Customer Reviews


203 Reviews
5 star:
 (173)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best acting I've ever seen!
I watched this film on TV recently, having never seen it before, I decided to watch it and see if it was as sad as people said. I too have NEVER cried at a film in my life, seriously, and I didn't think this would be any different. God was I wrong! The acting from both Moore and Swayze is absolutely amazing, and I began to completely feel Sam's frustrations when Molly...
Published on 27 May 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ghost
wasn't very impressed with the dvd-people rated it highly but I did not like it.
I would not say don't buy because everyone to their own
other people may enjoy watching it
Published 9 months ago by pat makin


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best acting I've ever seen!, 27 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Ghost [VHS] [1990] (VHS Tape)
I watched this film on TV recently, having never seen it before, I decided to watch it and see if it was as sad as people said. I too have NEVER cried at a film in my life, seriously, and I didn't think this would be any different. God was I wrong! The acting from both Moore and Swayze is absolutely amazing, and I began to completely feel Sam's frustrations when Molly can't hear him, and Molly's pain throughout the film. I think without good actors this film could have been quite bad, but with these two I honestly began to feel that the whole thing was real. At the end of the film there were tears in my eyes, something I didn't think would happen! If you havn't seen this film already I would seriously recommend it as it is one of the most touching films ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classic, 13 Sep 2007
By 
R. Mitchell "Raven96" (Brighton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of the most beautiful, and fun, love stories of all time.

This film will never age and is a garanteed uplifter for any woman feeling low.

Watched alone with a glass of wine or in the company of others for a chick flick night to remember Ghost is a definate must have for anyone with slushy taste.

It will have you laughing and crying the whole way through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghost has the power to really make you believe (Warning! may contain spoilers but everyone knows this movie by now,don't they), 4 Mar 2008
By 
Great White "GW" (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This film has helped me through so many bad times. Round about the time this was released on DVD i lost my mum to cancer. This was the last film I watched with her so nowadays it has sentimental value. This is a perfect film to watch if you're depressed as it does make you feel better after you watch it. This is my fave movie ever. I watch this nearly every month because I love the movie so much. This cannot be repeated twice, there can't be a sequel to it, It's a golden tear film (meaning weepie) The power that this film has is unbelievable. If you have lost a loved one then you'd know the power that i'm talking about. The acting is superb. Patrick really does make you believe in this character and this nightmare he is going through and by the end you really do feel the magic that the character goes through. It does really make you wonder what that life beyond death is really like. The romantic side of this film doesn't miss a beat. Patrick and Demi's chemistry is paramount to the story and it doesn't feel faked, it feels real. The inclusion of Whoopi Goldberg's character gives it a lighthearted style humour which by the end has a message to it. Jerry Zucker who recent flicks before this one were Airplane! does a great job mixing the heartfelt sentimentality with the stand out humour that you get when Patrick and Whoopi are together on screen. Whoopi quite rightly deserved that Oscar she got for this role. Her acting was brilliant. Two cast members has been outlooked by every one but without there characters this movie might not have worked. I'm talking about of course Tony Goldwyn as Karl and Rick Aviles as Willie. The subtile acting brings out their most evil side and you are genuinly shocked when you found out he was in on it the whole time. How could you allow your best friend to be murdered? You feel that their just desserts are quite literally deserved after how you see them as and what they had done to Sam. It is scary in some parts and even a little gruesome but the message does still shine through. Love is forever if you believe. By the end yes even i was in floods of tears. That is the power that this one has, to literally bring you to tears. No matter how hard you try, it will always do that. I have watched this time and time again and I still cry buckets at the end, even before the scene even starts, I'm already filling up. The end scene is the standout moment of the film. It is the magic of GHOST. There is no more powerful word than goodbye. Industrial Light and Magic create an effect that pulls at the heartstrings and the acting from the stars pulls even more. The real magic of this scene is Maurice Jarre's powerful soft instrumental theme of Unchained Melody. The soft violins lets the tears flow. It is truly beautiful. Even right now i'm thinking of it and i'm getting a lump in my throat. If you haven't seen this yet, see it now. If you want a great tearjerker, they don't come better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 30 Oct 2009
By 
S. Catterwell "topcatt" (Essex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Another classsic from the brilliant Swayze - how he will be missed! Bought on dvd to replace video because of the availability of subtitles on dvd - but a greatly loved film, great soundtrack and of course not only romance but humour! All the ingredients of a great film. Hugely watchable time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a real 'weepy', 4 Mar 2003
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Ghost is a film that essentially covers the theme of life after death and is about Sam (Patrick Swayze), his girlfriend Molly (Demi Moore) and their lives after Sam is murdered. Sam's spirit tries to contact Molly and reassure her he is all right but Molly has no belief in the afterlife. As far as she is concerned Sam is dead. When Sam realises who is behind his death his concern for Molly grows and he becomes desperate to get through to her. By chance he comes across Oda Mae, a charlatan medium who is as shocked as Sam is when she realises in fact she can hear him and she does have psychic abilities.
Whoopie Goldberg is the real scene-stealer as the reluctant medium trying to convince a sceptical Molly that Sam is still 'alive'. She manages to inject real humour into the role, which stops the film becoming too morose. Her reaction when she realises she is really psychic and is not just a fake conning bereaved people is hilarious.
This is a real tearjerker of a film, a box of tissues to hand is a must, but it is a film that is well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghost DVD 1990, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Brilliant. This film is one of those that we cannot get enough of. Having have gone through the experience of losing many of our loved ones, this film gives us the excellent feeling that we will be joining them in the afterlife when it is our turn to depart this world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
best love story ever!
a must have!
Will always find this film breathtaking.
R.I.P Patrick Swayze
His adored by many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A touching love story!, 21 Jan 2013
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ghost [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
'Ghost' is a wonderful movie, an excellent romance about true love that lasts eternally. But the film also covers a variety of other emotions as well, it is sad, funny and sometimes violent.

Set in New York, the lead characters Sam and Molly (played by Patrick Swayze and Demi Moor) are very much in love until Sam is mugged and murdered in front of her by a hitman called Willie (played by Rick Allan) and his best friend Carl (Tony Goldwyn).

Even after death, Sam is still persistent to let his wife know that he is still watching over and protecting her. He is able to do this will the help of his old fraud/psychic sidekick Oda Mae Brown (played Whoopi Goldberg who is just as hilarious as ever). Plenty of twists and turns are ensured as well as some difficulties that lie ahead. However, nothing can stop Sam's love from finding it's way.

Now, I'm a male, but i'll hold my hands up when I say that I almost filled up at the ending, which is truly moving. 'Ghost' is a film that deservedly was nominated for five Academy Awards, and hasn't lost any of it's power since.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TIMELESS CLASSIC, 27 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a true hollywood classic that always leaves an impact on you everytime you watch it. It is a unique love story that will make you laugh out loud one minute and be in tears the next. All the cast are outstanding in their roles but i do want to praise Tony Goldwyn's performance as Carl as i do think his performance has always been very overlooked by critics and reviewers over the years. He is excellent in the role of Carl (a character that is vital to the story)and makes a great screen villian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Now do you believe in ghosts?, 10 Nov 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Now do you believe in ghosts?
Sam Wheat is killed during a botched mugging but his spirit is stuck in spirit world limbo. Watching over his left behind lover, Molly, it becomes clear that there is far more to his killing than it at first seemed. Enlisting the help of kooky psychic Oda Mae Brown, Sam must protect the now in danger Molly whilst simultaneously getting to the bottom of his murder.

Ghost is a multi genre offering, not just purely a romantic weepy that its detractors would have you believe. Romance, fantasy, mystery, thriller, comedy and no little bit of spooky shenanigans all fuse together to form Jerry Zucker's monster box office smash of 1990. Made for $22 million, it has gone on to make a staggering $517 million worldwide, proof positive that the public by and large will buy into a simple story as long as it's put together well with the afore mentioned elements. The central theme of true love reaching from beyond the grave to prove itself eternal is something that most folk find endearing in a non sickly kind of way, with it naturally helped by having a cast list firing on all cylinders.

Tho Jerry Zucker's (Airplane/Top Secret) direction is uneven, it's to be expected when this is after all his first solo feature, he is however well served by his stars. Patrick Swayze wasn't wanted for the part of Sam Wheat, but he fought tooth and nail for the project and nailed the role with gusto and emotionally driven force. Demi Moore as Molly was never lovelier, trimmed short hair to reveal a gorgeous young face, her feeding off of Swayze's energy provides the film with its credible impetus. Whoopi Goldberg as Oda Mae turns in an Oscar winning performance, wonderfully funny, yet also at times sympathetic without over stretching the essence of the piece, while Tony Goldwyn and Vincent Schiavelli also provide two memorable (for the right reasons) performances. The effects work of course looks amazing for its time, none more so when the dark side of death is fully realised via shadows in the films most creepy moments, whilst the editing (Walter Murch) and screenplay (Oscar winning by Bruce Rubin) is from the top draw.

So yes it's safe to say that me, a butch middle aged bloke, is personally a fan of Ghost, there's a little bit of corn in there, especially in one particular dance sequence, but mainly the film is a pure delight. Helped by Maurice Jarre's hauntingly sweet score and boosted by the use of the magnificent Unchained Melody by The Righteous Brothers, Ghost is a film to revel in if you are prepared to let it get deep inside of you. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghost [DVD] [1990]
Ghost [DVD] [1990] by Jerry Zucker (DVD - 2013)
4.13
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews