Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!
I don't usually leave reviews but felt compelled to for this album. I have no clever words or sentences but quite simply this album is brilliant (prefer it to Uno) and definitely one of my Green Day fave's, I love every track on it. Dunno what else to say, it's just an utterly brilliant album which really kicks ass, Green Day style, and CANNOT wait to see them play this...
Published 21 months ago by Lily Put

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dropping a dos
I'm not one of those Green Day fans who sullenly complain that Green Day don't sound like they did in the 90s and that everything they do these days is powerpop - I loved Green Day in the 90s, I loved Green Day in the 00s, and in the 10s? I still love these guys. "Uno" was a great little record, way underrated, and had it's share of catchy numbers and enough moments to...
Published 20 months ago by Sam Quixote


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dropping a dos, 3 Dec 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: iDos! (Audio CD)
I'm not one of those Green Day fans who sullenly complain that Green Day don't sound like they did in the 90s and that everything they do these days is powerpop - I loved Green Day in the 90s, I loved Green Day in the 00s, and in the 10s? I still love these guys. "Uno" was a great little record, way underrated, and had it's share of catchy numbers and enough moments to remind me of why I love Green Day. Unfortunately, the follow-up, "Dos", is less impressive record.

I'll start with the songs I liked. "Stray Heart" might be the best song on the record. It's ridiculously catchy and has this bouncy, toe-tapping bass that you can dance to and not just pogo up and down to like in live shows but actually dancing. It's very un-Green Day in that its not punk-pop but it's still a really fun and enjoyable tune. Conversely, "Ashley" is the most Green Day sounding song on the record ("Nimrod"-era GD) with a catchy hook and driving beat, complete with trademark Tre drums. The closing song, "Amy", is Billie-Joe's tribute ballad to Amy Winehouse but beside the sentiment is a really great tune and is the song I've come back to more than any other on this record. Great sound, it has a very bare arrangement with just vocals and guitar. "Wild One" would be my final pick of the good songs on this record. It's catchy as hell with a slow and pounding beat. It sounds like a Noel Gallagher song from "Morning Glory" era Oasis complete with full on have-it guitar solo.

There were only a couple of songs I completely disliked. "Lady Cobra" is a total rip off of the White Stripes' "Fell in Love with a Girl" but not nearly as good and "Nightlife" is this record's "Kill the DJ". It's just plain bad, slow, stupid, interminable, and has this horrible rap throughout. Really wish this had been left off the record.

As for the others, well - you know the phrase "damning with faint praise"? That's what sums up the rest of the songs. "Baby Eyes", "Lazy Bones", "Stop When the Lights Flash Red", and "Wow! That's Loud" all have nice moments, a cool riff, but are ultimately forgettable b-sides. "**** Time" has this really weird moment where Billie-Joe goes "aaahhh aaahhh" into the mic. You know when someone imitates a large crowd cheering? That's what it sounds like. And "Makeout Party" is funny (middle aged guys rocking out about spin the bottle and truth or dare) with a great bassline but is still a really average song.

After a strong start with "Uno", "Dos" is a dip in quality but has a few excellent songs on it that are definitely worth checking out. Here's hoping Green Day finish their 2012 trilogy strong with "Tre".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, 17 Nov 2012
This review is from: ĦDOS! [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
I don't usually leave reviews but felt compelled to for this album. I have no clever words or sentences but quite simply this album is brilliant (prefer it to Uno) and definitely one of my Green Day fave's, I love every track on it. Dunno what else to say, it's just an utterly brilliant album which really kicks ass, Green Day style, and CANNOT wait to see them play this stuff live in June. Rock on Billie, you guys still have it big time! Buy it and listen to it, Ashley and Lazy Bones are immediately likeable and have you humming on all day, Lady Cobra, Makeout Party, Stop, and Wow! all just very 'up' and punky songs which remind me of Christians Inferno, and F*** Time, well that's just FUN! And obviously influence by the Beatles, not a bad thing! Really, what's not to love about this album?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Showcase for depth of talent, 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iDos! (Audio CD)
I love this album!
It is unusual for Green Day in that there are a mix of styles, ranging from the Everly Brothers-esque 'See You Tonight', via more the catchy pop 'Stay the Night' (more than a nod to A Town called Malice'), the female rap on the grunge song 'Nightlife', to the good old Rock'n'Roll of 'Lady Cobra' & 'Stop When the Red lights Flash'.
This album demonstrates that Green Day have far more strength & depth in creativity & performance & Billie Joe Armstrong's voice has far more range & versatility, than they are given credit for.
My personal favourites are 'Lazy Bones','Stop When the Red Lights Flash' & 'Lady Cobra' - the last two I have seen performed live & they both blew the audience away with their energy.
This album may disappoint 'old school' Green Day fans looking for remakes of Dookie & Insomniac, but if you are prepared to keep an open mind, there is a rich seam of musical talent running throughout. Once Tre is out in December (& that has some awesome tracks on it, including the hauntingly beautiful 'The Forgotten' from the film Breaking Dawn pt2), it will be interesting the play the 3 albums together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kids, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iDos! (Audio CD)
not mine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant condition quick delivery no problems at all thanks, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iDos! (Audio CD)
Brilliant condition quick delivery no problems at all thanks .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the 3, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iDos! (Audio CD)
A brilliant album. No tracks to skip. Uno and Tres are okay but Dos is definitely the pick of the bunch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Green Day, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iDos! (Audio CD)
I love green day since seeing them live. Have brought a number of their albums and this ranks with the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 4 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iDos! (Audio CD)
Well apparently as always I'm the exception to the norm because I instantly loved this album and it actually remains my favourite of the three!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 25 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ĦDOS! [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
This album has great songs and they are a great band. Not much more needed really - other than I definately recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as uno, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iDos! (Audio CD)
As a green day fan i was excted to see these new group of albums come out. They are not the best but are enjoyable to listen to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ĦDOS! [Explicit]
¡DOS! [Explicit] by Green Day
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews