Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine and unusual story.
I loved this very unusual book. Told fondly, but not blinded by sentiment. On the surface it is a memoir of harder times than ours. Those lives described were made bearable by good hearts and the Valleys humour: wry and companionable. In that sense alone, of a memoir, it would be fine, but unexceptional. What separates it from many recollections of lost working class...
Published 20 months ago by Bill Robison

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not about Tenby
I bought this as was heading to Tenby and like reading about a place I've been to/going to etc... An ok read overall but much more about life in the valleys than Tenby, so rather disappointed.
Published 13 months ago by Daisy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine and unusual story., 3 Nov 2012
I loved this very unusual book. Told fondly, but not blinded by sentiment. On the surface it is a memoir of harder times than ours. Those lives described were made bearable by good hearts and the Valleys humour: wry and companionable. In that sense alone, of a memoir, it would be fine, but unexceptional. What separates it from many recollections of lost working class culture is that the social history stands second to the true emotional heart of the story. The young central character's tale is projected onto lives lived in a period before the author's own childhood. Yet this is no work of fiction. Historical events from the remote world's stage, jostle unequally with significant local preoccupations and tragedies. Told with a surging good humour, by turns kindly and comic. And by times, a wistful commentary is made on both that past world, and the present one. This is not a history of Kings and Queens, but the honestly told experiences of ordinary people. More particularly, it is the history of what was most personal for one boy. And that boy became a man. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book, 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Coal Trip to Tenby (Kindle Edition)
I grew up in the south wales valleys, so could identify with the mentality of the characters. A super book to read that gives a great insight to a time gone by. Thank you for producing this great book and making it available on the Kindle. I would rec this book to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillian read, 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant read which transported me back to my childhood.such an accurate account written with humour that kept me chuckling away.I am buying copies for friends as Christmas gifts hoping they will be transported back just like me. Thank you for such a wonderful and entertaining read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valley Life, 27 Dec 2012
By 
W. Davison - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Coal Trip to Tenby (Kindle Edition)
An enjoyable light read giving a very good insight into valley life in the days leading up to the second world war. Poignant in places. If you enjoy welsh humour and would like a look at the lighter side of life in difficult times then this book is for you. Recommend wholeheartedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Coal Trip toTenby, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Coal Trip to Tenby (Kindle Edition)
Bought for my wife's Kindle she said she enjoyed it very much and has recommended to family and friends well worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Welsh humour, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent! Could hear the writer speaking to me personally. Very funny at times. Enjoyed it so much bought copy as a gift. Have already recommended to others and hope to hear more from this writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars humour and sadness in the valleys, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Coal Trip to Tenby (Kindle Edition)
Vivid description of life in the Welsh valleys with a host of memorable larger than life characters. Little glimpses of the harsh reality of life, mixed with warmth, silliness and humour. Reads as if it is only a very slight caricature. The description of the child's passionate love of books, and the kindness of those who understand why it is so important, is spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure nostalgia!, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Coal Trip to Tenby (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this - I holidayed in the Valleys with a friend's family during the early 1960's - could have been 20 years earlier! - and although raised in rural Sussex I could empathise entirely with the way the community was run/worked together - a leftover from the WW2?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughly enjoyable book, 16 Jan 2013
By 
J. A. Parrish "Tony" (Frogmore, Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Coal Trip to Tenby (Kindle Edition)
I remembered holidays in Tenby. many years ago. I can also remember crouching under the stairs as bombs dropped on Sheffield. The book made me feel very nostalgic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holday reading, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Coal Trip to Tenby (Kindle Edition)
I haven't finished this book yet as I don't have much time for reading unless I am on holiday. I fall asleep at night reading my Kindle in bed. The start of the book showed great promise and found I could not put it down until I awoke with it still open. This book is of my era the good old days made up of simple fun, it's a joy to read and a must for folks born in the forties and fifties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Coal Trip to Tenby
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews