Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy a Lady A Christmas!
On This Winter's Night is Lady Antebellum's first full Christmas album, but six of the songs were originally included on their A Merry Little Christmas EP. So you're now getting an extra 6 songs.

They cover some less than obvious choices, such as This Christmas, Christmas (Baby Please Come Home), Blue Christmas and a great rendition of Mariah's classic All I...
Published on 20 Nov. 2012 by IrishCountryGal

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars usual standard?
not quite what i was expecting,
mostly enjoyable. unusual version of silver bells, and i did enjoy their rendition of silent night!
Published on 16 Dec. 2012 by Rica


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy a Lady A Christmas!, 20 Nov. 2012
This review is from: On This Winter's Night (Audio CD)
On This Winter's Night is Lady Antebellum's first full Christmas album, but six of the songs were originally included on their A Merry Little Christmas EP. So you're now getting an extra 6 songs.

They cover some less than obvious choices, such as This Christmas, Christmas (Baby Please Come Home), Blue Christmas and a great rendition of Mariah's classic All I Want For Christmas Is You.
With some of the usual classics like The First Noel, Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas and Silver Bells. Lady A also do a rousing version of Silent Night(Lord Of My Life), a version of the carol that I've never heard before.

The title track is the only original on the album and that's really where the heart of this album lays.

While there is still room for improvement on this Christmas album, Hillary, Charles and Dave's harmonies sound as strong as ever and make On This Winter's Night a great addition to any Christmas collection.

Prime Cuts: All I Want For Christmas Is You, The First Noel, Silent Night(Lord Of My Life), Blue Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lady antebellum, 13 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On This Winter's Night (Audio CD)
Couldnt wait to receive this cd and was very pleased with it when first listened to it. They put their own country twist on well known carols. superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lady Antebellum : On This Winter's Night, 15 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On This Winter's Night (Audio CD)
I'm a big fan of Lady Antebellum. So I bought it with mixed feelings : on the one hand loving their brand of country music. But on the other hand not sure about them doing Christmas songs. But I needn't have worried. It is a very entertaining album from start to finish. Instead of the usual country backing they have on most of their albums : albeit a little heavy sometimes : they have a strong jazz backing on some of the tracks here more prominently on the faster numbers. heavy piano in some places. heavy brass in others. and it comes across great. The First Noel is a treat to hear from Hilary. But then Silent Night is even better.
But you haven't heard anything until you hear Charles Kelley singing Blue Christmas.
I've always loved Elvis singing it especially his live version of it on his famous 1968 Comeback Concert where he sings in his famous black leather with the other band members all sitting in a circle and it's available on DVD. You can see it on YouTube.
And while you're looking at that, also thanks to modern technology, you can also see the exact same concert appearance when Martina Mcbride steps onto the same stage beside Elvis and they both sing Blue Christmas to each other. It's briliantly joined together especially as I'm quite sure she wasn't even born in 1968 at the time of the concert.
But as great as they are doing it, Lady Antebellum are even better. The band backing the song are playing such great jazz that you can't keep still and I will admit every time it reaches that track I can't resist repeating it again and again even when I'm driving in my car. People are looking. It's August and I'm repeating a Christmas song over and over again.
In short. 5 stars. Get it. You'll be glad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars usual standard?, 16 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On This Winter's Night (Audio CD)
not quite what i was expecting,
mostly enjoyable. unusual version of silver bells, and i did enjoy their rendition of silent night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On This Winter's Night (Audio CD)
Perfect soundtrack to a perfect Christmas! We got a lot of enjoyment out of this and a great change to the normal Christmas songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this album, 10 Dec. 2012
By 
Mrs. Kathleen Swan "Kath" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On This Winter's Night (Audio CD)
Really pleased I ordered this CD, been playing it non-stop in my car all weekend! It's basically Lady Antebellum's version of popular Christmas songs but their versions are brilliant. Their song 'on this Winter's night' is really good, a lovely number. Highly recommend all LA fans to buy this CD - you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Christmas again, 4 Dec. 2012
By 
J. Scott-mandeville "jackie veronica" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On This Winter's Night (Audio CD)
Strictly for Lady Antebellum fans, this Christmas album will be a delight on the CD player over the festive season and make a nice change from Rod Stewart, Michael Buble, or Katherine Jenkins. Lively and enjoyable, you can sit and listen or have it on in the background to dance to in the kitchen as you're basting the turkey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On This Winter's Night (Audio CD)
I love Christmas albums and this album is right up there with the best.
Beautiful versions of popular songs as well as original work make this album the sound track for a family Christmas. Love it and really don't want to put it away till next Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good music, 20 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On This Winter's Night (Audio CD)
I am really enjoying this album at Christmas. The songs are good even though cover songs of oldies.
This will be played over Christmas more than any others in our home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait for Christmas to get here now, 11 April 2013
By 
Brida "izumi" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: On This Winter's Night (Audio CD)
I was given this CD as a birthday present. Listening to it in the car, even though the weather seemed to be more like winter than spring, it did feel a little strange enjoying the festive spirit at this time of the year. However, now that I have heard it, I am looking forward to playing it to help get me into the festive mood later in the year. Their voices suit the song choices really well. And the songs included here are of good quality - often Christmas albums can be more than a little cheesy to say the least, but the songs here have a little bit of class.
Roll on Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On This Winter's Night
On This Winter's Night by Lady Antebellum
Buy MP3 Album£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews