago by tori p

versus
27 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cynical Marketeering
I loved Born To Die, released earlier in 2012, however I refuse to purchase the same album again to get the new tracks. 'The Paradise Edition' is being given the full marketing push, so why couldn't this be released as a completely new album with all 11 tracks?

Numerous acts are doing this. Lady GaGa, Katy Perry, Nicki Manaj, Take That and many more have all...
Published 21 months ago by MT


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradise, 13 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Die - The Paradise Edition [Explicit] [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
Oh how I love LDR, These extra songs are just as wonderfully thematic and atmospheric as her previous offerings. I love the way that she displays, through her vocals, a beautifully complex duel personality. Person one has the deep and dark drawl, showing us a woman who is deeply cynical, tired and numbed by previous dissappoints in life. Person two has the higher,sweeter tones. She is childlike,open and wide eyed, wanting desperately to be loved and taken care of. I may be getting a bit carried away, but I really, really love the whole album! Other Lana fans will understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My friends ridicule me., 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Why would you listen to her, it's just more whiny drivel, why won't you listen to this song about bitches and ho's, WHY WON'T YOU JUST BE LIKE US." And you know what, I am so happy to have her music in my life. A song for every mood. A lyric for every moment. She might not be to everybody's tastes but I personally love her. Not to mention the pure catchyness of quite a few of her songs, lolita for example. Sugary sweet but still kinda wrong. What's not to like??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm in paradise,, 14 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
‘The Paradise Edition’ opens with the sultry and seductive ‘Ride’. Nostalgic lyrics and haunting vocals, teamed up with a rich melancholic piano melody. Listening to this song, I’m transported to a wide stretch of the American desert, where I’m free to bask in my own self-indulgent misery, if only for a moment. This is of course, until that heart-wrenching chorus kicks in, and I’m imaging myself there, on that rope, swinging in midair, just as we see in the video for the song. This song appeals to me in ways I cannot possibly explain, and because of that… I just ride. What I find most interesting about this song is Lana’s ability to highlight what it means to feel rejected, to be someone who is just drifting through life, maybe even feeling a little crazy at times.. and then to just let it go, accept it even. That is what the chorus delivers – an overwhelming sense of freedom and comfort.

After the emotional highs and lows of ‘Ride’, I find myself drifting away into a somewhat angelic, dreamy state, as I catch myself humming along to Lana’s smoky vocals on ‘American’, the second song from ‘The Paradise Edition’. It has all the key elements of a classic, sophisticated ballad, but with that key atmospheric twist that Lana brings to her music. As I listen to this song, I’m reminded of how I felt when I first heard ‘The Lucky Ones’ from the ‘Born to Die’ record. There is a certain similarity between them, in that, they both step away from the darker side of Lana. While I honestly prefer Lana’s darker, more mysterious and melancholic tracks, I have to admit that this song definitely finds its way into my top five.

Keep in mind though, that… if you thought that the tracks from ‘Born to Die’ highlighted the dark side of Lana, ‘Gods and Monsters’ will offer you her darkest side yet. With references to God and religion, conflicts between evil and good, messages of drug/alcohol addiction. Lana ties all elements together: “Fame, liquor, love, give it to me slowly”. Despite all these rough elements, Lana still holds onto the hope that “in the lands of Gods and Monsters”…. she was an angel and that no one is going to take away her soul. It’s dark, and it’s deep, and it might make you want to shy away at times, but there is something there that draws you back in.

Although, if you’re looking to take an escape from that darker side, you just might yet. Lana finds an opportunity to get a bit playful with the new record. This can be heard in ‘Cola’ and ‘The Body Electric’, both of which explore themes of popular American culture/cultural icons, as she claims “Elvis is my daddy, Marilyn’s my mother.”

‘Bel Air’ and ‘Yayo’, seem to have been branded by many as no more than fillers, used simply to fill the space at the end of the record. Honestly, I can only imagine that these comments come from those that haven’t listened to the record in its entirety. Both songs offer haunting vocals, with chilling lyrics. I welcome the piano introduction in ‘Bel Air’ – something I think we could use more of in Lana’s music.

I have to say though, that I find ‘Yayo’ quiet difficult to listen to. It’s a very personal song, that offers up a lot about Lana’s past. Her sincerity is striking, so much so that at times it can feel as if you’re an intruder listening in on the song… as if she were singing it to someone else: “Let me put on a show for you, daddy”.

As a huge Lana Del Rey fan, myself, I truly hope that the release of ‘The Paradise Edition’ will mark a new beginning for Lana, a chance to establish herself into an industry that never fully accepted her. Accusations regarding authenticity led to a difficult start for the singer, and a perhaps misunderstood debut album.

‘The Paradise Edition’ offers so much more than I even expected of Lana. It is a collection of the same hypnotic, orchestral, atmospheric and seductive Lana tracks that we have always loved and admired… Mixed with a completely new twist. A bolder, braver, more outspoken Lana. It’s personally what I love about her. She doesn’t shy away from difficult or controversial subjects… and while she might leave you haunted, she’ll comfort and console you in the process.

If you are new to Lana, or a lifelong fan, just wanting more, either way... this record is perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most interesting artist of the decade, 16 Jun 2014
By 
T. Dar (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Die - The Paradise Edition [Explicit] [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
A sound which is as hauntingly enchanting as it is difficult to define. Lana Del Rey is an enigma, and her music stands out as refreshingly unique and different.

The title track is truly stunning, and my other favourites include 'Off To The Races', 'Summertime Sadness' and 'Ride'.

Having said that, there wasn't a track on either of the discs of this Paradise Edition that I didn't like. Although sometimes shockingly explicit, every song has a story to tell. There is a good balance of tempo and melancholy and more cheerful tracks.

Del Rey's voice is instantly recognisable despite its fantastic range from dulcet low tones to almost child-like high pitch vulnerability.

A stunning album from one of the most interesting artists I think I've ever come across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My album tastes like Pepsi cola, 15 Nov 2012
By 
Andromeda Descendent (Tarn Vedra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm so much a fan of Lana Del Rey that as well as Born To Die I have listened to her little known first album and even some unreleased demos. Listening to the new CD "Paradise" I instantly recognised a new version of Yayo and the recently released Blue Velvet, but the six other songs were completely new to me. Blue Velvet, a cover song, has much of the by now verging on overused production style and sounds of the Born To Die album, the special edition of which is of course also in this 2CD jewel case. However, the other tracks thankfully have a different (if less instantly distinctive) sound to them. That was a good choice musically, as Lana's voice is distinctive enough. The subject of these songs doesn't stray very far from Lana's in-character personality, and perhaps that shouldn't surprise anyone, but it makes the thoughtful and luscious Yayo really stand out as being something different and extra special.

A mixture of playful and serious, each one telling a different story, it's hard not to listen to Lana songs without images popping into your head, but I was caught off guard by one particular lyric. I found myself, perhaps not shocked but a mixture of amused and puzzled by the first line of the new song Cola. Lana has perhaps been listening to 212 by Azealia Banks. There are a couple of songs with, shall we say, a bit of strong language on - so if that bothers you stay away, or maybe keep listening and you may change your mind. In the music equivalent of the art/pornography argument, a.k.a. I know it when I hear it, there are some uses that stand out to me as being completely inoffensive due to context. For that debate, see also Star Me Kitten by R.E.M., and equally I have to say that on the song Radio, it's not only contextually appropriate; it's actually beautiful in the context of the song. After a few listens of the songs I'm referring to on Paradise, I'm starting to think the uses here are also appropriate in context. I've actually changed this review to say that, as after first writing it I listened again and found that my opinion had changed.

Back to the main point I'm trying to get across to you here - the songs are absolutely fantastic and will be much played by me - I can't imagine anyone not feeling happier for having listened to them.

To end this review, I must tell you that I really love Lana's music, but it's a pure and platonic love, so if tomorrow you see anyone drinking Pepsi cola with an odd look on his face, as if he's trying desperately not to think of a certain line from a song in a particular context, then stop and say "hi" as it might be me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark side of glamour, 30 May 2014
By 
Mr. Andrew K. Miller "scatterlight" (Reading, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lana mixes sweetly sung vocals, beautiful arrangements and juxtaposes it with lyrics that examine life in all it's cruel shades. The results are stunning and make you think you are listening to a David Lynch film. Maybe having a cover of 'Blue Velvet' helps lead you in that direction, but really Lana stands alone in the world of song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of pop music, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Metal is my music. Progressive metal, power metal, doom metal, melodic death metal, post-metal. That's where I'm at home.

I'm also open-minded. Good music is good music, regardless of the genre. And Lana Del Rey makes excellent music. She's the only modern pop star I listen to, and am proud to admit it. Though I'm not entirely convinced in her vocal skills, she uses her voice very craftily. Where she excels is the atmosphere. "Born to Die" is drenched with a romanticized feel of the 50s (of which I as child of the late 80s know nothing about except from films) - it's all about being wild and free-spirited during the summers of our youth. And it works, wonderfully. When I'm in a nostalgic sort of mood (but not of the variety requiring a dose of doom metal) and wish for a relaxing hour or two with music, I'll put on "Born to Die".

This edition comes bundled with the "Paradise" EP which is equally as good as the full-length album, therefore get both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Born To Die - The Paradise Edition - Stunning lyrics wrapped in a voice of honey., 10 Aug 2014
By 
J. R. Wilde "eclecticJez" (Herfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lana Del Rey is, to my ancient ears, one of the finest lyricists I've had the pleasure of listening to for many a year. That she has the vocal abilities to match puts her head and shoulders above the competition in the singer songwriter genre.
Her lyrics are at times any combination of bitingly vicious, almost suicidally bleak and capriciously exuberant - this is a life story put to music and delivered in such a beautifully modulated vocal fashion that it feels like a rose in velvet, the barbs are there but you defer to the gentle setting.
A veritable master-class in composition, lyricism and vocal delivery - parental advisory notices be dam*ed, this is a life story and sometimes life sucks. "Paradise" is a natural progression from "Born To Die" (as, indeed, is the recently released follow up album, "Ultraviolence"). I, for one, want to follow that life story and wallow in the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Divine sound by the Goddess herself, 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lana is seriously the best artist out there at the moment. She might have gained some of her fame for all the wrong reasons, but this album proves that people are very wrong about her and that she's very misunderstood artist - but artist nevertheless. Born To Die: The Paradise Edition includes all 15 songs from the deluxe edition of Born To Die, plus 8 brand news songs. With those eight songs, Lana proves her talent in making music that's fresh to the ear, and faithful to it's preceding album Born To Die. My favorite song is Body Electric, because I think that Lana describes exactly how she feels about herself in that song. The song is very beautiful and very dramatic and it talks about how many times we lie about out true feelings, the "put a smile on your face while you're bleeding within" thing. Gods And Monsters is also very powerful song, and I think it talks about Lana's relationship with God, and her living on the wild side of life. Bel Air is also a great one, and it's last on the album because I think it gives some kind of a "hope sound" (as I like to call it), and I think it's probably the song that people here while they go towards heaven's door (if there is heaven, that is), filling us with hope that we will be reunited one way or the other with the people who mean something to us. All on all, I give this album 5 of 5, and I praise Lana Del Rey's talent and creativity. I've read somewhere that she said that she wouldn't make anymore music, and I hope that that's not true, because if she stops making music, the world will lose one of the greatest artist that ever lived!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Lyrics and voice, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've always loved Lana's work and I am so happy that I waited for the deluxe edition.. all my old favourites plus some new ones like "American" and "Gods and Monsters" . Once again Lana shows off her poetic writing mixed with wonderfully rich musical background and amazing voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews