Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lemon Popsicles & Strawberry Milkshakes - Love Me Do
A great collection of golden oldie music from early 60's, a nice bit of nostalgia from my teenage years, all nicely put together in a 3 Cd set.
Published 11 months ago by John heeley

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Boring MOR Music.
It is more or less a boring thing. Some of the tracks are really good but many are unknown MOR songs.

Britta
Published 10 months ago by Britta Påhlsson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lemon Popsicles & Strawberry Milkshakes - Love Me Do, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lemon Popsicles and Strawberry Milkshakes - Love Me Do (Audio CD)
A great collection of golden oldie music from early 60's, a nice bit of nostalgia from my teenage years, all nicely put together in a 3 Cd set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection, mostly from 1962, 1 July 2014
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lemon Popsicles and Strawberry Milkshakes - Love Me Do (Audio CD)
Possibly the last in a series of compilations titled Lemon Popsicles and Strawberry Milkshakes, this one mostly focuses on 1962, the most recent year for which recordings have been released into the public domain under European copyright law. A change in that law means that 1963 recordings will not move into the public domain until 2034.

This one is notable for having three early Beatles tracks - one with Tony Sheridan (My Bonnie) on which the Beatles may have been John Lennon, Paul McCartney, George Harrison, Stu Sutcliffe, and Pete Best and two with the famous line-up of John, Paul, George and Ringo (Love me do, plus its B-side, PS I love you). Is it coincidence that the law was changed in time to give the later Beatles recordings an extra 20 years copyright protection? I don't know, but it wouldn't surprise me.

I see that the early sixties are dismissed as easy listening music by some people. I don't see anything wrong with easy listening music; I've listened to, enjoyed and reviewed plenty myself, but after what some might have seen as an overdose of rock 'n' roll, it may just be that music buyers at that time, including teenagers of the day, wanted to take a breather.

There is actually plenty of great music, certainly not the type that could use to drop off to sleep to, featuring plenty of big early sixties his that remain popular today. I've heard the vast majority of the tracks many times before, although I don't remember Little black book (Jimmy Dean - better known for Big bad John) or If only tomorrow (Ronnie Carroll). I probably have heard them and may even own copies elsewhere, but maybe I should buy individual compilations by these artists.

This is an excellent budget compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Popsicles, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lemon Popsicles and Strawberry Milkshakes - Love Me Do (Audio CD)
Nothing more to add really these sets are great and good value. Unbeatable. I need 7 more words to finish this tribute to my youth! Will that do?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1962 Hit Parade, 1 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lemon Popsicles and Strawberry Milkshakes - Love Me Do (Audio CD)
This 3 CD set is basically a greatest hits package of 1962 from the UK & the USA although, Island Of Dreams and The End The World spent most weeks in the charts in 1963. Green Onions reached no.3 in the USA in 1962 but did not chart in the UK until 1980. It looks like this release is another one due to Public Domain, I.e. anyone can release tracks issued before and up to the end of 1962. The CD's include Beat Groups, so called Teen Idols, Girl Groups and Solo Singers, Surf, Soul, Jazz, Country and Easy Listening. Typical of music pre Beatles, many of the artists included, disappeared from the charts after the Fab Four and their peers arrived in 1963. It's a good selection from that year big hits and minor ones. Well worth the purchase price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lemon Popsicles and Strawberry Milkshakes - Love Me Do (Audio CD)
Bought this as a gift for my mother, excellent bargain. Will be buying more of the collection. Packaged well, delivered earlier than expected ( Always a bonus) Thank you to all concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Boring MOR Music., 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lemon Popsicles and Strawberry Milkshakes - Love Me Do (Audio CD)
It is more or less a boring thing. Some of the tracks are really good but many are unknown MOR songs.

Britta
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lemon Popsicles and Strawberry Milkshakes - Love Me Do
Lemon Popsicles and Strawberry Milkshakes - Love Me Do by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews