Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Expirienc
This is an amazing game. One of the best I have ever played. It took a little time to get used to the controls, but the work the team put into making it is nothing short of spectacular. It is very detailed and if I have to say something bad about it, I simply cannot. A must have for every DC fan, adventure games fan, hell, every PS3 owner should have a copy of the game...
Published 18 months ago by Andrew

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A Dark Day for The Dark Knight
Like the title says It's a Dark day for the dark knight in this outing.
This game plays like a game from the early 80's with graphics to match,If you don't believe me go out & buy the game for your self.then you'll wish you had paid more attention to my reviewing skills.If you've seen any of my other reviews then you'll probably know that I don't take any...
Published 5 months ago by Freedom Of Speech


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Expirienc, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City - Game of the Year (PS3) (Video Game)
This is an amazing game. One of the best I have ever played. It took a little time to get used to the controls, but the work the team put into making it is nothing short of spectacular. It is very detailed and if I have to say something bad about it, I simply cannot. A must have for every DC fan, adventure games fan, hell, every PS3 owner should have a copy of the game. As far as the GOTY edition goes, it gives access to:

===> Catwoman story as it happens
===> Riddler's Revenge
===> Harley Quinn's Revenge
===> All the costumes for Batman, Catwoman, Nightwing and Robin
===> All the challanges for Batman, Catwoman, Nightwing and Robin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing game!, 24 Aug 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City - Game of the Year (PS3) (Video Game)
Batman Arkham city is an awesome addition to the Arkham franchise. It has an incredible story with a set of side missions that are very fun to do. The game has an huge open world that allows you to glide though Arkham city and fight thugs. Also Arkham city carried over the riddler trophies from the last game. Batman also has a wide range of new gadgets that really help you with stealth and combat, unfortunately this game has no multiplayer but makes up for it with an incredible single player. Also this game allows you to play as catwomen, robin and nightwing which is a cool feature. That's why I give this game a full 10/10!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best games on PS3, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Ivo Santos (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City - Game of the Year (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is fantastic, great gameplay and you got many side missions to extend your time play. This recommended for all Batman fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman: Arkham City Review, 4 July 2013
By 
F. T. Harris "D0PP£LG@NG3R" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City - Game of the Year (PS3) (Video Game)
Just thought to write a quick review for anyone who is on the fence about this game so knowing that here it is.
If you played arkham asylum and loved it you will love this one more as I even though hey couldn't beat it due to comic book games getting bad wrap thes days but be rest asured you won't regrat it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Super Hero Game Ever Made!, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City - Game of the Year (PS3) (Video Game)
I love this game. The amount of freedom and gadgets you require is great. This game makes you feel like Batman and the added extras like the catwoman, robin DLC help flesh out the game more after the main campaign is finished. I strongly recommend this game to anyone who hasn't experience the game yet or haven't experience the DLC. The Graphics are top draw, the graphics look great on my 42 inch tv and the colours are vibrant. I can't wait for Batman Origins to come out later this year, which is set before this game. As this Generation of consoles comes to a close why not go out with a bang and play this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am vengeance I am the night I AM BATMAN!, 17 April 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City - Game of the Year (PS3) (Video Game)
Let's all hear a loud HURRAY for this succesful attempt at finally inventing the perfect superhero experience.
This is by far the greatest Superhero game I have ever played.
My experience with such adapatations of our modern mythological legends goes way back.
My first game of such a kind was Spiderman for the Playstation (PSX)
and even as a kid I knew that something was off, that the experience was never quite right with any of these games.
Spiderman 2 (the game based on Sam Raimi's movie) finally got the webslinging down.

But enough about Spidey and Marvel for that matter.
Arkham Asylum was a deep vibrant adaptation of the DC hero's legendary crimefighting life, but we reached a new level of epic gaming with this Sequel, where everything works the way you would want it to!

From the moment I picked it up to the moment I was done I couldn't put the game away, I had to get everything down.
First the story, then the side missions, the trophies triggered by certain events and finally the riddler trophies!
Before I knew it I had reached 100 % in story mode, everything that could be collected, completed and pulled off was done.

+ I completed every difficulty setting from Easy to normal to Hard and finally, New game + <-- which is the hardest difficulty setting
This is very rare for me since I tend to play games and give them a rest before I would even consider trying another difficulty setting.
I usually only crave story mode for my gaming kicks, but it simply wasn't enough for this game.

And I still wanted more, so on to the Playstation Network and download some beefy expansion to continue my epic adventure as the Dark Knight.
I ended up buying the whole lot of DLC and when I recently made a new friend whom so happend to be a fellow DC loving nerd, I couldn't resist gifting this very game that's got it all + an animated movie Year one (I believe it is)
PERFECT gift for a DC enthusiast, or even just a comic book fan.

If you loved the animated series as a kid like my self and many others! You HAVE to get this game, and it is essential that you get the G.O.T.Y Edition since you will crave MORE when you have ripped your way through the remaining content like a kid on christmas morning/eve

Or generally just like a drewling DC fanboy like my self.
Mark Hamill behind the Joker and Kevin Conroy THE voice of Batman, you just can't go wrong.

When I occasionally stray from my JRPG path, THIS is the kind of game that I want to claw my fingers into for weeks.
Immersive and deep, thoughtful action games like these are of the rarest kind, and you will be missing out like I did for a whole year after its official release, you will ask yourself much like I did
"Why the hell did I hesitate?"

As a fan of action games you will want this game,
but as a DC fan you NEED this game.

Hell, just writing this review made me want to play it again.
I'm off.

Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars grandchildren love it, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City - Game of the Year (PS3) (Video Game)
kids love his game very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good game!, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City - Game of the Year (PS3) (Video Game)
Fiance loves it! Really good game. Fast delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GOTY Edition Review (PS3), 25 April 2014
By 
M Thompson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City - Game of the Year (PS3) (Video Game)
Batman conjures images of intense combat, devious villains, and devastating gadgets, but there is so much more beneath this comic facade. There is, to be short, honor. Intense and unyielding, Batman stands as a symbol for good and righteousness in the face of seemingly insurmountable evils. In a similar vein, Batman: Arkham City finds itself cowering before a monumental task; to improve upon and outshine its predecessor. Much like Batman, Arkham City fights valiantly and utilizes ingenuity, but unfortunately for us all every hero must face mortality. Shrouded in the hype of perfection, AC simply cannot live up to these expectations under scrutiny. Still, this is the Batman. And what AC does right, it does better than most.

In terms of gameplay, Arkham City is a mixed bag of sorts. Combat resembles a free-form wave; a fluid motion of carnage. Batman dances around the field of battle, eliminating varied foes as easily as one would expect him too. This brilliant feat is a joy to watch, but not always a joy to play. Combat, from the start, is plagued by a sense of repetition, and one which no number of gadgets or finishing moves can alleviate. Each fight, whether against a plethora of similar minded enemies or a jumble of diverse foes, boils down to the simple idea of attack and counter-attack. The player can attempt to make these battles as difficult or as flashy as he deems fit, but that does not alter the fact that almost every fight can be effectively surmounted without much effort. Fortunately, a stealth oriented mode for combat greatly relieves this complaint. There is little else comparable to perching above a group of unsuspecting soldiers and knowing that soon enough each and every one of them will be dispatched; preferably, without the others having a chance to fire off so much as a warning shot. In summation, combat offers as much joy as the player is willing to extract from it.

Alas, boss fights are an almost entirely negative experience. Repetitive to the point of insult, these encounters are, except for one notable exception, entirely unoriginal and uninspired. Ninety percent of said brawls involve a beat em' up with some recently acquired gadget, a short interactive or cinematic fight, and then an identical section demanding what has already been accomplished. Two forms or sections in boss encounters are not new, but there is no excuse for their existence if nothing drastically new is altered between sections. Still, all is not lost. In light of spoilers, I will refrain from mentioning details, but let it be known that one boss in particular is extremely enjoyable and requires both thought and patience to conquer.

Another area of gameplay revolves around The Riddler. Acting as Arkham City's collection quest, this ingenious villain has hidden a plethora of trophies in devious and perplexing locations. Without a doubt, at least for this reviewer, solving these puzzles and completing the side quests associated with them was the high point of the Arkham City experience. The majority of these riddles are ingeniously crafted and many require story and gadget progression to effectively solve. Additionally, as one collects aforementioned secrets, The Riddler offers challenges to save previously kidnapped hostages. Brilliantly done, and with a design that demands to be lauded, The Riddler and his secrets are a fiendishly pleasing enigma to crack… no pun intended, of course.

Other than combat and secret hunting, Arkham City boasts an impressive world to explore. From the very start, the player is let loose into the mangled and corrupted streets to adventure and explore as he sees fit. Side quests abound, and most are interesting enough to warrant completing. This open world tendency, unfortunately, seems to have been an excuse for a drastically shortened main campaign. At around ten hours, without partaking in ancillary activities, Arkham City's primary objectives feel rushed and somewhat unfulfilling. Luckily for us all, the open world and optional quests are fairly intriguing and offer an enjoyable distraction. In short, the world increases the game's longevity without hindering the primary tale being told.

Moving to graphics, the viewer will immediately be sucked into the decrepit surroundings. Bleakly frigid buildings, snowy darkness, and dank underbellies all await the player. They are expertly rendered and aid in suspending the disbelief so easily associated with a comic oriented video game. Batman looks somewhat off, but enemies and bosses more than make up for his graphical quirks. Almost perfect, the visual aspects of Arkham City are a treat for all.

Music and sound offer yet another give and take. Most of the ambient sounds and tracks are fitting, yet entirely forgettable. Sound effects are crisp and mostly satisfying. Nothing majorly impressive, but also nothing that majorly detracts. Voice acting, though, offers two hands filled with drastically differing results. In one, we find Mark Hamill and his terrifying, hilarious, and at times poignant Joker. In the other, we have a completely uninspired Penguin. One villain or hero will be voiced with enthusiasm and passion, the next with such lack of effort that it boggles the mind. Just like combat and gameplay, one must enter this world without expectation to truly enjoy the experience.

When taking inspiration from such varying source materials, Arkham City does a surprisingly adequate job of crafting an elaborate journey without resorting to cringe-worthy comic book tropes. Let's be honest, there are indeed some, but there is also a sense of maturity and darkness that pervades the story without completely overtaking it. Twists abound, some well thought out and others predictable, and the pacing ranges from breakneck to nearly perfect. Where some problems arise, though, are the myriad of villains. Put bluntly, there are simply too many for them to be adequately fleshed out. At times, they feel like simple checkpoints being presented to the player only for nostalgia or fan value. As previously stated, the story goes by too quickly to detail these villains the way they deserve. Unfortunately, some become cardboard cutouts to be mercilessly dispatched without care or realized motive.

Finally, replay value exists in full force. The open world, in and of itself, increases longevity and replay potential immensely. No route to a location is ever the same unless the player desires it to be. Cascading around the city never offers the same experience twice, and dropping into new battles and brawls rarely gets old. With hundreds upon hundreds of Riddler trophies and secrets and numerous side quests to complete, a player willing to experience the majority of content here is looking at at least twenty plus hours of entertainment value.

Overall, Batman: Arkham City offers what any true Batman fan could hope for. A massive cast of characters, a combat system that lets our hero show his stuff, and an open world to glide, trek, and grapple across. Certain aspects bring the experience down, especially boss fights and hastily detailed villains, but the sense of immersion far outweighs these downfalls. Be the Batman. This game is by no means the perfect one that so many have claimed, but it's better than most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best on PS3, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: Arkham City - Game of the Year (PS3) (Video Game)
Characters are so close to the comics. Definitely a must have in a decent collection. Need to be done anyway if you're not a collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman: Arkham City - Game of the Year (PS3)
Batman: Arkham City - Game of the Year (PS3) by Warner Bros Interactive Entertainment (PlayStation 3)
£11.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews