Customer Reviews


151 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A LESSON IN LONELINESS
This is such a good film, thought provoking, realistic and un-glamourised. Its the kind of film that will play on your mind and become even better as you relive it in your mind. Its an eye opener to how many distractions we have in our lives, and what it could be like if they were all taken away in a blink of an eye. The movie asks this question, is it a blessing or a...
Published on 4 Nov 2001 by Danny Bash

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bluray Review
This is a very barebones transfer to Bluray and extremely disappointing. I did a back to back comparison with the DVD and the image quality is not the improvement you'd expect from Bluray and doesn't seem to be of the quality discussed in reviews of the US Bluray release.

There are no special features, not even the director`s commentary audio track, which the...
Published 23 months ago by smcdermot


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A LESSON IN LONELINESS, 4 Nov 2001
This is such a good film, thought provoking, realistic and un-glamourised. Its the kind of film that will play on your mind and become even better as you relive it in your mind. Its an eye opener to how many distractions we have in our lives, and what it could be like if they were all taken away in a blink of an eye. The movie asks this question, is it a blessing or a curse to survive such a crash?
The whole scene of the plane crashing is terrifyingly real. You'll be holding your breath for a while.... The style used to make the island part of the movie is very effective at making the viewer uncomfortable. No music score whatsoever until very near the end which is very noticeable when it happens, like a breath of fresh air. You can feel though out the film, conscious decisions to not use tools like voice-overs to fill the silence. This I feel, keeps the viewer more at a distance from Chuck's feelings, but ultimately drags the viewer deeper into the miserable situation he is in, making the whole film more interactive in a way. Which is probably why the film has not been to everyone's tastes.
Castaway has left me with a similar feeling as when I saw new version of 'The Thin Red Line' Although almost in opposite ways, its very spiritual, like staring death in the face. Keep breathing, remind yourself who you used to be. Chuck has a picture of his girl. That old light at the end of the cave. And let's not forget Wilson, the best friend guy could have. :-)
The DVD is worth every penny. Quality is what you'd expect. There is also a massive interview with Tom Hanks, which he not only talks about Castaway, but Saving Private Ryan, Band of Brothers, and That thing you do. Ever since my all time favourite movie "Joe versus the volcano" Tom has just got a bigger and bigger star, and this film shows us why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars **********BLU-RAY REVIEW*********, 4 July 2012
By 
The usual suspect (2nd aisle on the right, top shelf) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've only ever seen Castaway in dribs and drabs. Somehow I would always end up watching 20 mins here and there when it was on TV. I saw it was about to come out on BD so I thought I'd finally force myself to watch it as a whole.
I wouldn't say it's one of my favourite movies of all time but it's still a good watch. A great story portrayed thoroughly by the director and Tom Hanks.

The HD quality is very good. Obviously, I don't have the DVD but I can say 100% that this will be worth the upgrade. The audio is very good also and adds plenty of atmosphere to many of the scenes.

Languages and subs are well catered for:

Languages: French DD5.1; German DD5.1; Italian DD5.1; Japanese DD5.1; Portuguese DD5.1; Spanish (Castillian) DD5.1; Spanish (Latin) DD5.1;

Subs: English, English (SDH), Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish and Swedish.

Runtime: 144mins
No extras - not even a free volleyball!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, shame it ended so quickly..., 5 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cast Away (2000) [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The film starts and continues through the main story (a pretty simple one!) with great wit and emotion, with Hanks pulling off a great solo performance. However the potential of the beautiful island setting is not exploited enough and the story comes to a whirlwind ending that left people in the cinema looking around wondering if it had actually ended. Great film but could have been much much improved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Life's a beach, 24 July 2012
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Chuck Noland is a man who lives by the clock. Working for Federal Express he accounts for every second of his life and lives for efficiency. His Xmas 1995 dinner is interrupted when work calls him away to supervise a flight to Malaysia. He promises his girlfriend Kelly that he'll be right back. He doesn't realize he's making a promise he can't keep.

While passing over the Pacific his plane enters a storm and ditches into the ocean, very violently. Chuck is the only survivor of the flight and manages to escape into the water with a life raft, but loses the radio transmitter in the process. When morning breaks he discovers that he has washed-up on an uninhabited island. Rescue does not come, and Chuck must figure out how to survive while torturing himself with memories of Kelly.

In an annoying cop-out, the film then jumps to Four Years Later where Chuck has reverted to a cave-man appearance. He's not a happy man, but his outlook changes when a steel section of a port-a-john washes up on the beach. Using a analemma he has etched onto a cave wall, Chuck is STILL keeping track of time and plans an escape from the island using the sheet of steel as a sail for his rickety raft to freedom.

Cast Away (not Castaway) has lovely sound design and photography (why Zemeckis chose to shoot it in 1.85:1 is rather odd though, as many shots seem uncomfortably tight), and really immerses you in the threatening silence of the island. It actually reminds me a lot of the video game Myst in that respect. But the film is book-ended by boredom. The only part I ever really watch is the middle section on the island. Skipping over Chuck's 4-year transformation from mailman to caveman was bad enough, but once he eventually makes his escape from the island the movie skips over the 4-weeks of his reintroduction to society, which is yet another cop-out.

Zemeckis attempts far too much ambiguity with Cast Away. It's usually a sign of a writer/director attempting to cover-up failings with mystery, but Cast Away is a better script than that and it comes across as just being pretentious. The middle section of the film is intriguing. The non-island scenes haven't got a leg to stand on.

The Blu Ray comes to the UK market courtesy of Dreamworks. Formally a Universal release on DVD in the UK, Cast Away was released by Fox in the American market on DVD in 2001 and BD way back in 2007. The UK release features a different transfer, framed at 1.78:1, in 1080p with DTS HD-MA sound. All of the extras featured on the US release have been thrown out, giving this $430 million film a cheap home video presentation. The US release is region-locked, so UK fans of the film are stuck with this. Don't pay more than a budget price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb. Hanks is a one man show !, 31 Jan 2002
By 
A lot of hype about this film, and I really thought I wouldn't enjoy it. I was wrong. The crash scene at the start was amazing. And what follows is unlike any film I've ever seen. Not many actors could pull it off. A truely enjoyable story that I could easily watch again and again.
BUY IT !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another masterpiece from the team of Zemeckis and Hanks!, 20 Aug 2001
I waited over a year to see Forrest Gump and as soon as I heard that the same director and actor were working on another film together I had to see it. As in Forrest Gump, Castaway is both gripping and moving. The script itself is incredibly crafted and Hanks' acting is once again second to none. This film is an absolute must see for any true movie lover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bluray Review, 8 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very barebones transfer to Bluray and extremely disappointing. I did a back to back comparison with the DVD and the image quality is not the improvement you'd expect from Bluray and doesn't seem to be of the quality discussed in reviews of the US Bluray release.

There are no special features, not even the director`s commentary audio track, which the Bluray surely has the space for. I'd recommend either sticking with the original DVD release or getting the US Bluray as it has so much more included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An undoubted masterpiece, 24 Feb 2003
Tom Hanks never gives a bad performance. And Robert Zemeckis very rarely produces a bad film. Let that be the premise to my review of an undoubted masterpiece of film.
Cast Away is a bold, brave and risky film, yet Tom Hanks and director Robert Zemeckis were nicely rewarded at the box office (if not the Oscars!) in the latter stages of 2000, and the early parts of 2001, and indeed right throughout its cinematic release.
On DVD, the Cast Away package is enhanced by the decent features on the bonus disc: there are lots of documentaries and featurettes, plus an informative audio commentary from Zemeckis and his production team.
The film itself is fantastic. It starts slowly and ends slowly, but I suppose most viewers will be most eager to catch the middle section of the movie, where Chuck (Hanks) and Wilson are stranded on the island - for a full 4 years!
For much of the movie, think 'silence'. It is basically a silent movie for an hour or so, for being stranded on a desert island is obviously a very lonely experience. It will become clear very quickly to Chuck that he has no immediate means of food, water, shelter, nor fire. His hopes of survival are constantly tempered by bouts of depression, exhaustion and a series of physical injuries. He resigns himself to the fact that he will probably die on that island. Very touching.
How on earth Tom Hanks didn't win his 3rd Oscar for that awesome performance I'll never know! It's a performance that will be very difficult to supersede. Hanks even had to repeat his infamous 'Philadelphia' weight-loss to make his food-deprived stay on the island all the more realistic.
In my opinion, this film has wonderful scenery (filmed on a remote island in the Pacific Ocean), very good cinematography, a decent score from Alan Silvestri (although we hear no music for the middle section of the film), but it really is Tom Hanks as Fed-Ex worker, Chuck Nolan, who steals the show with an exceptional demonstration of why he is considered the best actor in the world today.
At the Oscars in 2001, Gladiator swept the board, leaving Cast Away with virtually nothing. Sometimes there is just no justice at awards ceremonies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's so sad!, 5 Feb 2007
The movie gets off to a slow start, and to be honest nothing much happens but at the same time it's so not boring. the character's connections with his only 'friend' - Wilson the ball - are creepy at first but you come to understand and see the ball as a person yourself and it's just so sad. i cried and cried. the ending was also tear-jerking, but it's a story of survival and i think it's one that was told pretty well :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A palpable, incredibly emotional experience, 16 April 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Cast Away is just an amazing cinematic achievement. You don't just watch this movie; you really have to devote an entire night to it; it's just that powerful and moving. At almost two and a half hours in length, it is uncommonly long in and of itself (but it does not feel long to the enthralled viewer); figure in all of the incredible special features included in the 2-disc special edition, and you are looking at a whole night's worth of rich entertainment. Cast Away has just about everything you could want in a movie: romance, adventure, action, heartbreak, suspense, mystery, nature at its most ugly and most beautiful, you name it; most importantly, it manages, after several cathartic moments, to leave one with a sense of hope and a strange kind of joy. Tom Hanks takes us on an emotional roller coaster ride, and he deserves a tremendous amount of credit for making this film work as perfectly as it does. There really isn't a lot of dialogue during the time on the island; long drawn-out moments focus on Hanks' expression, body language, and emotion. When he finds a friend to talk to in Wilson, he makes that character really come alive and become a very real character in the film.
Don't think that this is just another Robinson Crusoe remake. Chuck Noland (Hanks) is an obsessive, deeply committed system engineer for FedEx. Everything for him must be planned and executed according to the limits of time, and so he is truly a duck out of water when his plane goes down in the middle of the Pacific Ocean and leaves him stranded all alone on a deserted island. Time is meaningless for him here, but he has a picture of the woman he loves with him to help him go on living when it would be so easy to just give up. He learns to survive on his own in the tropical environment, but not without much pain and battles with hopelessness. When the situation threatens to overwhelm him, the character of Wilson comes along. Wilson is a volleyball, but he has a face framed with Chuck's own blood and becomes the personification of the world of people he longs to return to. After four years on the island, Wilson is a true companion whom Chuck talks to, argues with, but dearly loves as a very real friend. The escape attempt from the island is very powerful, containing within itself more important truths and examples of the human spirit than I can name. It is also where the first tears begin to well up in my eyes. You might expect this type of film to end with a long-overdue rescue and return to a happy life, but in Cast Away, the real human drama is just getting started at this point. Chuck's return home to his friends and the woman he loves is so much more than bittersweet; having seemingly lost everyone and everything he cared for four years earlier, his miraculous return becomes another tale of great loss. This movie is a real tear-jerker; just when you think it's time to rejoice, you are met with more poignant heartbreak. Hope never dies, though, and the writers do a tremendous job of subtly presenting that heart-warming message.
I love Wilson; he is such a great character that, volleyball or not, I think he should have been nominated for a best supporting actor award. Amazingly, he really slipped into the movie by accident, yet much of this movie's power is conveyed through him. The inclusion of a featurette on the life and death of Wilson on the second DVD is a testament to his importance to this story. This second DVD is filled with an incredible selection of bonus features: features on the making of the film, its special effects, and a look at the beautiful and bonafide island paradise location of the filming; there is an interview of Tom Hanks by Charlie Rose, a survivalist documentary, and a movie-length commentary as well. You can't ask more from a movie than Cast Away gives you, and you can't ask for more from a DVD than this two-disc special edition delivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cast Away [DVD] [2000]
Cast Away [DVD] [2000] by Robert Zemeckis (DVD - 2013)
3.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews