Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The light of the world (book 1)
Complicated with lots of different genres of the supernatural spectrum all of them wanting something of the main character. Lots of history and the different types of magic hard to follow at times then several questions answered all at once. Looking forward to the next book
Published 17 months ago by L Gilson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars So So
Was Okay, not that bothered about the next book! Found the lead Character in the book a bit of a flake.
Published 21 months ago by Amber Lawton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book, 22 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Light of the World (The Light Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Highly recommend this book thought it was fab if u like things a lil different then this is for u and I cannot wait for the second book loved it hope this helps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 18 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Light of the World (The Light Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
really enjoyed this book this author keep surprising me she gives us somthing different everytime i loved the book an cant wait for the next one rayne is a lovely character they all are an her freind are really funny somtimes im intrested to see where the next book leads
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 18 Aug. 2013
This review is from: The Light of the World (The Light Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A real page turner,I would recommend it. Couldn't put my kindle down. Really enjoyed this book and can't wait for the next book to come out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So So, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Light of the World (The Light Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Was Okay, not that bothered about the next book! Found the lead Character in the book a bit of a flake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The light of the world, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Light of the World (The Light Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Liked the characterisation and the development of the plot line and will certainly look for the next instalment. Not keen on present tense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't finish, 12 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Light of the World (The Light Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book just made me angry!! There was absolutely no depth to any of the chAracters nor was their any plausibility in their relationships. This book felt fake, rushed and utterly disconnected. Which is such a pity as it really had an excellent basis. Sorry I bought it,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your time or money., 6 Nov. 2013
By 
Serena Myles (Scotland, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Light of the World (The Light Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
To be honest, i don't know where to start with this one.

For me, it was bad. I only made it to chapter 6 and then gave up.

We are introduced to Rayne at the start of the book who is starting college against her hippie mothers wishes.

Due to her mothers beliefs Rayne doesn't smoke, drink and has been warned to stay away from boys.

When Rayne first arrives at college her mothers senses a bad aura so goes around cleansing the halls and gets other students to meditate, which i thought was quite entertaining. Rayne also meets her room-mate (who's name i can't remember) who the author repeatedly refers to being a body double of Blair from Gossip Girl. Which is why i most likely can't remember the characters real name. Fair enough mentioning the similarity the character has to an actress, but within 6 chapters this is mentioned at least once in every chapter. The room-mate often being referred to as 'Gossip Girl' or 'Blair Waldorf's stuntwomen' for me it was just a little OTT.

One of the characters that i loved was Michelle. Rayne knew Michelle from high school but back then she was known as Michael before her sex change. I have never come across this in a book before so really liked this idea in the book. However, Michelle's outrageous antics and hilarious behavior still wasn't enough for me to continue this story.

Some of the main points i have regarding the problems of this story are :

Rayne meets a boy (can't remember if his name had been mentioned by chapter 6, or if again i have just forgotten it) she falls in love at first sight but holds back because something tells her he's dangerous, and whenever he is around she gets pains in her stomach. I understand that this is something that was going to be developed more in the book, but seemed like a weak reason.
Chapter 5, Rayne is still a virgin, has no plans to lose her virginity, but because she keeps pushing the guy away and is quite mean to him when he is trying to help her - especially when she gets herself plastered in a club. She is feeling bad about herself because of a run in with said guy. Then Chapter 6 hits, Rayne is no longer a virgin and has not only slept with one guy but seems to be getting a few notches on her own bed post. (WTF! moment)
It is then stated that the guy she lost her virginity to - a character we haven't met previously - has been attacked. Her mother calls her as she can sense something has changed in Rayne, but without picking up on the sex thing she says she knows Rayne has eaten meat.

Overall, it felt like two different stories that had been plastered together. I actually though i had missed a chapter and back tracked, but i hadn't.

Rayne is very determined in what she wants at college as it is the first time she has been away from her over-protective mother, and without warning that all changes without any build up.

I get the feeling that this is something the author started writing, stopped for a while and then went back to it, but without re-reading what she had already written, as the characters personalities just seem to change like it's a different book being written.

If i could, i wouldn't even give this one star, but it won't let me post the review without at least one, but even that is more than this deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light of the world, 24 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Light of the World (The Light Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Loved it. It is fast paced and can get a bit confusing at times with who is on who's side but the played motives really add to this story. Eagerly awaiting the next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Light of the World (The Light Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The title it self says alot about the story. Tara Brown will make you want you pick the next instalment. Very inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The light of the world, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Light of the World (The Light Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book it is so original I can't wait for the next book to come out. Well written and atmospheric.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews