Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless release for DePalma's 80 classic
I have always thought of this film as unique amongst gangster flicks, it has all the violence of Goodfellas or Casino but feels more like a Disney adventure in spirit, especially the rather saccharine relationship Ness has with his prissy wife. Still, it paints a gritty and credible picture of life in depression era America, and the performances from the "all star" cast...
Published on 30 Jan 2009 by K. O'Leary

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Untouchables
I recently ordered The Untouchables - The Special Edition DVD [1987] because of the pictures of the DVD within the product description. In the pictures it makes it seem as if you will get a DVD box with Kevin Costner on the front, a picture of Al Capone on the inside the cover, as well as a mock up newspaper on the flip side of the cover. It also appears that you will get...
Published on 21 Jun 2011 by chicklit_obsessed


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless release for DePalma's 80 classic, 30 Jan 2009
By 
K. O'Leary (Milton Keynes, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have always thought of this film as unique amongst gangster flicks, it has all the violence of Goodfellas or Casino but feels more like a Disney adventure in spirit, especially the rather saccharine relationship Ness has with his prissy wife. Still, it paints a gritty and credible picture of life in depression era America, and the performances from the "all star" cast are superb, although the "making of" documentary is keen to point out that Costner and Garcia were unknowns at the time; you wouldn't know that to watch them though.

The DVD release of the film already had a cracking picture, and now it's made the leap to Blu-Ray it looks amazing. Although there was no make-over specifically for BRD, I believe there was a re-master for the DVD (although it is not mentioned on the cover), so I presume this will be the same print. The perception of depth in particular is striking, almost like 3D. There is detectable fine grain and plenty of detail also, so hopefully the anti-DNR mob won't be laying into it like they have done for Zulu. The sound is also superb, there are no HD tracks but the DTS option (1.5 mbs no less!) in particular is clear and punchy, lifting Morricone's excellent score to a higher level than the Dolby only DVD ever did.

There are no BRD exclusive extras I'm afraid; you only get exactly what was on the DVD, that'll do for me but others may be expecting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Untouchable Gangster Classic, 12 Jun 2007
It is true that the story takes many liberties with the real-life accounts of Eliot Ness and Al Capone. Large portions of the film are radically altered for dramatic and narrative purposes. Many characters never existed. But, again, this is not a fault of the film. This movie does not purport to be a documentary or even a historical retelling of famous events: it is just a movie. Situations and events must be dramatized to create suspense, to draw out sympathies, to direct the audience's feelings. I have no problem with fictionalizing historical events for the purpose of the narrative; after all, films are only 'based' on a true story.

Kevin Costner and Sean Connery were both brilliant as was Robert De Niro,no one else could've done a better performance of Capone than De Niro. De Niro is brutal as hell in this film and yet he is charismatic and charming at the same time. Andy Garcia has a good minor role as a perfect sniper for the Untouchables while Charles Martin Smith is cheerful and funny as the slightly meek Oscar Wallace who becomes a tragic hero later on in the film.

Action-wise, The Untouchables is loaded. The most spectacular fight scenes in this movie are the Bridge battle, where little Oscar Wallace does an amazing performance, and the amazingly perfect Shootout in the Chicago Train Station which still surprises me every time I watch this film. The Tense music is perfect and the camera work is Hitchcockian. The only problem is Brian de Palma's tendency to bring the gore into his films. There's a lot of blood in this film and gets a little stomach-churning here and there. Despite that, The Untouchables rocks big time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 18 July 2007
By 
Tangerine "tangerineman" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I like this film. Kevin Costner plays the part of Eliot Ness who is intent on destroying Al Capone played by Robert De Niro and his criminal organisation. The film ticks along at a decent pace and Andy Garcia along with Sean Connery put in fine supporting performances. Connery actually puts in a lot of apparent effort into his role and the film benefits for it. You like the good guys and don't like the bad ones and this makes the end that little bit more satisfying. This film just relied on some decent performances which it got from its cast. Perhaps this is the lesson many of the films released today need to remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Movie Gold, 7 Aug 2007
By 
D. Newstead (Middlesex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well this is just the 24 carat gold business.
Beginning with Eliott Ness played fantastically by Kevin Costner getting a rum bust to Sean Connery interviewing an already dead guy and convincing people he is torturing him for information.

The villains of the piece are fantastic with Robert De Niro as Capone but also his side kick who takes a dive off a building at the end.

There are so many excellent set pieces and amazing lines especially from Connery about Italians taking knifes to a gun fight and the classic conversation in the church that persuades Ness to arrest Capone.

Oh dont forget the scene in slow motion with the pram bouncing down the stairs in the middle of the gunfight.

Just pure magic nothing else touches it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Al Capone is Robert De Niro, 6 Dec 2006
By 
M. Cotonou "film junkie AMCKJA" (kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Untouchables. Many say that this film is a little out of it... They are so lying! Brian De Palmas classic has all the perks and realitys of pre-godfather era or prohibition era chicago. It begs for a completly surprising twist which is performed many a time by Sean connery and his gang of Cops who swear to take down Al capone. The scenes in this are immense. take the train steps scene. Guns blazing off at eachother, teamwork by 2 of the untochables off to kill a big fat bloke, whats more, we never expected that guy in the white suit to be pushed off an enormous building, Which gave a few laughs! De Niros acting shines again! His imitation of the greedy capone is awesome, no doubt. Its a wicked film. whatchable, fun and a great laugh. watch it. love it. own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Untouchables, 18 July 2005
Excellent gangster movie set during prohibition era America about real life government agent Elliot Ness, who together with his unit of 'untouchable' officers brought Chicago mobster Al Capone to justice. In his breakthrough role, Kevin Costner plays Ness, Robert De Niro gives an unforgettable performance as Al Capone and there is also great support from Charles Martin Smith, Andy Garcia and Sean Connery (who won an Oscar here for his portrayal of veteran cop Malone). This film not only boasts a top notch plot and some excellent acting but also features fantastic music from Ennio Morricone (whose score for Sergio Leone's 'The Good, The Bad and The Ugly' reached no. 1 in the world pop charts) as well as some unforgettable cinematic moments like the Station steps gunfight. Overall this is a masterpiece from director Brian De Palma, who also made another top quality gangster epic Scarface.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Untouchables-Blu-ray, 9 Oct 2010
By 
Peter M. (Queensland, Australia) - See all my reviews
As the film is well known, I won't spend time on its' review but will concentrate on the Blu-ray transfer. In a word, the transfer is superb- with excellent colours,sharpness and a natural feel that comes close to reference quality. The sound,with that haunting theme,is even more vibrant and chilling. A wonderful classic, made even better by this Blu-ray transfer. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Somebody messes with me, I'm gonna mess with him", 11 Dec 2005
I am what you could call a relatively new movie fan. I have always liked movies, but I didn´t use to watch too many of them. Things have changed, but due to that previous attitude, I still have a lot of old movies to “discover”. That is the reason why from time to time I find some jewels that were released a long time ago, but that are totally new to me. “The untouchables” (1987) is, of course, one of such movies.
This film is set in Chicago, during the prohibition, a time were mobsters had enormously increased their influence due to the contraband of alcohol. The most important of all mobsters was Al Capone (wonderfully played by Robert De Niro), whose influence was pervasive and somehow accepted by most as a fact of reality. Capone controlled Chicago with force and bribes, and a philosophy that the scriptwriter of this movie (David Mamet) summed up in a phrase that the actor that plays Capone said: “Somebody messes with me, I'm gonna mess with him”.
Things change when a newcomer to the city, Federal agent Elliot Ness, forms a small group to fight crime and target Capone´s shady dealings. The group formed by Ness, an old Chicago cop (Sean Connery), a rookie police officer (Andy Garcia) and an accountant (Charles Martin Smith), replays in a highly entertaining way Brian de Palma´s cinematographic version of “The untouchables”.
I should point out that you shouldn´t expect a movie that tells you the historical truth about that period in America´s history. If that is your purpose, you are likely to be sorely disappointed. However, if you want to watch a great film, with wonderful performances and marked by a dynamic pace, rent this movie :)
Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best but worth watching, 2 Mar 2008
By 
Ms. J. D. Penn "Jod Peeeeee" (Esssex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I wasn't as impressed as i have been with some gangster films but again the acting was spot on. Kevin Costner was awsome, i didnt realise what an actor he was until i saw this. De Niro was excellent as always. The story line was a little predictable but was easy to follow. If you love gangster films then the chances are you'll love this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of DePalma's best, 19 Sep 2004
The Untouchables was originally released in the UK three years ago on a disc without significant extra features.
This new Collectors Edition adds some featurettes but isn't otherwise particularly distinguished.
There are 5 featurettes on the disc. They are pretty interesting but predictable all the same.
"Script" and "Cast" running at about 15 minutes each deal with...what did you expect...the script and cast.
"Production Stories" is better with more recent interviews from the Director himself.
"Re-inventing the Genre" deals mainly with the deaths on screen and the border scene, but good all the same.
Then there's the Trailers to beef it up.
Lastly "The Untouchables" still remains one of my favorite films, and one of Connery's standout performances. It also contains one of film's most memorable shoot-out's. (The train station near the end), priceless!
Its a gangster flick and it's violent; pretty much everytime Pacino is on screen he looks unpredictable.
A classic, but I don't know if the extras are strong enough to warrant updating your current version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Untouchables [DVD] [1987]
The Untouchables [DVD] [1987] by Brian De Palma (DVD - 2013)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews