Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Story of Soho...
I love this book....my Mother being one of the original "WINDMILL GIRLS" it was for me very interesting as I had memories standing in the wings and watching the show....and then many years later to appear there myself...great book and thank you for evoking some wonderful memories....
Published 20 months ago by Ms. M. A. Harrison-kahn

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My beloved Soho
This is very nearly a great book. It is written with a huge amount of affection for its subject, a place I have known intimately for my entire life. The frustrating thing is that stories that really deserve at least A chapter devoted to them are sometimes dealt with in a paragraph or so. Admittedly, the scope of this book is ambitious , covering a period of thirty or more...
Published 23 months ago by Mike kitterhing


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Story of Soho..., 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this book....my Mother being one of the original "WINDMILL GIRLS" it was for me very interesting as I had memories standing in the wings and watching the show....and then many years later to appear there myself...great book and thank you for evoking some wonderful memories....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding book giving the History of Soho during the Windmill period., 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This author has written a very interesting history of the period that the Windmill Theatre operated. I found it fascinating and informative. He covered subjects about the characters involved in the life at the Windmill, gangsters et al. His style makes for an easy read.

I recommend this book and the Author.

PS: I have just taken delivery of his later book Life in the 1940's London and look forward to reading this soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars windmill, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I choose this book as I there do not seem very many books on sohos past please inform if you know of more like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a well written book, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of Soho: The Windmill Years 1932-1964 (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this one.read it in a day.i would recommend it to others and would read other books by mr Hutton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My beloved Soho, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of Soho: The Windmill Years 1932-1964 (Kindle Edition)
This is very nearly a great book. It is written with a huge amount of affection for its subject, a place I have known intimately for my entire life. The frustrating thing is that stories that really deserve at least A chapter devoted to them are sometimes dealt with in a paragraph or so. Admittedly, the scope of this book is ambitious , covering a period of thirty or more years, but this does leave the reader feeling that he is reading an essay,rather than a book. The prose style is somewhat pedestrian, but the authors genuine affection for this most fascinating part of London and its people shines through.
This book belongs to a sort of sub-genre of London books, written not by professional authors, but by enthusiastic amateurs, and is none the worse for that. Think of it as a witness statement, or a true memoir and you will not be disappointed. The Soho described here is the one that was just about to vanish when I first knew the area, but that has now been sanitized and controlled out of existence. London is a poorer place without it.
The later years described here are dealt with without much affection or detail, and one rather gets,the feeling that the author would have been happier to conclude his tale in the very early sixties. It is however, worth reading if ,like me, this city has become an obsession.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80 years after the Windmill first opened its doors a look back at this famous area of London, 28 Mar 2012
This book gives a mirror back to a bygone era. Some 80 years since the Windmill first opened its doors this book is written in a refreshing style and features some amazing photography from the time. Anyone who has an interest in the world's greatest city London should read this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Story of Soho, 26 Mar 2012
I have been fascinated by The Story of Soho - it is written in a refreshing manner, and deals with the many facets of life in Soho during a very changeable period in a way that makes one want to keep turning the page to find out more. The many evocative images used in the book make it come to life. A must-read for anyone interested in this particular part of London's history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews